Thread: a f***in sickener

a f***in sickener

I was at it last night and was nearly ejected by amatch steward. I was told my language was upsetting some spectators. Of course he was right but after seeeing us getting trashed 4-1 you could hardly blame me.

The city players plain and simple let themsleves, the supporters and the club down. They didn't compete, tackle or got get stuck in. Russell was allowed to play like zinedane spraying the ball around like it was a water polo game in Mosney while Livinstone and Mccarthy hammered cronin and bennett (?) into submission. The problems in our defence was finally exposed as is the comfort of playing in front of a full house at the cross. away games in richmond park is what it's all about

I am sure the factor of playing so much football in the last couple of weeks took it's toll and having to prepare for a second big game so soon after the rovers but really does that justify losing 4-1. fact of the matter it could have been 7-1.

if it's any consolation greg was unluky to get sent off while devine did play well. the next two away games will tell us a lot about city- final to get two two wins there could seriously undermine our confidence before we play derry.
    john flynn? - awesome!!!!!!

We (Pats) played our best football of the season and in my view played Cork off the park. I should really stress played as both teams tried to play lovely football. I'll leave my views on Pats and give you my views on Cork as an outsider. Devine was excellent in goal and without him, we could have ten. Defence was all over the place and could not handle pace of our 3 prong attack. In midfield you didn't seem to ave anyone willing to battle with Osam, which left him free to do all the groundwork, laying off to Russell who is the best passer in the country. Up front Flynn and O'Callaghan looked lively but O'Callaghan seems to love himself and when City were 3 down started to retreat into defence to get the ball. I think he'd have been better off staying upfront and trying to work something. If Cork play like this on all their travels, the geat home record will mean nothing

Originally posted by Dodge
    We (Pats) played our best football of the season and in my view played Cork off the park. I should really stress played as both teams tried to play lovely football. I'll leave my views on Pats and give you my views on Cork as an outsider. Devine was excellent in goal and without him, we could have ten. Defence was all over the place and could not handle pace of our 3 prong attack. In midfield you didn't seem to ave anyone willing to battle with Osam, which left him free to do all the groundwork, laying off to Russell who is the best passer in the country. Up front Flynn and O'Callaghan looked lively but O'Callaghan seems to love himself and when City were 3 down started to retreat into defence to get the ball. I think he'd have been better off staying upfront and trying to work something. If Cork play like this on all their travels, the geat home record will mean nothing
    right dodge i think I figured that one myself a while ago about o'callaghan he is really a showboater. i am really fearful we could slide down the table pretty quickly if don't get more aggressive in the midfield. anyway well done but we will be waiting in the cross

Show boater or not, atleast he made an effort which is more than can be said for the likes of Billy! O'Callighan dropped back into his own half because he was moved to midfield when Mulligan came on. We needed some sort of creativity in the center and he was our best option (and incase you failed to notice, he also scored).
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Originally posted by Troy.McClure
    Show boater or not, atleast he made an effort which is more than can be said for the likes of Billy! O'Callighan dropped back into his own half because he was moved to midfield when Mulligan came on. We needed some sort of creativity in the center and he was our best option (and incase you failed to notice, he also scored).
    big f***in deal we were 4 goals down at that stage anyway. i am not getting at george all the players failed to play as a team.

we should have got the boot into them from the very off. close down osam and russell and make it diffcult for them to sweep midfield. we know how pat's play yet we make the same mistakes every time. grady and reynolds control of the ball in contact situations was dire and the first gaol was the result of our failure to control our own ball

this game was a game to be pretty effective not effectively pretty.

we aren't championship contenders

As Dodge says, Pats played well, but we were terrible. I think you have to wait to judge if it was just the four games in ten days and injuries or not. But Richmond is not a place to be playing pretty stuff - we didn't get stuck in in the first half and teh damage was done. It could easily have been 7-3, which isn't any better - but it doesn't take a genius to know that if you don't tackle Osam first time he's going to hurt you.

