1 Poland 12 24
    2 Portugal 12 23
    3 Serbia 12 20
    4 Finland 12 20
    5 Belgium 12 15
    6 Armenia 10 9
    7 Kazakhstan 12 7
    8 Azerbaijan 10 5
    somewhat similar to our own group, the two names you'd probably expect to see at the top (perhaps not in that order) with some emerging nations causing a few hiccups along the way for the traditionally stronger sides. finland's form has been erratic but they recently beat poland away.
    zombie/thread killer..

Bottle Of Tonic, some interesting points. Also, don't want to seem fussy but would ya throw in a few paragraphs, it's probably me but I find it hard to read in single paragrahp. Sorry for seeming finicky
    Last edited by Schlooooomp; 25/10/2007 at 4:10 PM.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Five years, three managers and still these players are giving shoddy performances when playing for Ireland.
    If it is the players and no manager that comes in can save us with this current crop of players then the answer is simple; get rid of the players who aren't willing to work hard for the cause. Maybe there always will be some kind of a problem with our players, but the next manager will surely be a huge improvement. Staunton didn't have a clue. I was in San Marino and saw that one of the problems with the team was that we weren't moving the ball up the park quick enough, consequently letting San Marino's players to get back and have a bit of organisation. Now surely if I can realise this then any manager would (bar Staunton of course) and we would have been able to beat them more easily.

How long will it take to get someone?

January or February maybe?
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

503 Posts
    Coppell isn't interested

Steve Coppell, the Reading manager, has ruled himself out of the running for the Republic of Ireland job. The former England winger had been suggested as a possible replacement for Steve Staunton, who left the post on Tuesday following a disappointing Euro 2008 qualification campaign.

Coppell made it clear he had no plans to leave the Madejski Stadium just yet but admitted he had helped create the speculation by his comments in a television interview.

He said: “The stories are just people being mischievous but I did do an interview with Pat Dolan, who does the TV over there, and he asked about it.

"I just said the older I get the more international football appeals to me. Eight games a year - I could quite happily do that. I also happened to mention my grandmother was Irish so to all intents and purposes I qualify.”

Related Links
    FAI employs new system to avoid Staunton saga
    O’Leary in frame for Ireland
    Stephen Hunt, Reading's Irish international midfield player, said the Football Association of Ireland might be able to tempt Coppell in a few seasons’ time. “He has enough on his hands here at the moment but maybe sometime down the line our manager might fancy it.” he said.

“Whoever gets the job will have a tough task on his hands," Hunt added. "We have to get playing again, get playing well and get the country behind us again because it was the press in Ireland that hounded the manager out and in the end the public supported the press and wanted him out.

“But that was never the case with the players. It was just a matter of putting on the shirt, being proud and trying to do our best. Unfortunately it didn’t work out that way in the last few games but we have to look forward now and wait for the new appointment.”

- The Times

what the bloody chr!st, if i hear one more person come out and say the fans followed the lead of the PRESS in getting rid of staunton i'll fu*king scream.
    zombie/thread killer..

Its in the papers today that Foppe de Haan said he would be interested i talkin to the FAI if they contacted him. If we could get an Irish person alongside him then I for one would be very happy

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Short list we will have with the current climate:
    * Someone who looks remarkably like Steven Staunton in a false moustache
    I can just see it now: Staunton walks past a man slumped, bruised and bloody, against the side of Croker, "Hey, dat man dere, looks exactly like me!"
    You can't spell failure without FAI

214 Posts
    if Steve Bruce got the push from Birmingham because of that foreign owner coming in would fans be interested? It's not a name I've seen banded about yet but I just saw an interview with him and you can tell he's worried about his job security.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Marcello Lippi as head coach. Liam Brady as his interpreter

I've voted for Roy, of Hodgson disambiguation. Part of my reasoning is based on his wealth of experience. I've seen a few people, I'll single Tuff Paddy out for the laugh, here have pot-shots at the elder lemons as being unsuitable. But if you look at pretty average international teams that have risen above mediocrity (ie what we want) a good few have been managed by fellas, if not necessarily really wrinkly and old, who had a long and varied management career, like Hodgson with Finland, Hiddink with whoever, Beenhakker with Poland, Rehhagel with Greece, and feck it we can probably even throw Kobi Kuhn in there. You'd imagine that they are stronger characters, commanding a bit more respect in the dressing room and generally are more suited to the international game than a younger pretender. Just thinking of it now, the last three winning WC managers had worn the block into more of a circular shape having gone around it a few times - Jacquet, Big Phil and Lippi.

I think Hodgson is very much worth pursuing if Finland don't qualify. Failing that option, some Dutch fella who knows his football like Co Adriaanse or Foppe de Haan would be great too as no English (league) or Irish candidate is jumping out at me as having the requisite mélange of panache and experience I think we need. Of the 'home' contenders, I like Jewell a lot but I'm unconvinced as to his suitability for the international arena. I wouldn't mind seeing him been given a chance, but I think he might be too much of a risk at a time when we should be minimising the riskiness of the selection as much as possible.

Quote Originally Posted by kingdom hoop View Post
    ...as no English (league) or Irish candidate is jumping out at me as having the requisite mélange of panache and experience I think we need.
    yes yes yes a thousand times yes.
    zombie/thread killer..

Good post Kingdom. With Coppell ruling himself out now I'd love to see any one of Hodgson , Foppe De Haan or Co Adriaanse get the job...this is the sort of calibre and experience the FAI should be looking at...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

43 Posts
    Today FM reporting this morning that Glenn Hoddle is interested.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Good post Kingdom. With Coppell ruling himself out now I'd love to see any one of Hodgson , Foppe De Haan or Co Adriaanse get the job...this is the sort of calibre and experience the FAI should be looking at...
    Any of these have Champions League semi final on their CV? David O'Leary does!

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Today FM reporting this morning that Glenn Hoddle is interested.
    Jesus what did we do in a previous life to deserve this

Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    Any of these have Champions League semi final on their CV? David O'Leary does!
    As I say, at the end of the day, I can't make out whether you're taking the p*ss or not!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

85 Posts
    Heh heh
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Brilliant
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Here, are ye really that naive. Capail is not going to come out and say "oh ya id love the Ireland job", by saying 10 games a year, my grandmother is irish would be something more to read into than anything else.

If I were looking for a new job, I am not going to start telling the public or work colleagues in case my employer found out. Its called common sense lads.

Page 42 of 126 FirstFirst ... 3240414243445292 ... LastLast