Thread: Protest for Wednesday

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Enough is enough! I have had it with these motherf*ckin' snakes in the motherf*ckin' FAI!
    Lot of anger out there today...is there someone out there gonna organize something proper or is this just a load hot air...

gonna start singing "you don't know what your doing"...aimed at players staunton and the FAI..never thought i'd say that at an irish team and manager...can't believe what has happened ..an irishteam devoid of tact,passion and cohesion....
    Bring back the plank

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob View Post
    Casso - I'm not a Delaney fan but aside from appointing managers, have you any idea of his duties, resposibilities or initiatives that he has put in place since his appointment?
    Yes.

Under his watch -

• A "world-class" manager was promised; Staunton was delivered. Whatever about the notion of taking a chance on a former player, Stan is not a world class manager at present. And he's showing it.
    • Ireland have gone from second in their group (2002 - pre-Delaney) to third to fourth to now quite possibly fifth.
    • The U-21s are currently among the worst in Europe, despite our success at U-17 and U-19 level. Both the latter two got to the second group stage of the Euro qualifiers earlier this year, both knocking out Italy, I think. Yet the U-21s have to pre-qualify with the likes of Azerbaijan, San Marino, Wales, Andorra, Liechtenstein, Cyprus, etc. And Delaney does nothing about removing the manager who's in charge of all this.
    • Under Delaney's watch, one eL club has gone backrupt and there have been three winding up orders from Revenue. This is despite the presence of UEFA Licencing - administered by the FAI - to avoid this. In fact, UEFA Licencing was specifically brought in in the aftermath of several clubs nearly going to the wall back in the late 90s. Now we have a situation where clubs are going to the wall.
    • To remedy the problems in the eL, he proposes a system which (a) is utterly against sporting principles, (b) which actually encourages the development of one dominant team, which most football fans abhor, (c) achieves this by robbing from the poor to make one team rich (i.e. the prize funds), (d) which has no actual plans in place to make the league better and (e) which is vaguely on the basis of the Genesis Report, a report which is so utterly appalling that it can only have been written as a question to a given answer (i.e. Delaney's plan). He then proceeds to bully and threaten the clubs into voting this in.
    • Fran Rooney organised friendlies against Holland, Brazil, the Czechs, Italy, etc. The biggest friendly Delaney has organised is Holland at home, and that was a return for the away game Rooney organised. Part of our problem at the moment is that we've only had three games to bed Stan in. Delaney couldn't actually find anyone for us to play against.
    • The B team manager is also an agent, which is clearly a conflict of interest. When queried about this by another agent - Fintan Drury - back in March, Delaney claimed not to know of any people who had such a conflict of interest. He then goes and promotes the very person in question, so that the B team isn't a planner for the senior team, but just a shop window for Devlin's clients.

The man has no redeeming features whatsoever in his tenure.

After all this, how on earth can he stay?!

If there is going to be some sort of protest on Weds night why not leave all the flags banners jerseys at home.
    No chanting singing or the likes except for the national anthem.
    A silent protest.

So the status quo then golfer. The FAI and Stan wouldnt know the difference such is the atmos in that kip.

Way to make a logical arguement. Niall Quinn (albeit at Sunderland) just appointed an ex player with less management experience than Staunton as manager and is being proclaimed a hero.
    Quinn appointed a UEFA qualified coach, to manage a Championship side. Delaney hired and ex-player to manage our national side.

Big difference!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post

Big difference!
    Big difference between Cyprus and Sunderland? Really hmm
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Delaney caused all this. We must get rid of him first.
    I for one will have my back turned for the game on Wednesday.
    So you're gonna travel from cark and pay €35 or whatever to turn your back? Nonsense.

Best solution is dont go if you feel that strongly about it.

Also just because you have badges doesnt mean you are a good manager. The great managers never had badges.

I live so close to Merrion Square that I was tempted to go up last night with a Delaney Out banner. Getting the material on a Sunday night was the problem.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    So you're gonna travel from cark and pay €35 or whatever to turn your back? Nonsense.

Best solution is dont go if you feel that strongly about it.
    No, the best solution is to go and not let Delaney drive me away from the game. Obviously I wont be allowed to stand at the game so I can't turn my back.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Also just because you have badges doesnt mean you are a good manager. The great managers never had badges.

Roy Keane has rewarded his employer by getting results and showing signs of genuine ability.
    There's much less risk involved when you're hiring a club manager.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    I live so close to Merrion Square that I was tempted to go up last night with a Delaney Out banner. Getting the material on a Sunday night was the problem.
    Fair play EB....A magician with facts and stats who has his heart in the right place....

I was not aware Good on ye

Quote Originally Posted by Golfer View Post
    If there is going to be some sort of protest on Weds night why not leave all the flags banners jerseys at home.
    No chanting singing or the likes except for the national anthem.
    A silent protest.

How would this differ to any other night at Lansdowne?
    Gimme dat

No chanting singing or the likes
    No change there then.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

811 Posts
    Way to make a logical arguement. Niall Quinn (albeit at Sunderland) just appointed an ex player with less management experience than Staunton as manager and is being proclaimed a hero.
    Keane had been working for coaching badges for several years, coaching youth teams, that sort of thing.

I'm not sure about Staunton - maybe he's done those courses too, but I've seen it posted here that he was on the coaching staff at Walsall purely because they couldn't afford him on the playing budget! It certainly seems that Keane was no less suited to the job.

International football seems to be a bit tougher to cut your teeth on too, though that's pure speculation from me.

*Remove Staunton now and deal with Delaney later.
    Except that if Staunton is removed, the pressure will slide off Delaney and we'll be stuck with him forevermore.
    Last edited by John83; 09/10/2006 at 5:54 PM.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    International football seems to be a bit tougher to cut your teeth on too, though that's pure speculation from me.
    I'll say it again lads - It was Cyprus. If you cant cut your teeth into the Cypriots.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

staunton out delaney stays

get real lads. i don't know delaney but he seems to be improving the way the fai operates and cutting through alot of red tape. yes he got it wrong appointing stan........but u don't throw out the baby with the bathwater. at least delaney made a decision (a wrong one.....but a decision)...the problem on saturday is we had no one to do the same, on the pitch or on the sideline. There is a hell of a lot more to the chief executives job than appointing the manager. Stan has to go.

Boycott to hit FAI Coffers

One way to show FAI THAT people are not happy is to hit them in the pocket.
    Protest tonight by not buying any merchandise, food or Official Programmes.
    That will hit them for a few quid and show that fans wont be ripped off and treated like idiots.

BUY NOTHING IN LANSDOWNE TONIGHT.

How the hell is he improving the way they're operating? I'll mention one thing there were Eircom league fixtures on last Friday and there wasn't one member of the FAI left in Merrion Square to answer questions about possible suspensions etc. They're a Shambles and the Chief Executive is the one directly responsible for that.

Stupid post.