The game against Longford now looks crucial for us - we have to turn around and break the away duck and we can't affod to let Pats and Bohs get away from us. If we do then we can stay in contention, but we need some leadership ON the pitch - Mulligan looked like he was creatig a bit of urgency when he came on, but someone needs to take charge - the sooner Napier gets back the better...
    Mick D. for Ireland!

Originally posted by Hecko
    As Dodge says, Pats played well, but we were terrible. I think you have to wait to judge if it was just the four games in ten days and injuries or not. But Richmond is not a place to be playing pretty stuff - we didn't get stuck in in the first half and teh damage was done. It could easily have been 7-3, which isn't any better - but it doesn't take a genius to know that if you don't tackle Osam first time he's going to hurt you.

The game against Longford now looks crucial for us - we have to turn around and break the away duck and we can't affod to let Pats and Bohs get away from us. If we do then we can stay in contention, but we need some leadership ON the pitch - Mulligan looked like he was creatig a bit of urgency when he came on, but someone needs to take charge - the sooner Napier gets back the better...
    I think will be out for the forseeable season. we have to win in longford away.

surprised eanna, pete, james and co are so quiet

I thiunk the 4 games in 10 days didn't do us any favours & could be the reason the players who would have had to travel the most (Gaz) was so off the pace.

I actually thought the 1st half was even enough with Pats starting very slowly & getting 2 very easy goals. Less said about the 2nd half the better although Carey & 2 wide midfielders particularily poor - Billy really is a jekyl & hyde player.

At 4-0 & ten men Gunther rightly or wrongly wanted to keep it at that with JOF on the left wing & wee Jimmy chasing the hoofs down the middle. I thought GOC did very well when droipped back into midfield & ran the game for the last 20mins although Pats were kinda happy for him to play with the ball on the halfway line so debatable how he'd do in a competitive match....

Originally posted by pete
    I thought GOC did very well when droipped back into midfield & ran the game for the last 20mins although Pats were kinda happy for him to play with the ball on the halfway line so debatable how he'd do in a competitive match....
    I think thats an important bit, with 25 minutes to go we took off Osam and completely relaxed. Consequently O'Callaghan had a lot of the ball but all his passes were to full backs which surely any mifielder can do. He never looked like putting us under pressure. This smy first view of him and there's no doubt he's talented but he's not that good, in fact he was fairly anonymous until Osam went off

I thiunk the 4 games in 10 days didn't do us any favours & could be the reason the players who would have had to travel the most (Gaz) was so off the pace.

I actually thought the 1st half was even enough with Pats starting very slowly & getting 2 very easy goals. Less said about the 2nd half the better although Carey & 2 wide midfielders particularily poor - Billy really is a jekyl & hyde player.

At 4-0 & ten men Gunther rightly or wrongly wanted to keep it at that with JOF on the left wing & wee Jimmy chasing the hoofs down the middle. I thought GOC did very well when droipped back into midfield & ran the game for the last 20mins although Pats were kinda happy for him to play with the ball on the halfway line so debatable how he'd do in a competitive match....
    how do you think it will effecthe rest of our season? i also notice inthe last two games JOF hasn't had a sniff on goal

to be honest i thought greg sending off was a bit harsh. i was directly in line when he went and he actually fell over the pat's player.

why don't city ever learn when they play pat's in richmond?

IMO we lost last night because the whole team were knackered.
    It did not look like the same team who have been playing so well recently.In saying that ive seen them in Drogheda,Dalyer,and last night and also at home to Derry and Rovers and its like two different teams.

The fact we have injuries and players playing out of position is not helping either.We might get away with at home with the support but we are being found out away.

Finally well done to Pats, they played very well and were worth the 3 points.

Originally posted by scottyshedender
    Jaysus! The last time I was here it was all City are fantastic, brilliant, best ever etc etc. I know I dont see the games but can all this change in one poor performance? Even I find that impossible. In the end how many people thought we would be this good now back in June? I would have been happy to stay clear of relegation to be honost!

if our away form keeps up like this we will be sliding down the table and then the clap happy brigade will stop heading to the cross.

our performaces this season away form home have been awful - last night was bound to happen.

