Thread: Top 6 is a real possibility

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Foot.ie! Top 6 is a real possibility

We have a great chance of finishing inside the top half this season. It is the best squad we've had in years, better than the side that got us 4th IMO, and we have a good run of games to finish the season with.

We're a point behind Pats, and with them off at the weekend, and if the Bray game goes by the script then we would be 2 points clear of them.

4 points behind Bohs is not a lot of points(feck their points deduction, 6th only counts if we finish more than 3 clear of them IMO). They have Derry away at the weekend so that should move us into the top 6, or a point behind them if you like.

The crunch game will be Bohs away. Whoever wins that will more than likely get 6th place. We've an easier run of games than them, all winnable bar Shels home I think.

3,491 Posts
    Yeah, has to be our target for the remainder of the season. As has scoring a goal or two.

Was going to say to count Bohs' points deduction because they were stupid enough to field a suspended player, but then I remembered what country I was in...

with the squad we have, we should easily finish in top 6, but as stu has said we need goals to get there. Bray on friday is a must win game and it is a game that can give us the goals we need

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    It is the best squad we've had in years, better than the side that got us 4th IMO.
    I'd agree broadly, with exception of our strikers.

Does 6th count as top half of an 11 team league?

3,491 Posts
    We've passed out Dublin City's tally, so yes.

Are you saying Ken Kilmurray is a better striker than Paul Byrne?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post

Does 6th count as top half of an 11 team league?

it will just this time ye i agree the strikers need to start pulling their weight

Are you saying Ken Kilmurray is a better striker than Paul Byrne?

I was thinking more of the other guy up there!

3,491 Posts
    Danger Benno?!

Incidentally, in the league, Sammo has scored 5, Podge 4 and Paul Byrne 2 this season, off hand.

The midfield has contributed three goals - Kavanagh v Waterford, Cawley v Bohs and Doyler v Shels. Shortall has scored twice from defence, and Allie Mac has one. So it's our midfield that's the problem. Isn't it about time for Tony Mac's four in five??

In the Cups - Sammo and Byrne in the League Cup; Cawley (pen), Podge, Hurley and Finn (2) in the FAI - bit better I suppose...

Danger Benno?!
    Har har. Our top scorer perhaps...

i didn't realise how little the midfield contributed to goals!!!! gary dicker hasn't scored? he is a great talent and he seems to score plenty for ireland

71 Posts
    I don't think we'll finish in the top half. Supprorting UCD is all about seeing us not seizing opportunities. We could be sitting comfortably in 6th had we put away Bray and Longford while leading them both earlier this season and had we not taken at least a point from Bohs at Dalymount. We just never take our opportunities to climb the table. I think we'll finish below Pat's and Bohs and possibly below Longford.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    We're a point behind Pats, and with them off at the weekend, and if the Bray game goes by the script then we would be 2 points clear of them.
    Or not...they were playing actually...and won.

71 Posts
    I wish people didn't tell me about the disadvantages of finishing 6th last night. It sucked whatever possible enjoyment was left out of my season.

I suppose I'll mention for the craic but there's the minutest of possibilities we could get 5th or even 4th. We've Drogs and Sligo yet to play. Sligo's run in is fairly tough, I think they play all the teams above them and it is felt that Drogs are collapsing. That said, we'd need to win all our games and they'd need to claim no more than a draw or two for the rest of the season. Makes you think what we'd still have to play for if we didn't throw the leads away in the Bray and Longford games in the 2nd round of matches.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I don't think we'll finish in the top half. Supprorting UCD is all about seeing us not seizing opportunities. We could be sitting comfortably in 6th had we put away Bray and Longford while leading them both earlier this season and had we not taken at least a point from Bohs at Dalymount. We just never take our opportunities to climb the table. I think we'll finish below Pat's and Bohs and possibly below Longford.
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    I wish people didn't tell me about the disadvantages of finishing 6th last night. It sucked whatever possible enjoyment was left out of my season.

I suppose I'll mention for the craic but there's the minutest of possibilities we could get 5th or even 4th. We've Drogs and Sligo yet to play. Sligo's run in is fairly tough, I think they play all the teams above them and it is felt that Drogs are collapsing. That said, we'd need to win all our games and they'd need to claim no more than a draw or two for the rest of the season. Makes you think what we'd still have to play for if we didn't throw the leads away in the Bray and Longford games in the 2nd round of matches.
    What changed you're opinion?

71 Posts
    Nothing. It's just mathematically possible (and barely at that!) and I said I'd point it out for the craic. Just because I don't think we can achieve any of this it doesn't mean I don't harbour a desire to see us win and climb the table.

3,491 Posts
    Actually, I forgot that while there's 1 extra point for finishing 6th over 7th, that total is just used to determine where you finish in the 2006 rankings. Points are then awarded from 200 down to 50 on a 6-point sliding scale or so, so it's better to finish sixth than seventh.

so it's better to finish sixth than seventh.
    No way!

3,491 Posts
    One acronym for you.

FAI.

One acronym for you.

FAI.
    Fools and idiots.

Well if the Cork fans on here will forgive me using one of their phrases...
    This should be a motto for all EL Clubs from here on in:

Playing a banger makes you a langher!