Page 49 of 126 FirstFirst ... 3947484950515999 ... LastLast

Thread: New Irish manager

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Jaysus I like Hunt but he should learn to keep his mouth shut on these matters especially if he touting sh!te like Venebles...
    My thoughts exactly. Nicky Shorey likes him so he must be good. Good God.

85 Posts
    I concur...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    My thoughts exactly. Nicky Shorey likes him so he must be good. Good God.

Stephen Hunt plays with Nicky Shorey who was picked by Steve McLaren who works with Terry Venables - the headhunting is complete! It's a foolproof system.

I'd still like to get Stephen Ireland's opinion though, if he doesn't approve of the new manager he may never play for us again.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

hunt should really insert an extra helping of chicken casserole into that pie-hole of his because he's coming out with some real sh!te of late, what with the media getting the fans to get stan the sack and now this. lordy.
    zombie/thread killer..

Coppell? FFS, are we sure he could pick a team without "having a few guinesses"

Exactly what we need, a cheque-book manager in charge of a team he cant buy for.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post

Exactly what we need, a cheque-book manager in charge of a team he cant buy for.
    Look at the alternatives and it becomes clear why he got so many votes. Wasn't Coppell manager of the season last year btw? He never splashes out large amounts on players either so dunno where that remark came from.

Let's pick Liam Brady instead and really ****** our team up.
    Last edited by gustavo; 14/11/2007 at 1:48 PM.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post

`

I agree with this part. I couldn't believe he made this comment when asked about signing doyle and long. Yet he's incredibly fond of the Irish some on here would have you know.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=58710

murphio's always posting up articles from the Mirror the day before it's published so I assume he works for them.

He's now saying Jewell will be interviewed tomorrow... I guess it'll be in one of tomorrows papers anyway.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 14/11/2007 at 9:22 PM.

1,928 Posts
    Good spot there Eirebhoy
    Paddy Power market is down.
    Houllier, not a bad choice. I guess he had some contact with Brian Kerr about it.
    I see the edit to Murphios post is that there is a Paul Jewell interview also.

He says his source for the info is the same one that gave him Stan.

Does Noely have the bottle to handle the tension or will he crack?

Ladbrokes have taken the market down too. Yeah I'm nearly certain he works for the Mirror:

"I was just on my way home and the back page has changed."

Quote Originally Posted by inexile View Post
    i might pip you to it im 24 and won the champions league with limerick fc and shels

if thats true fair play

by the way Coppel would be class but why leave reading

"The Wigan chairman was prepared to pay the former manager Paul Jewell £50,000 a week, plus a substantial bonus for keeping the struggling club in the Premier League."

Do the sums folks ... if he's turning down that sort of money to take the Irish job, I would be pleasantly surprised.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    "The Wigan chairman was prepared to pay the former manager Paul Jewell £50,000 a week, plus a substantial bonus for keeping the struggling club in the Premier League."

Do the sums folks ... if he's turning down that sort of money to take the Irish job, I would be pleasantly surprised.
    Me too but I feel he originally stepped down from Wigan due to the constant pressure and stress of the job. International management (and particularly managing the Ireland team) would be far less stressful and time consuming.

Just take Stan for example. He lasted nearly two years in the job. He wouldn't have lasted a month in a Premiership job with similar results to the ones he got for Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by Red-ODea View Post
    if thats true fair play

by the way Coppel would be class but why leave reading
    I've said that a couple of times. No manager I can think of has quit a top flight English job to manage any country but England.

Not sure Coppell would be class by the way.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Went with Roy Hodgson as the best realistic man for the job

given the options mark lawrenson is CLEARLY the obvious choice

*sorry i must have been smoking the crack that everyone else is if anyone is suggesting, paul jewell, steve coppell et al. We need a world class manager, but we won't get one. we're probably going to get an ex prem manager who will be as mediocre as the last, unless the fai pay the position what its worth for the weght of expectation, then we'll be having this very same discussion in 4 years. unless we see some changes in the fai way of doing things, its only going to get worse. i fear we are doomed to mediocrity despite having a good young squad.
    illiteracy and alphabet soup hmm?

There are rimblings on another Football Forum that Jewell is to be announced as new manager tommorrow. Suppoesly Jonny Giles touched on it on Newstalk.

1,928 Posts
    John Giles is SOURCE.
    What did he say or not say.

1,928 Posts
    Ok, I heard the news where they quoted Giles
    which sorta went like this
    I said that I would help the FAI in any way I can,
    I can´t comment on that particular item (Jewell)
    but I will talk to you in an extended program tomorrow

He's now 6/4 favourite with Powers.

Page 49 of 126 FirstFirst ... 3947484950515999 ... LastLast