Thread: Galway

64 Posts

Galway

Just thought I'd say a few words on last night without putting the boot into another club (see Killester/Sligo thread). Many thanks to Galway fans for being decent hosts as usual. From where I was standing the pitch looked immaculate and players had no excuses not to try to play. Fairly even game I thought although it was always going to be tight. Thought Galways defence were excellent and limited our chances to fewer than usual. All in all, bar the result, a good day out and hopefully both clubs will be in the Prem div next season to do it all again
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Good man hoopy. Enjoyed the beers with ye, great bunch of lads and look forward, hopefully, to seeing ye next season again.

As we sang in Fox's..."Rovers and Galway are premier league Rovers and Galway are premier league na na na"

Seriously dead on bunch-the loss didn't deter them form having a good night either.Good to meet the infamous NY Hoop aswell-top man!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

55 Posts

hoops fans make it

whatever you say about the hoops, everyone wants to come out and see their team up against them and the size of the crowd is a compliment to rovers. fair play to the large contingent of hoops who made the trip and played their part

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    Just thought I'd say a few words on last night without putting the boot into another club (see Killester/Sligo thread). Many thanks to Galway fans for being decent hosts as usual. From where I was standing the pitch looked immaculate and players had no excuses not to try to play. Fairly even game I thought although it was always going to be tight. Thought Galways defence were excellent and limited our chances to fewer than usual. All in all, bar the result, a good day out and hopefully both clubs will be in the Prem div next season to do it all again
    You opened a thread for that ffs

Well done rovers fans , ye were a credit to the league yesterday
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Well done rovers fans , ye were a credit to the league yesterday
    Is the expectancy of trouble from Rovers so great that when they don't cause trouble we have posts and sometimes even threads like this!!

I just want to say fair play to the Waterford fans last night,they behaved impeccable!

No that's not it at all.We respect fans who come in numbers,support their team no matter what,have the banter and enjoy themselves with the UTD fans.Trouble was never ever going to happen in Galway last night-we love having proper fans down-you don't get it that often in this **** division.You'll get the same next year when your club comes down......unless you support Athlone?

Europe's Big Club.

Quote Originally Posted by skitz3 View Post
    Is the expectancy of trouble from Rovers so great that when they don't cause trouble we have posts and sometimes even threads like this!!

I just want to say fair play to the Waterford fans last night,they behaved impeccable!
    Ah give it a rest.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

64 Posts
    You opened a thread for that ffs
    What is your name,Bert or Ernie?
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    What is your name,Bert or Ernie?
    Good point,well made

37 Posts
    There were more cops at Terryland than we normally would have visiting fans.

Both sets of fans were in good spirits including the extra 2,000 locals who haven't been to Terryland in years.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Two best Rovers' chants of the night: 'You're just a bus stop near Sligo' and 'We've been here more times than you'.
    Galway, as usual, were excellent hosts. And we were excellent visitors too, losing 1-0 yet again. Stop being nice to us you *******s!

I loved our
    "ollie Byrne's rent boys"

Europe's Big Club.

Conor: in fairness, we may be rent boys - and that's a legitimate slag - but we've found Ollie to be a very good guy to deal with.
    The fact remains that we've been to Terryland more times than most of your 'fans'.

21 Posts
    It was announced on a local Galway radio station attendance. (3092) There is some reports of 4000 on here. I thought the health and safety issue made it a maximum of about 3000 with the new building issue in Terryland?

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    It was announced on a local Galway radio station attendance. (3092) There is some reports of 4000 on here. I thought the health and safety issue made it a maximum of about 3000 with the new building issue in Terryland?
    Agreed . It's a disgrace that so many people were allowed in to an Eircom League game. I preferred it more when GUFC were sh!t and attracting 400 people.

And no, I didn't miss your point.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

the official paying attendance was 3092, that didnt include season ticket holders and u12's as there was an obvious lack of help at the gates to do the correct head count and they were just ushering in everybody at those gates. There was members of the police, fire department and FAI amongst others at the match also and they were quite happy with everything.

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    Conor: in fairness, we may be rent boys - and that's a legitimate slag - but we've found Ollie to be a very good guy to deal with.
    The fact remains that we've been to Terryland more times than most of your 'fans'.

No not really.The fairweathers have been there before they just took a while out.

Europe's Big Club.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    ...and look forward, hopefully, to seeing ye next season again.
    I'd imagine that one of you will be in the "Premiership" next season. Either club would be a welcome addition, in my opinion. Ideally, we'd put UCD where they belong, in the LSL and have both of you up.