Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Connaught Cup Predictions/Fixtures etc...

Quote Originally Posted by west awake View Post
    no offence taken red metal,who's ur local junior team and r abbey any good?
    Abbey utd are my local team!We lost about 5 of the team that won it last year!But they will be there in the shake down. They have been in the last 4 for the past 4 seasons.

Quote Originally Posted by red metal View Post
    Abbey utd are my local team!We lost about 5 of the team that won it last year!But they will be there in the shake down. They have been in the last 4 for the past 4 seasons.
    thats a great record,ye knocked out my club west in the last 8,3 years ago,ye won 2-0 in cranmore,comfortably i might add,ye have colemanstown next they produced a big shock in knockin hibs out,a tough one,even though hibs would of been tougher,how do u think ye'll do?

do u know when the last 8 is on,rumour has it that it's on the day after paddy's day,thats what we've been told if we beat corrib rangers that we are playin mervue then!
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

thats a great record,ye knocked out my club west in the last 8,3 years ago,ye won 2-0 in cranmore,comfortably i might add,ye have colemanstown next they produced a big shock in knockin hibs out,a tough one,even though hibs would of been tougher,how do u think ye'll do?

do u know when the last 8 is on,rumour has it that it's on the day after paddy's day,thats what we've been told if we beat corrib rangers that we are playin mervue then!
    Its allways tough against the galway side,s in fairness.Most of them are good side,s.And we wont be taking Colemans Town for granted thats for sure.We have been told the games will be played on Paddys weekend.We have a few injurys so thank god it,s not this week.

Smile

Abbey for connaught again this year.

west are gone ,we were deservedly beaten today 2-1 by corrib rangers,just didn't perform ,the manager dropped a couple of very good players who weren't trainin and it backfired!

no way!!.... dam!!. i would have found it hard to think though that the lads would have stayed off the drink on paddys day if the next round is gonna go ahead the day after as expected
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

51 Posts
    Updated;

CONNACHT CUP DRAW SEASON 2006/2007

Quarter Finals : 17th /18th March 2007

300 Ballinasloe Town V Athenry
    400 Colemanstown V Abbey United
    500 Mervue United V Corrib Rangers
    600 Carbury FC V Kilkerrin Utd

Semi Finals

700 400 V 300
    800 600 V 500

Final

1000 700 V 800

Results

Colemanstown Utd 1-2 Abbey Utd
    Carbury 4-0 Kilkerrin Utd

51 Posts
    Updated;

300 Ballinasloe Town V Athenry
    400 Colemanstown 1 V Abbey United 2
    500 Mervue United V Corrib Rangers
    600 Carbury FC 4 V Kilkerrin Utd 0

Semi Finals

700 Abbey United V 300
    800 Carbury FC V 500

Final

1000 700 V 800

Following the Connacht Cup, Westport United would surely be kicking themselves. With what is left in the competition, Westport would have had a great chance of winning the competition on their day .
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Give it up Thunderblaster, Mervue Utd and Athenry would both wipe the floor with Westport. They had their day in the limelight 2 years ago. Im afraid that is the last you will hear of Westport....Good spot for a weekend away though if thats any consolation??

Quote Originally Posted by Junior One View Post
    Good spot for a weekend away though if thats any consolation??
    If you want to get drunk or get laid!!!

Cool

Give it up Thunderblaster, Mervue Utd and Athenry would both wipe the floor with Westport. They had their day in the limelight 2 years ago. Im afraid that is the last you will hear of Westport....Good spot for a weekend away though if thats any consolation??
    half agree ....Good spot for a weekend away, Mervue Utd a good team ,but athenry?????????
    Its better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it

Results from today

Mervue 1-2 Corrib Rangers
    Ballinasloe Town 0-2 Athenry

Looks like Sligo/Galway in both semis

51 Posts
    Updated;

300 Ballinasloe Town 0 V Athenry 2
    400 Colemanstown 1 V Abbey United 2
    500 Mervue United 1 V Corrib Rangers 2
    600 Carbury FC 4 V Kilkerrin Utd 0

Semi Finals

700 Abbey United V Athenry
    800 Carbury FC V Corrib Rangers

Final

1000 700 V 800

Keep your day job son. Comedy is not your strongpoint.
    Mervue beaten by Corrib Rangers who in the last year have played Westport twice (Winning one each - very tight games) - so I don't think your 'off the cuff' analysis counts for much.

What are you basing it on? You're fantasies?

i wouldnt say any side would wipe the floor with westport as they are a good footballing side, that have proven their quality.

In relation to Mervue , yesterdays result was a big suprise as nine time out of ten mervue would have no problem in brushing corrib rangers aside. Rangers done very well last year under previous management , but have fallen away this season and were in trouble until recent results. As much as i hate to say it Mervue are one of the best sides around although there record of getting out of galway in the last few years is pretty awful in the FAI, which a lot of people cant understand.

In my experience Athenry have a good record against any mayo side we've faced , win lose or draw the football is always good from both teams and we are more than a match for any side.

I Think Athenry Will Win It Now,great Result Yesterday,they've A Tough One Against Abbey But U Can Be Rest Assured The Winners Will Come Out Of That Semi Final!

Even Though I Would Love To See Corrib Rangers Win It!

Going for an Abbey United V Corrib Rangers final.

With the Connaught Cup down to the last 4, pleased to see that it generates so much interest. Would anyone mind if I ask does any one have a full list of previous finals. Have a hobby of collecting records on Junior/Intermediate Leagues and Cups. Been trying for ever to get details on Con Cup. Believe there have been 78 finals since 1928/29.Think I have details of 44 finals(though some need to be confirmed, and scores missing for some), think I have 11 winners only, and 1 final runners up known. Have been making contact with some people but no joy. Also looking for details re now defunct Connaught Senior League/Senior Cup. Even if you dont know all finals but know ones which your club were involved in that might help. A BIG THANKS FOR ANY INFO FORTHCOMING.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast