Thread: Galway

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    I loved our
    "ollie Byrne's rent boys"
    How ironic coming from Galway fans, who support a club which will continue to shell out big bucks on a monthly basis (is the figure of 2.5K correct?) just to rent their home ground for the indefinite future.
    Ireland: Discovered!

Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop View Post
    How ironic coming from Galway fans, who support a club which will continue to shell out big bucks on a monthly basis (is the figure of 2.5K correct?) just to rent their home ground for the indefinite future.
    It's just a song!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop View Post

The Galway and District League (GDL) own Terryland. Recently, they joined the Board that run the Club and have a stake in it's future. The GDL needs GUFC to attract funding to improve facilities. A new stand with 2,500 seats has been approved and will commence before Christmas. If Galway United are paying €2500 per month (I have no idea what the arrangement is), then it is money well spent. Someone else maintains the stadium for GUFC and it is a decent place to play and watch football. I understand that other Clubs don't own their grounds either (Cork, Waterford, Derry, Limerick and Rovers). Also, GUFC have a long lease!
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Someone else maintains the stadium for GUFC and it is a decent place to play and watch football. I understand that other Clubs don't own their grounds either (Cork, Waterford, Derry, Limerick and Rovers). Also, GUFC have a long lease!
    ya, our future - for the long term - is well sorted, leasing your ground off someone that your in partnership is nothing like renting your ground of local rivals!
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

71 Posts

Wink The REAL big club...

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    we'd put UCD where they belong
    Your wish has already been granted, Peader. We have teams LSL Major Division 1B Saturday and LSL Major Division Sunday.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Your wish has already been granted, Peader. We have teams LSL Major Division 1B Saturday and LSL Major Division Sunday.
    I'm surprised none of your buddies have pounced in your spelling mistake yet.

The LSL has everything you could want.

71 Posts

The LSL has everything you could want.
    I agree. An opportunity to field our 4th and 5th strings.

Great trip as usual. Proper fans with no agendas. Interesting that the local keystones told the owner of Foxs not to serve Rovers fans but he could think for himself and was duly rewarded with a full house before and after the game.

Boost to see a good crowd for a first division game.

Our 2 clubs could and should be in the premier. Patrick Dunne looked stressed the whole night!

poor ould Patrick Dunne had 10 grand in E2 coins in his pockets for selling all the lotto tickets, programmes etc.. and was under sheer pressure on keeping his trousers up all night !!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    poor ould Patrick Dunne had 10 grand in E2 coins in his pockets for selling all the lotto tickets, programmes etc.. and was under sheer pressure on keeping his trousers up all night !!!!
    LOL!!! He got some reception in Foxs alright!

Madman muha had to leave early!

I'm surprised none of your buddies have pounced in your spelling mistake yet.

Jaysus Peadar surely you should know by now that it is a good idea to check your own post for mistakes before correcting someone elses spelling

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Proper fans with no agendas.
    What does that actually mean?

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Interesting that the local keystones told the owner of Foxs not to serve Rovers fans but he could think for himself and was duly rewarded with a full house before and after the game.

Don't know where that came from. It didn't happen.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic View Post
    Don't know where that came from. It didn't happen.
    Came from the Galway fans. Doesnt sound like they made it up to be honest.