Thread: New Irish manager

Yup.

Hence my post.
    Would the rest of the muppets buy into it? Is there anyone out there who'll take Delaney on? (I'm aware of the rumour posted on foot.ie of a coup by 4 of the 10).

I won't hold my breath. Power corrupts and they won't take a chance on losing it.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

Houllier lads
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

O'Leary is odds on with the bookies!

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    Houllier lads
    I don't know about ye but if he's willing to take it, it has to be Houllier. Forget Rijkard, Mourinho and all these other top managers who are unavailable or who we can't afford, or who wouldn't touch the job with a barge pole. Be realistic. The best out there that is available is Houllier or maybe Terry Venebles. Didier Deschamps is a top top coach too. Steve Coppell is the only other English coach I'd consider, but he's in a club job at the moment. Paul Jewell, not bad but not convinced he'd be a success at international level. The only thing Dave O'Leary has going for him is the fact he's Irish, but that's about it. Decent coach but wrong personality.

Houllier gets my vote
    Last edited by 4tothefloor; 18/10/2007 at 10:54 PM.

176 Posts
    Houllier, no way!!

Apart from 1 good year, he screwed up his last two seasons at Anfield, and failed to get us into the 2000 CL. Manager of the longest Liverpool run without a win in our history, and was a total failure when he was France coach. He had 2 games at home requiring one point to qualify for the WC, and lost them both. And that was with a quality squad.

As for the rest of the betting, how many are wind-ups?? Eamonn Dunphy, ffs!!!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Houllier, no way!!

Apart from 1 good year, he screwed up his last two seasons at Anfield, and failed to get us into the 2000 CL. Manager of the longest Liverpool run without a win in our history, and was a total failure when he was France coach. He had 2 games at home requiring one point to qualify for the WC, and lost them both. And that was with a quality squad.

As for the rest of the betting, how many are wind-ups?? Eamonn Dunphy, ffs!!!
    conveniently ignoring the fact that Houllier has a World Cup Winners Medal from Assisting Aime Jacquet in 1998.

Plus looks like any old mug can win 2 French League titles on the bounce...

Not to mention he was instrumental in the setup of Clairefontaine - which happens to be arguably the finest football academy in the world
    Last edited by Réiteoir; 19/10/2007 at 12:48 AM.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ordinary Fan View Post
    O'Leary is odds on with the bookies!
    My heart couldn't take that.

some solace in that he is odds against at 2/1

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir
    Plus looks like any old mug can win 2 French League titles on the bounce...
    Even Staunton could have won that league, Lyon had it won before a ball was kicked, both times. Handy gig. GH had 6 years with Liverpool in a more challenging league, but the best he finished was 2nd.

Not to mention he was instrumental in the setup of Clairefontaine - which happens to be arguably the finest football academy in the world
    We're not looking for the new Irish boss to set up football academies. His job is/will be to get the senior team to SA in as painless a way as possible.
    Last edited by mypost; 19/10/2007 at 2:41 AM.

41 Posts
    My choice would be George Graham - we wouldnt play any good football but we'd win more matches than we lost and right now i'd be happy with that..

57 Posts
    mypost totally missing the point there - as he usually does.

Houllier and Lyon the new Vaduz it seems...

Anyway - the Red Scouse are awful - have been for the past 20 years. Even Mourinho wouldn't have won anything with the squad Houllier had back then.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

2,796 Posts
    Houllier's Lyon were excellent, both in France and in Europe.

Irish Times says Jewell is not interested but Ian Dowie is. With Dowie the FAI won't insist on keeping his image rights either.

I'd take Coppell in a heartbeat, and his name is kind of Irish, in an equine way.

With you stuggart, Coppell would be great, lets face it anyone that has managed any team before is a better choice than the current goat.

houllier would be great , i would take o'leary though , he would be respected by the players immediately and he has coached at a high level , i dotn like the fella but i would take him. Also he needs us too as he has to re-establish himself as a top-class manager. two years get us into a play off and restore the winning mentality and then we can part our ways.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

2,796 Posts
    Martin Jol may be out of Spurs soon, but would probably go to Ajax.

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    I wonder what he would say if the FAI came calling?
    Probably the same thing he said last time, that he wasn't interested. Then a few weeks later say he'd love the England job

[QUOTE=Stuttgart88;795030]Martin Jol may be out of Spurs soon, but would probably go to Ajax.[/QUO

Decent high-profile managers, such as Jol, will almost certainly prefer to continue in the more "prestigious" and lucrative Club management, as you say Stutts........unfortunately!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

57 Posts
    Anyway - my 2c worth:

I'd definitely look at Houllier - someone with probably the best bank of technical knowledge of the game since Hugo Meisl.

Coppell would be a good punt - he's been around the circuit for a good number of years.

Really - as Dunphy made the point on radio this morning - if the FAI are making €10 million a game (as they did against Germany in Croke Park) - then they can afford to go after any manager in the world.

If they want to work the job is another matter
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Reading through this thread (which has taken a while...phew!) I'd have to agree that I'd deffo prefer a foreign manager but who would actually be interested????

My top choice mentioned on here that may actually be available would be Wim Jansen - only in a technical director role at Feyenoord so may be tempted back into managment (for a fee) plus has a great record with a club with Irish links (I may be clutching at straws here) plus he's Dutch so we're bound to play great football under him!

Failing that I'd take Beenhakker...

Then I'll wake up from my dream straight into a nightmare and realise we've got Bryan Robson..
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Really - as Dunphy made the point on radio this morning - if the FAI are making €10 million a game (as they did against Germany in Croke Park) - then they can afford to go after any manager in the world.

If they want to work the job is another matter
    Exactly...its an investment. If they have the foresight to invest in a top class manager then they'll get the windfall from a world cup finals appearance and it'll all be worthwhile.

But I doubt the FAI think with such logic....
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

Would Coppell be willing to leave Reading?

He's possibly the most realistically attainable and best shout so far..........if interested.
    Quoting years at random since 1975