Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Racism in Irish Football

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    Not more acceptable, but certainly less serious. Racism is obscene while throwing flares/bottles and invading pitches is merely stupid.
    So just say for example Limerick are playing Galway.

The fella next to me starts making monkey noises at Wesley Charles

I merely throw a glass bottle at him

The monkeys noises guy is worse??

(And indeed deserves to die)

A dose of cop on is in order m'Lord

I merely throw a glass bottle at him
    At the monkey noises guy or at Wes Charles?

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    At the monkey noises guy or at Wes Charles?
    Wes Charles (Sorry should have made that clearer, not that throwing a glass bottle at the monkey noises guy would be acceptable either)

If he's a big enough idiot to be making monkey noises at Wes Charles then never mind the glas bottle, Charles should jump into the crowd and kung fu kick him Cantona style!
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    If he's a big enough idiot to be making monkey noises at Wes Charles then never mind the glas bottle, Charles should jump into the crowd and kung fu kick him Cantona style!
    If Wes Charles wants to do that then fairplay Wes Charles. I just genuinely don't see how it's anyone elses job to tell said knuckle dragger what to think. It's almost facist to be anti-facist and therein lies the contradiction at the heart of lots of anti-racist type people

I'm no Facist. I never judge a person on their face

It is not fascist btw to shut a fascist up. Fascism is a very precicely defined ideology that entails a lot more than shutting someones face.
    In any society their are rules attached to freedom of speech, I know there is a contradiction there but cest la vie. People shouldn't be allowed shout things about a player's (or anyones) race, religion, sexual orientation any more than they should be allowed shout things about dead relatives. People have the right to live without intimidation.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Wes Charles (Sorry should have made that clearer, not that throwing a glass bottle at the monkey noises guy would be acceptable either)
    Why would you want to throw a bottle at Wes Charles? What has he done?

****in Limerick scumbags...
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

there had better not be any. We're Irish, racist doesn't fit into the description of Irish people.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    Why would you want to throw a bottle at Wes Charles? What has he done?

****in Limerick scumbags...
    Did you even read the post?

He was saying it is UNACCEPTABLE.

Jesus.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    I personally can't stand the abuse Derry City fans get, quite frequently, for being from the North.
    Out of curiousity, can you stand Cork fans getting stick because they are from Cork?

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Takes one to know one.

I know you are but what am I

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Dont know why you come here at all. Yawn. If I say black (not a racist statement btw!) you say white. It's getting old. Go away.

Way to skirt around your opening statement yet again NY Hoop

Quote Originally Posted by diamond View Post
    i hadn't seen racist abuse directed at a player in a long time in united park until some moron made monkey chants towards ndo in the last shels drogs game.(the same guy reckons he's the player we need to win the league btw) that was a rarity tho.
    what isn't rare is the abuse directed towards other fans. there are two groups of lads that have come to drogs games this season for the first time. one is a group of turkish lads, the other are guys living in mosney. they both happen to stand near me and i have been disgusted by comments made to/about them in the last four/five home games. anything from callin them the mosnia possie, to questioning if they are paying in, askin if they are paying where are they gettin the money, asking them to move coz "i cant see and i've been comin here years. yiz are hardly local!" questionin why they have jerseys on when thyer not even from here. and one lad even complained that they looked stupid singing the chants coz they are obviously not even irish??!!!
    the majority of these comments have been made by ould lads but there is no exvuse for racism and ignorance like this. so much for trying to attract crowds.
    it is also worth mentioning that a lot of crap is said about women at games, usually by the same idiots. its not racism but its not pleasent

That's pretty disgusting stuff. We have a couple of Romanian, Chinese and Japanese people who come down to Tolka the odd time (could be more I don't know of of course). If I ever heard anyone racially abusing them I'd round on them fairly quick. A supporter is a supporter is a supporter. We should take them from anywhere. Except the little knackers of course

There were monkey chants directed at Rutherford last night after he was fouled in the second half. Although many people were mainly booing him you could hear the monkey chants coming through.

Heard one Cobh fan shouting a racist remark at one of our players last season and according to the Derry forum, some of their fans racially abused Harpal Singh and Darren Mansaram last week in the Brandywell.

Derry were by far the most racist group of supporters I've every encountered in the LOI. I used to think they were alright but the abuse Harpal Singh and Darren Mansaram got from them made me change the way I think of them

Quote Originally Posted by erinfootball View Post
    there had better not be any. We're Irish, racist doesn't fit into the description of Irish people.
    I presume you are being sarcastic?

28/10/2006 6:27 PM
    1 9 2 8 Quote:
    Derry were by far the most racist group of supporters I've every encountered in the LOI. I used to think they were alright but the abuse Harpal Singh and Darren Mansaram got from them made me change the way I think of them
    What!!??!

Where were you sitting and what did you hear?

I didnt hear one racist remark at that game although i was told about 2 people who were standing together at the other side of the ground making a few remarks. There definitly wasn't any racist songs or chants.

Could you tell us what you heard/saw instead of just labeling us racists with no further comment?

I've heard racism in the showgrounds,about 3 years ago. It was from an away fan (i think dublin city but not certain). He got an earfull from everyone around and soon shut up.
    "he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".

According to the Derry forum they did not do any such thing.

What happened was that one supporter overheard another supporter make a racist remark to another supporter.

He didn't shout any racist remark, he just made it to another person.

And was condemned unreservedly by others on the forum.

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8 View Post
    I'm quite amazed that you should say something like that, that has no truth at all, and is without foundation.

To clarify matters, did you hear these players getting abuse?

If so, what game was that?

If it was the last game we played you in the Braandywell, then if you heard them from your position of being sited way in a corner of the ground, then the whole of the Brandywell must of heard them.

Yet it's only on here we now hear of these things.

I can categorically state on here now you will hear NO racist chants from the Derry supporters on Sunday.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast