Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Three Cheers

Ah yes, the Oirland fan! Shake a Shamrock for Oirland!

I gave up my 320 mile round trip to Ireland matches after I witnessed Ireland Fans cheering for Man United players in the Opposition team at lansdowne Road.

"ah deadly buzz Anto i like to see de boyz in grean win like but i hope Christiano scores cause i'm United all the way wha"

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Ah yes, the Oirland fan! Shake a Shamrock for Oirland!

I gave up my 320 mile round trip to Ireland matches after I witnessed Ireland Fans cheering for Man United players in the Opposition team at lansdowne Road.

"ah deadly buzz Anto i like to see de boyz in grean win like but i hope Christiano scores cause i'm United all the way wha"
    Christ you should have been there when Ireland played manure in 1992. Majority of the crowd cheering on an english club over their OWN country. Shortly after I gave up going to lansdowne and have never gone back. These people are the enemy of the state. The nerve they have slagging off the EL without seeing the appalling hypocrisy of funding a foreign league

Taking up what BL said. What has wearing a leprechaun outfit got to do with supporting a team? And dont give me "ah sure it's a bit of craic" rubbish. No other fans of other countries demean themselves to that level.

Majority of Irish fans who follow Ireland are a joke. Anyone see that **** screaming at the tv camera saturday? Go back to your barstool you clueless clown.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Christ you should have been there when Ireland played manure in 1992. Majority of the crowd cheering on an english club over their OWN country. Shortly after I gave up going to lansdowne and have never gone back. These people are the enemy of the state. The nerve they have slagging off the EL without seeing the appalling hypocrisy of funding a foreign league

Taking up what BL said. What has wearing a leprechaun outfit got to do with supporting a team? And dont give me "ah sure it's a bit of craic" rubbish. No other fans of other countries demean themselves to that level.

Majority of Irish fans who follow Ireland are a joke. Anyone see that **** screaming at the tv camera saturday? Go back to your barstool you clueless clown.

thats just incorrect. nearly all countries have there leprechaun supporters
    the danish - dressed up as vikings anyone? Mexico 86 ring any bells?
    the dutch fans in matching village people orange dungarees?

the list of questionable head/suit gear is endless when it comes to national teams

only the brazilians are excused from body painting activities - for obvious reasons

25 Posts
    There's a lot of people in here are in danger of injury if they fall from their hiiiiiiiiiiigh horses. Bloody hell, the holier than thou attitude in here is sickening, although not at all unsurprising.

Quote Originally Posted by wws View Post
    thats just incorrect. nearly all countries have there leprechaun supporters
    the danish - dressed up as vikings anyone? Mexico 86 ring any bells?
    the dutch fans in matching village people orange dungarees?

the list of questionable head/suit gear is endless when it comes to national teams
    only the brazilians are excused from body painting activities - for obvious reasons
    Difference is they support their domestic leagues. If our crowd did they could turn up in miley's dungarees

25 Posts
    How does one become hardcore, is there a special exam you can take or do you send away for a membership card?

70 Posts
    It just comes to you in the moment you realise that 90%
    of the lepregoons dont have a clue about the game
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

227 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    I dont go to Ireland matches because I dont feel the team is a proper reflection on the Island of Ireland
    Does that mean we won't see you at Windsor on Wednesday evening, either?

"One team in Ireland, there's only One Team in Ireland..."

Talking

I don't wear a leprachaun suit. Can I apply to be hardcore?? or maybe I am already............

25 Posts
    Click your heels together three times and say "I wish I was hardcore"

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    the point has been made, those ajax and fc copenhagen fans look down on the jumpsuit and viking fans in the exact same way EL fans do to the ole ole brigade.

its about self respect.
    how do you know??

25 Posts
    its about self respect.
    Nobody denies that they look like utter morons, but that's their choice.

227 Posts
    the point has been made, those ajax and fc copenhagen fans look down on the jumpsuit and viking fans in the exact same way EL fans do to the ole ole brigade.

its about self respect.
    I would have said it's about enjoying yourself, actually. I've never bothered with it myself*, but I don't feel it's for me to look down on others, so long as they're not harming anyone else.
    What's more important to me is how the "ole ole brigade" react when things go wrong. If they stick with the team regardless, then fair play to them, but if they drift off somewhere else to get their "fun", then they're no loss.
    But I guess the same principle applies to the more "soberly" dressed fans, especially those who like to sneer at their fellow fans.

* - I have other ways of looking a prat, usually, but not always, involving alcohol

by only going to landsdowne road you meet monkeys.
    Daft Dave for Ireland Manager
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Rules to being hardcore

1) Go to a minimum of 32 of your teams games a season.
    2) Don't look like an arsehole

by going to club games you meet some interesting people. guys who will follow a local side wherever they end up.

by only going to landsdowne road you meet monkeys.
    Agree on first count.

On second, I think you can meet intersting people in the places you least expect!

I don't think what you wear makes much of a difference. I know people who only go to International games but have a brilliant knowledge and understanding of the game. I also know people who go to English Premiership games and International games but don't understand tactics, can't read games and don't know how to rate players.

These are the people who will be first off the bandwagon.

3,315 Posts
    i've been known to wear a leprechaun suit, does that mean I'm just softcore?

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    i've been known to wear a leprechaun suit, does that mean I'm just softcore?
    No, that means you're fetish!

The following is a post taken from the Reds Independent forum. It is by a poster called Lord Summerisle and is possible the best post i have ever read on a football forum,it's certainly the best post i've read,on any website,since the game on Saturday night. This certainly seems like the best thread to post it in

Quote Originally Posted by Lord Summerisle on the Reds Independant forum
    It's been years since I enjoyed an International as much as Saturday- actually thats a lie, I really enjoyed the last days of that junky Kerr's reign too. But last Saturday was brilliant. My favourite moments were a) the gob****e in the stadium with 'Stan Out' written on the back of a cereal box, and b) the knobend, with some sort of tricolour on him as a scarf, who was giving out about his beloved boys in green being beaten by a bunch of "factory workers"- ignoring the fact that the chap Konstantinou is a regular in the Champions League for the Olympiakos

This was for every pr*ck in Lansdowne in September 04 at the Cyprus game who BOOED when ticket information was announced over the tannoy for the upcoming Shels-Lille game.

This was for the keltic-shirted scum who so cowardly assaulted a regular poster here and good friend of mine with a bottle to the head for wearing his Reds shirt in Stutgart last month.

This was for every leprachained up to f*ck moron who parades and patronises his "culture" by wearng all kinds of quasi-racist paddywhackery.

This is for all the arseholes who feel the need to emblazon obscure pub names across tricolours. Tri-bytes, take a bow, you goon.

This is for all the 'Ole ole ole ole'/ 'Fields of athenry'/ 'You'll never beat the Irish' false sentimentality that underpins the very sad existence of supporters of the national team.

Celtic Shirts. Jester hats. Leprachain outfits.

For every bell-cheese munching tool merchant who thinks that following a Scottish football team is essential to supporting Irish football.

Michael O' Leary, Darby O' Gill, Jackie Healy Rae, Davy Keogh...... Your Boys took one hell of a beating!

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast