Thread: Rovers Fans - We Salute You

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    I saw Clarke shouting at the crowd and i was wondering what his problem was. Whoever threw the coin should be banned from Terryland and GUST.I reckon I can guess who it was by the description there arent too many grade A tossers around, thankfully.
    there is a fair few around galway just thankfully the majority dont come to terryland
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

If you know the identity of the "supporter" who threw the stone, let me know.
    If this person has a track record of this type of behaviour then he/she will have to be banned from the ground.

People like this are a disgrace. They play into the hands of the clubhouse element who will gladly use it as an attempt to portray vocal supporters, GUST and those who travel away as "scum".

didnt see it happen myself and dont know who did it, but i dont think the guy has a track record as he's not a regular in terryland himself, should be banned for the rest of the season anyways if not life. terryland and gufc in general dont need this type of support.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

when you compare the amount of extra work that goes into getting a hundred extra people into the ground to make that grand - and then to have to lose it for that tosser - is a slap in the face to all the hardwork and effort on and off the pitch at the moment

definetly ban him for a few seasons - the rest of this season is only 3 games!!!
    more water!

Thanks to everyone at Galway for your hospitality on Friday.

As someone who spends way too much time moaning about inadequate policing at games, I'd like to pay tribute to the young guard who seemed to be running the show. He was professional, intelligent and had plenty of common-sense.

He did a great job at the first game in June and was on top of his game again on Friday. He should be running football policing for the whole country, he could teach his incompetent colleagues at other grounds a thing or two.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

your gonna have to change your signature wearerovers....Galway, Athlone & us have removed ourselves from the "we hate rovers" section of the community so not everyone hates ya.

[QUOTE=WeAreRovers;550417]I'd like to pay tribute to the young guard who seemed to be running the show. He was professional, intelligent and had plenty of common-sense.

Was talking to him after the game and he said there was no major hassle at all. Only a few young fellas mouthing off about this n that. He said these guys were pulled back by their elders and told to be quiet. He's a soccer fan himself and understands the passion involved. Two directors suggested that the Galway idiot be hauled aside and given a roasting by the gardai (when they get his name) as he tarnished a perfectly good evening enjoyed by both sets of supporters. I agree with this but also suggest a name and shame policy on theses *******s.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Yet another great night in Galway! Thanks again to the Galway fans for the Foxs meet up.

If only other clubs ran their show like last friday..............

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers View Post
    Thanks to everyone at Galway for your hospitality on Friday.

As someone who spends way too much time moaning about inadequate policing at games, I'd like to pay tribute to the young guard who seemed to be running the show. He was professional, intelligent and had plenty of common-sense.

He did a great job at the first game in June and was on top of his game again on Friday. He should be running football policing for the whole country, he could teach his incompetent colleagues at other grounds a thing or two.

As far as I know, the Club are writing to the Super in Galway to thank them for the way things went, with particular mention of the young Garda in charge - not sure if he was Inspector or Sergeant.

thats great to hear - fair play on the commendation
    more water!

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic View Post
    As far as I know, the Club are writing to the Super in Galway to thank them for the way things went, with particular mention of the young Garda in charge - not sure if he was Inspector or Sergeant.
    He's neither. His name is Damien, I don't know his surname. He is on duty at most GUFC games. He is attached to Mill St. Garda Station.

Why don't you write to a local newspaper such as the Galway Advertiser ( www.galwayadvertiser.ie ) too? The Gardai get enough grief in the media; why not say your piece?

I spoke to him after the game (along with Tir Eoileann) and he found the Rovers fans easy to deal with.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care