Page 7 of 15 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Post Cyprus Match Reaction thread

christ, what a pathetic performance ..never seen so many fans leaving early at away game..McGeady and Dunne got applauded when they departed the field..O Shea got serious booing every time he touched ball after Cyprus 5th goal.

Thumbs down

The Manager takes responsibility.
    Delaney must take responsibility

But the players must also take responsibility
    We never really score many goals but we did not normally concede them either - good defence was always a hallmark of an Irish side
    Irish Defence tonight
    O'Shea's performance - a disgrace
    Finnan - a disgrace
    No excuse from these two

O'Brien - what can you say!
    Richard Dunne - tried at least
    In his failure to sort out the defence Staunton has shown his lack of experience as a manager.

Kerr - even if he was a bore - in retrospect - with these players was doing an OK job. Because everyone thinks that we are Brazil we dump him and put all our money on a rank outsider.

At this point - dumping Staunton - to replace him with who?
    Who would take the job? We do not have the players.

Quote Originally Posted by mistergreen View Post
    At this point - dumping Staunton - to replace him with who?
    Who would take the job? We do not have the players.
    We may not have great players but they can be organised, and they should be
    as good as say Scotland...

Where are those people who have been saying what a great player Robbie Keane is, world class some reckoned. I would not care if he played again for Ireland...

Quote Originally Posted by samabu92 View Post
    christ, what a pathetic performance ..never seen so many fans leaving early at away game..McGeady and Dunne got applauded when they departed the field..O Shea got serious booing every time he touched ball after Cyprus 5th goal.
    Sambu you sound like writing it from Cyprus! If so, was there any show of anger from fans towards manager or players outside the ground at the end?

3,499 Posts
    Kenny - not his fault, but did little to no organisation

O'Shea - rubbish
    O'Brien - at least 3 of the goals were his fault
    Dunne - tried his best
    Finnan - made one serious error that I can remember

Duff - worked hard but marked out of it. AGAIN
    Ireland - took his goal well but did little of note after that
    Kilbane - I honestly don't remember him touching the ball in the 2nd half until about the 70th minute
    McGeady - worked hard, must be thinking "tonight I could have beaten France, instead I chose to lose to Cyprus"

Keane - nothing of note
    Morrison - less

Lee - too late
    Alan O'Brien - feel sorry for him, going to take some of the heat for this, not his fault he got called into the worst Ireland team in living memory
    Douglas - did nothing to shake up the midfield.

And it's going to get worse, Holland took the foot off the gas at 4-0 because it was a friendly, the Czechs will not be so forgiving.

Why is everyone so surprised by the decline?

Ireland are now reaping the whirlwind of decades of neglect at grassroots but more especially national league level.

Difference now is that sending faxes to British clubs now full of imports from Africa etc appealing for people to declare for Ireland is not going to paper up the cracks caused by their criminal neglect and lack of vision for the game in Ireland.

The FAI have squandered the windfall they mostly accumulated in the 90s.

Just like post 1950s Irish soccer will once again be left to the hardcore while the FAI continue to majorly **** up everything they touch.

History repeating itself, this time as farce......
    Work's Bogey

was there last year and that was bad,but to concede 5 goals against a team like Cyprus says it all. No excuses will do.Have not missed a home game in 20 years but seriously thinkin of giving up my tickets for weds

503 Posts

Disaster

The north are about to draw with Denmark, and we are perilously close to being below them in the world

Fair play to them i say , at least they have a manager who has a clue.

Mistergreen:
    That defence have played together many times before - why should they need sorting out?

Most of the players aren't good enough and some of those who are don't have enough pride in the jersey - they are just happy to spend their inflated premiership wages.

I really can't see how it is going to be different for any manager.

No matter how things were going, I have never before not looked forward to going to Lansdowne, but I've lost all interest in Wednesday night.

Perhaps I'll wake up shortly and discover that this has been a bad dream.

503 Posts
    Apparently he wants a new job......

Sign him up, Sanchez would be good.

For some time now the irish team has been picked on what team you play for. If you play in the Permiership you will usually be in the squad and team.

Quote Originally Posted by scousedub View Post
    was there last year and that was bad,
    you can write that down, was there meself, and the only thing that stopped them from being booed at halftime was the Elliot goal. I agree with the post grass roots level neglected, the current buy when ye can policy in the premiership don't help either, but as it was said earlier, organisation is key. Looks like Staunton can't manage a bowel movement, has never managed a team, and certainly can't organise.
    The fai have f88ked themselves up, stuck with him, and even if they did get rid of them you'd want to be a headaball to take the job whatever the shillings they offered.
    Delaney will say they are going to stick with him as he's part of the 4-8year plan,
    It's not actually winning that counts, it's playing the game with attitude

Quote Originally Posted by DeNiro View Post
    Sambu you sound like writing it from Cyprus! If so, was there any show of anger from fans towards manager or players outside the ground at the end?
    from first 10 minutes there was anger shown..players all slaughtered except mcgeady and dunne

Were they booed tonite? Should have been.

Quote Originally Posted by The Bit O'Red View Post
    Were they booed tonite? Should have been.
    afaik, Andy O'Brien was booed when he was been substituted...

Stauntons Quote on RTE:-

"We`ve got to pick ourselves up and get it right"

Fair dues Scotland. Shows what a good manager can do.
    (Wonder if McGeady has any regrets)

Question?
    How far back does one need to go to find a WORSE result than tonight?

Yeh just saw staunton's wise words on RTE. Great philosophy indeed. Why didn't Robbie Keane do it as captain. He's probably to busy buying rounds of drinks for the lads like what was going on in Germany.

Page 7 of 15 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast