Page 87 of 126 FirstFirst ... 3777858687888997 ... LastLast
Results 1,721 to 1,740 of 2517

Thread: New Irish manager

2,796 Posts
    Maybe I'm getting desperate but if we can't get Houllier I think maybe we should just go for one of our own and get on with it and someone we all like and would get behind, like Brady.

It'd gall me to see some opportunist spiv getting paid good money for a job he has no major interest in and who'd cut & run if a better opportunity came along.

One thing is clear: Staunton was appointed to be a sort of "captain on the touchline" a motivator and a shouter. There was NEVER any signal whatsoever that he had a tactical clue or was ever in any way a thinker about the game.

Almost anyone will improve our prospects.

Yours, defeatedly.

2,796 Posts
    Houllier turned the job down before Christmas - Noely.

Houllier now the favoured candidate - Independent.

Reality is that nobody other than a privileged few actually knows anything.

The radio silence from Abbotstown is generating a load of rumour and innuendo.

As a statistician would say, anything written or spoken to date is just "noise".

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Maybe I'm getting desperate but if we can't get Houllier I think maybe we should just go for one of our own and get on with it and someone we all like and would get behind, like Brady.

It'd gall me to see some opportunist spiv getting paid good money for a job he has no major interest in and who'd cut & run if a better opportunity came along.

One thing is clear: Staunton was appointed to be a sort of "captain on the touchline" a motivator and a shouter. There was NEVER any signal whatsoever that he had a tactical clue or was ever in any way a thinker about the game.

Almost anyone will improve our prospects.

Yours, defeatedly.
    Liam Brady has had over 6 grand placed on him this morning on Betfair.

managing a team with real expectations flopped.
    Its all about managing expectations you see Thats where he really failed, those stupid geordies want instant gratification, id love to see shearer get the job, then when he failed they might cop themselves on.

The radio silence from Abbotstown is generating a load of rumour and innuendo.
    I have to say, to that point at least, fair play to the hitman squad and the FAI for doing so.

I will withdraw all that however, if somebody who I deem stupid gets the job!!!

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I don't think I would feel any better wasting money on Brady as opposed to anyone else. He is not going to starve anyway.

Also he was a very poor manager & would be a terrible appointment.

I have no idea why Stan was appointed, I agree he was not a thinker from his time playing. Or indeed managing.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Liam Brady has had over 6 grand placed on him this morning on Betfair.
    Director of International Performance is more probable than the manager/coach position.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Director of International Performance is more probable than the manager/coach position.
    If Brady gets that job how much power will he have if any over the new manager?

The list is not as bad as it could be. At least Terry Venables seems to be down the pecking order. I certainly hope he is. Its Houllier number 1 then Daglish number 2 (if Houllier does not get it) Both would be fine choices nad would stay in the job for at least 2 years I would think. FAI should get the finger out and appoint one of them!
    Homer did it ever occur to you to let go of the Candy?

what would ye think of allardyce getting the job? would be much better than venebles anyway

I was watching the end of the Toon match the other night (nothing else on... I tuned in just at the point where the bloke who looked like The Bomber Liston was attempting to decapitate Shay Given) and at the end, Allardyce was walking off the pitch, smiling & whistling to himself in the rain & waving to the fans who were either baying for his blood or resigned to gloom.

He had all the appearance of a man with nary a care in the world despite the fact that his sacking was obviously imminent within mere minutes, & I thought to myself :

"The Three boys are just wahnking themselves into a frenzy over this...They'll be on the phone to him before he even gets to clear the fuzzy gonks and the "You dont have to be MAD to work here..." sign off his desk.

I had visions of Houghton panting into the phone asking :

"Now Sam? Is Now good? How are ya fixed Sam? Can you come now? Did they let you go yet? Are ya all right to come over? Do ya want a lift Sam? " like that annoying little dog from the Tom and Jerry cartoons...

