Results 1,361 to 1,380 of 2517

Thread: New Irish manager

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say View Post
    any reason why martin jol is not mentioned at all by the meedja?
    I've wondered that too.

I also thought it was odd that Chris Hughton seemed to offer support for Venables last week, implying (to me anyway) that the Jol/Hughton ticket was a non-runner.

start up a new pole with those left in contention and see what changes there (if any) to the last poll!

Hodgson
    O Leary
    Venebles
    Troussier
    Graham
    Homer did it ever occur to you to let go of the Candy?

161 Posts
    Anyone know the reason Johnny Giles is fifth favourite for the job on Paddy Power at 22/1?

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Anyone know the reason Johnny Giles is fifth favourite for the job on Paddy Power at 22/1?
    Found that odd myself.

he's been added to betfair too.

all we need now is Dunphy, Beglin and Pat Dolan to be added!

1,928 Posts
    Johnny is only 2 years and a couple of months older than Venables, so why not?

2,796 Posts
    Here's another name!

Luxemburgo to quit Santos, hints at English move
    RIO DE JANEIRO, Dec 13 (Reuters) -
    Former Brazil and Real Madrid coach Vanderlei Luxemburgo said on Thursday he was quitting Santos and indicated he had received an offer from an English club.
    Luxemburgo, in his third stint at Pele's former club, told his Web site (http://luxemburgo.globo.com) he would not renew his contract when it ended on Dec. 31.
    "From this moment I will be open and ready to listen to a concrete offer from a club in England as well as other teams interested in my professional work," he said.

Get on the Wanderly Wagon!

87 Posts

Thoughts on new manager

Here is a question:

Why, if we are (well ye, me be across the waves you see) supposedly the second richest country in the world, are we offering just 1 million euros a year to the new boss? Didn’t the FAI make 30 Million or so quiet recently? Why can’t we offer up to three million for example?

This is the same oul ****é that has been going on now for ages, sick a lishtenin to it. Terry Venables, Liam Brady, Goodness sake, are we that badly off? Are we that desperate?

Why oh why can’t we aim high? (Just thought of that rhyme now, all rights reserved)
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

2,796 Posts
    (a) there's a thread just below this called "New Ireland Manager". Not being a smartarse Decky but this is just a twist on the new manager discussion isn't it?
    (b) we may be a rich nation in terms of income per head but our football association isn't that rich and it has huge costs ahead of it associated with Landsdowne

We should aim high but there are practical constraints as well. Continental savvy and tactical understanding is all well and good but the whole squad plays in Britain and experience of (or an understanding of) working within this constraint is also important. Linguistics are a potential constraint too. I think there's also the danger of trying to use a sledgehammer to crack a nut. World class managers have generally had world class talent to work with.

We really need a guy with up to date experience, a good track record and the gravitas / personality to get the best out of our players.

No top quality manager would touch it tbh.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

2,796 Posts
    Yes, and that!

A couple of random thoughts:

Have the selection panel the remit to make approaches to who they consider to be up to the job or worth interviewing?

When the Manager is finally selected. I say finally - will he get a 2 year or 4 year contract? I'd offer a 2 year with a review after that period. Has there been any confirmation in relation to this. I'd imagine many would be of the opinion of "Get the right man. Then worry about the contract". How and ever......................

Obviously - FAI will be handling the contract and not the selection team. Just curious about intended duration of contract.
    Last edited by Wolfie; 14/12/2007 at 12:57 PM.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

161 Posts
    I'm surprised no one has mentioned Giles comments about the selection committee made before the Rangers game on RTE. He said that mangers currently working might be encouraged to apply for the Ireland job if they believe it will be handled discretely and that was reason alone for creating a selection committee. From the premiership that can only mean Coppell. From the championship Burley (Giles has praised Burley's record in the past). I'm not convinced Coppell would leave Reading in January but I can see him leaving at the end of this season. I'm sure some arrangement could be found of Coppell wanted the job.

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    I'm not convinced Coppell would leave Reading in January but I can see him leaving at the end of this season. I'm sure some arrangement could be found of Coppell wanted the job.
    Yeah, if Coppell was to get the job I would have no problem with him staying with Reading until the end of the season as the serious stuff doesn't start until the Autum. It wouldn't be the first time that someone manage both a club and a national team at the same time. It should be ok for a few months.
    Would Reading agree to it though?

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish_Praha View Post
    Yeah, if Coppell was to get the job I would have no problem with him staying with Reading until the end of the season as the serious stuff doesn't start until the Autum. It wouldn't be the first time that someone manage both a club and a national team at the same time. It should be ok for a few months.
    Would Reading agree to it though?
    I'm sure Reading would want some compensation if Coppell breaks his contract. Anyone know when Coppell's contract expires? Looked it up and his contract expires May 2009. One years compo would be about 500 grand.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 16/12/2007 at 9:30 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Deckydee View Post
    Why, if we are (well ye, me be across the waves you see) supposedly the second richest country in the world, are we offering just 1 million euros a year to the new boss? Didn’t the FAI make 30 Million or so quiet recently? Why can’t we offer up to three million for example?
    Nonsensical carry on. At €400,000 p.a. Stan was already far better remunerated than many international football managers. Well above average salary I'd say.

Where are you getting 3 million from? ...a comparison with the premiership I'll guess. Well it's invalid. About half a dozen premiership jobs come available per year and half those for smaller clubs involved in relegation.

In short, there is actually an over-supply of decent managers out there relative to the number of massive-salary, top flight jobs out there.

We can get a bloody good manager on an attractive salary within the international game and it can be done for under the million quid that's been mentioned here and elsewhere.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

81 Posts
    Is there any chance of Paul Jewell?

1,928 Posts
    Delaney himself in the interview with Jon Murray said that the FAI were prepared to pay a 7 figure sum for annual salary plus bonuses.

114 Posts
    The Committee are meeting Souness next week.

If we can't do better than him then there is no hope for us. I'd have Terry any day before Souness, not saying we can't do better than TV.