I do think the team were tired last night but that probably only caused us to lose in the manner we did - probably would have lost anyway but not as badly.

Interestingly although unsurprisingly it was the fulltime footballers who had more running in them at the end of the game.

I suppose we could take some hope from the fact we've played possibly the strongest home teams in drogs, bohs & pats?

While we have been a bit unlucky with injuries we are also being showed up for our lack of defenders in the squad.

btw its very shocking we let set piece show 4 goals from OPEN PLAY!

I do think the team were tired last night but that probably only caused us to lose in the manner we did - probably would have lost anyway but not as badly.

Interestingly although unsurprisingly it was the fulltime footballers who had more running in them at the end of the game.

I suppose we could take some hope from the fact we've played possibly the strongest home teams in drogs, bohs & pats?

While we have been a bit unlucky with injuries we are also being showed up for our lack of defenders in the squad.

btw its very shocking we let set piece show 4 goals from OPEN PLAY!
    NO GUNTHER OUT!!!!!!! from Eanna either

Well we're not going to ask him to be president!!! lol

We are entitled to have a rant every now and again.

Well we're not going to ask him to be president!!! lol

We are entitled to have a rant every now and again.

This whole knackered thing is a bit light really, we don't have a strong midfield that will get in and muc around and break up their play we have found that we can pass from back through the mid to the front fine, but that is on our terms at the x, we should be controlling mid field on away matches because the strikers are there to do the work up front.

Most people who have been on this MB for more than 6weeks will agree though we knew this was coming regardless of what any of us think of gunther, we knew that regardless of our home form we were going to be tested away from home by the top teams. We have been tested thrice in the league and failed, it might keep the Johnny come lately fans quite for a while, Lennox is building for the future. Pat are a top team no matter what happened over the last few year the team is a unit used to each other for the past few years, same with Bohs this is what we should aspire too over the next couple of year, it ain't the end of the world to lose like that, it will be if we lose to $hel$ they are not the best team and they have a manager with less ideas than gunther.
    It's only just begun...............
    If the last 21 years were class, here's looking forward to the next 21 years. It is our time

You want someone to say it so here ya go....
    [SIZE=3]GUNTHER OUT![/SIZE]

Yet again the guy showed himself for the for the complete and utter stupid useless b*llocks that he is. Somebody please explain the logic of bringing on Deccie Daly when we are 4-0 down, he came on and immediately started hoofing the ball up to little Jimmy Mull.
    Did anyone else see John O'Flynn giving out to Murphy when he was taking Billy off, lads im telling ya before we know it he'll have Flynny on the next train to Cobh for challenging him.

Originally posted by COLM
    You want someone to say it so here ya go....
    [SIZE=3]GUNTHER OUT![/SIZE]

Did anyone else see John O'Flynn giving out to Murphy when he was taking Billy off, lads im telling ya before we know it he'll have Flynny on the next train to Cobh for challenging him.
    Time for a line to be drawn here. If JOF goes because he falls out with Gunther then gunther will have to go.

tricky was right about this happening sooner rather than later. i laso reckon it could happen a lot more than once if things aren't beefed up and george is told to cop himself on- less mouth more football please george.

losing to longford is not a option

Yeah, Gunthers gotta sort it out before Saturday but I dont think that any of us honestly believe he will. Hes only got one plan of action and at the moment that aint working away from home.

As has been said we got away with it in Dalymount but luck deserved city last night.

Barely any player played well last night.

Ever team & (some more than others) manager has a feck up every now & then but whats more important is how they recat to it.

City showed good character to come from 2 down at the cross last friday so Longford is a big game now. Will the players show what they can do & will Gunther make some radical changes byt going more attacking or will he close up the midfield?

i fooookin hate pats
    gutted am i

as sick as a parrot etc etc

every away league match this season we have been ****
    sadly no exceptions