Fanning is a ******.

In Trap we trust

2,796 Posts
    Isn't Fanning's job when he's not writing about Ireland to write about Liverpool? Nice job for a Liverpool fan.

Houllier was successful for all intents and purposes at Liverpool, especially in cup competitions.

His criticisms are probably correct but he ignored the positives.

His swift dismissal of Hodgson totally ignores his successes. If the dressing room found him dull, his track record barely shows it.

Also, I didn't realise the only responsibility of the new manager was to get the dressing room happy. In that case maybe we should appoint Tommy Tiernan.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 02/12/2007 at 5:53 PM.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Kinnear and Daglish are 2 of the candidates to be interviewed this week according to Five live. I had a feeling Daglish might come into the reckoning but surely Kinnear's days are over.
    What is the word on Dalglish, is he a candidate now? was he ever a candidate before, when Mick resigned?

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    What is the word on Dalglish, is he a candidate now? was he ever a candidate before, when Mick resigned?
    I remember one of the papers reporting that he would not do an interview for the job (pre-kerr's appointment).

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Nor was it when Charlton took over. But a strong character who wants to do things his way will bring his own people in. And Charlton indirectly forced Touhy out by coming into the dressing room while Touhy was manager of the then u21's and giving the team talk. Touhy knew he had to go to preserve his own diginity. Givens would be fully aware of that.
    Just to clarify, it was the under 18's and he was complaining about them eating steak for their pre match meal. It was a crass thing to do. But we can't argue with Charltons record on the whole.

Can't see Venables been offered the job. Yesterday's man imo.

If we thought Stan's press conferences were bad what would we say about Dalgleish's.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by onceahoop View Post
    Just to clarify, it was the under 18's and he was complaining about them eating steak for their pre match meal. It was a crass thing to do. But we can't argue with Charltons record on the whole.

Can't see Venables been offered the job. Yesterday's man imo.

If we thought Stan's press conferences were bad what would we say about Dalgleish's.
    Your right. It was the u18's. But it was Charlton coming into dressing room.
    In Touhy's own words

In February of 1986, at half-time in a youth team game with England at Elland Road, Tuohy was just about to deliver his dressing room speech when he was brushed aside by Jack Charlton, the new Ireland manager. "Eoin Hand (the previous manager) used to come to all our matches and would always come in to wish the team luck and that's all I asked Jack to do: to come in and wish them luck. I didn't ask him to come in at half-time that was my job! I was being shafted. I walked. But the game goes on."

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by onceahoop View Post
    I actually think Stan tried to model himself on Dalglish, but simply didn't have the skill or self-confidence to do it.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I actually think Stan tried to model himself on Dalglish, but simply didn't have the skill or self-confidence to do it.
    Aye. "You tell me" was very much in the "Mebby aye, mebby no" vein, but came off as Joe Pasquale modeling himself on Brando .
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

finger on the pulse there top journalism. Houillier doesnt want the job why does fanning even mention him? houillier doesnteven want the england job. he's as well off writing a piece saying why mourinho would be bad for the irish job. completely irrelevant

Reading manager Steve Coppell is ready to quit, saying he has taken the club as far as he can. (The Sun)

Ignoring that this report comes from the Sun, I wonder does he fancy the Irish job? When all these big jobs come online, why is Coppell's name never mentioned? Is it because of the Man City thing, walking out on the job after being appointed?

Granted he does not have the international experience .. and Hodgson probably ticks all the boxes for the job .. but surely Coppell would do a great job.

The giftgrub people would have their work cut out though!

From the Indo today.

Venables remains bookies' favourite

Tuesday December 04 2007

"No news is good news as far as Terry Venables' chances of becoming the next Irish manager is concerned.

Venables remains the most likely candidate to succeed Steve Staunton having declared a tentative interest in discussing the post with the FAI. Other possible candidates for the job have whittled away with the news that former Liverpool boss Gerard Houllier ruled himself out of contention, while Roy Hodgson is also an unlikely successor given his new role at Inter Milan.

Billy Davies, who was recently sacked by struggling Derby County, has made himself available but his interest is only lukewarm as he has expressed a preference for replacing Alex McLeish as Scottish manager.

Venables was among the early favourites even before his tenure as Steve McClaren's assistant at England ended with their doomed Euro 2008 qualifying campaign and his position has since strengthened.

Venables also has links to both of the FAI's kingmakers Don Howe and Don Givens.

Howe was the coach of England under Venables' regime in the mid-nineties which saw them lose the semi final of Euro '96 to eventual champions Germany, while he played with Givens at QPR. Venables remains the bookies' favourite ahead of former Ireland midfielder Liam Brady".

- Donnchadh Boyle

I heard John Giles reiterate his views on Venebles on Newstalk this morning. Giles contends that if Venebles gave the job the attention it deserves he could be a success.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser View Post
    Reading manager Steve Coppell is ready to quit, saying he has taken the club as far as he can. (The Sun)

Ignoring that this report comes from the Sun, I wonder does he fancy the Irish job? When all these big jobs come online, why is Coppell's name never mentioned? Is it because of the Man City thing, walking out on the job after being appointed?

Granted he does not have the international experience .. and Hodgson probably ticks all the boxes for the job .. but surely Coppell would do a great job.

The giftgrub people would have their work cut out though!
    The Sun actually have directed quotes from him though....he says he wants a break, and international management would be a break of sorts, it wouldn't be pressure week in and week out like he's dealing with now.

ye know if i were a journalist, i would bring out a piece saying aldridge was the favourite. Just because 50k people bet on a particular person doesnt make him the favourite in the appointers mind.

I really hate this " he is the favourite", it should be written "i think he is the favourite and so I will write a whole piece on it"

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ye know if i were a journalist, i would bring out a piece saying aldridge was the favourite. Just because 50k people bet on a particular person doesnt make him the favourite in the appointers mind.
    No, if you were a journalist you would stick a grand on John Aldridge then write a piece saying Aldridge is the favourite (done deal, confirmed by sources close to Delaney) and then lay it off on betfair
    SIGNATURESCOPE

2,796 Posts
    How much money actually gets put on these bets? Hundreds? Thousands? Tens of thousands? I don't think it's a very deep market so I wouldn't pay too much attention. I reckon if I stuck 200 euros on a candidate it'd bring his odds right in.

Well, so far on Betfair there's been €167k staked. €86k of that was on Venables. He's at 5/4 on Betfair. If you put €40 on at those odds he'll be down to 11/10. You could get another €60 on at that price and soon he's odds on. Every other manager only has really small amounts available to back at each price.

Obviously it's much different with bookies though.

JTS, you're a step ahead of me!!

2,796 Posts
    Steve Coppell might quit Reading soon.

Would people like to see him as Irish manager?

253 Posts

I'd love to have him. He can get the best of a limited bunch, and I think he's got a good eye for talent as well, as some of his signings are quite obscure.

Given the remaining alternatives - most certainly.
    Quoting years at random since 1975