I am of course, probably wrong, but it was an amusing, if slightly disturbing, daydream.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

1,928 Posts
    Thats a bull****e wikipedia entry about the ´78 qualification, "widely acknowledged" me árse.
    I´m about the only fan from that time who thinks Giles would have qualified us for 1982 had he stayed on. Managing Rovers took away his will to live

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    I actually voted for brady, as he is the only one on that list i would be happy about, which says a lot more about the quality on show than anything else

Maybe we deserve another few years of crap. Jeez people going on about Houiller, "Big Sam", Jol, O Leary, mccarthy, even obsure rubbish Dutch managers who sound good!!! And Deschamps, for gods sake. We need someone with international managment experience. If not there at the moment, then surely we should wait. Still would love to see Leo Benhakker, or otto R, but thats never going to happen with the EPL obssessed Irish "football fan"

Big sam, god did ye guys not watch the stoke game

So is your rule of thumb as long as they have not worked in the Premiership then
    In Trap we trust

My own rule of thumb is that they can have been employed on Mars as long as the criteria for getting the job is not
    " Is currently only interviewee still unemployed at the end of interview process"
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Jeez people going on about Houiller

We need someone with international managment experience.

the EPL obssessed Irish "football fan"
    Houllier managed France, is/was national director of football for France, one of the most technically proficient football nations, the very antithesis of the Premiership, and Lyon, perennial league winners in France and a force in the Champions League. Oh, and he also managed a big club in England, where all but one of our international squad plays.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 11/01/2008 at 8:11 AM.

2,796 Posts

Fron today's Irish Times

Meanwhile, sources close to Sam Allardyce made it clear yesterday that the former Newcastle United manager has no desire to be considered for the vacant Republic of Ireland job. Don Givens denied suggestions that the manager's agent had been in touch to express his client's interest although he confirmed that a third party had supplied him with the agent's phone number and suggested that Allardyce might be interested.

Allardyce's sacking on Wednesday prompted immediate speculation that he might become a candidate but the 53-year-old intends to seek another club job in England after taking a break with his family.

Don Howe, Givens and Ray Houghton are believed to have talked with Terry Venables this week and there have been suggestions they will talk to Gerard Houllier over the coming days.

Givens said this week, though, the Christmas period had hindered their progress and that with a number of candidates still to be interviewed nothing was "imminent".

The first paragraph is quite specific on detail so it suggests to me that this article is to be believed.

2,796 Posts
    Klinsmann to take over at Bayern.

Houllier the overwhelmingly popular choice. I voted for Deschamps but I can see why Houllier's greater experience is appealing for 50% of the voters so far.

Nice to see long-term front-runners Venables and Brady storming up the charts with one whole vote for each now

634 Posts
    Have to admit I voted for the new poll before reading through all the posts as I had 10 pages or so still to read and thought Deschamps was there as a windup. I would take Houillier over him still I think, but wouldn't be disappointed with DD if he came aboard.
    I have no argument with a recent moderately successful manager from the EPL, but as others have mentioned someone whose style of play was on battling merits, shall we say, probably won't do too much with the type of players we can envisage to be in the senior squad for the next campaign.
    That is why I'd be inclined to welcome a manager whose teams strengths are to retain possession, and while it might seem a contradiction to go for Houllier in light of this qualification, I believe he would play the right system and type of football to the advantage of the squad rather than introduce a new style alien to their techniques.
    Does that even make sense?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Big move on Deschamps - 4/1 2nd favourite on Paddy Power now.

Gilesy at 11/2 is just weird to me - I think it would be a very hard sell for the FAI to appoint someone who left the job around 30 years ago

Terry Venables 7 - 2
    Didier Deschamps 4 - 1
    Liam Brady 5 - 1
    Johnny Giles 11 - 2
    Gerard Houllier 11 - 2
    Sam Allardyce 11 - 1
    David O'Leary 11 - 1
    Mick McCarthy 14 - 1
    Glenn Hoddle 14 - 1
    Steve Coppell 18 - 1
    Kenny Dalglish 18 - 1

Page 87 of 126 FirstFirst ... 3777858687888997 ... LastLast