Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: Racism in Irish Football

Well our two player that were getting the abuse were raging after the game they said it was the worst they received

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8 View Post
    Well our two player that were getting the abuse were raging after the game they said it was the worst they received
    If the lads could hear, did the ref not?

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Did you even read the post?

He was saying it is UNACCEPTABLE.

Jesus.
    He was clearly joking.

Quote Originally Posted by 1Davy View Post
    I can categorically state on here now you will hear NO racist chants from the Derry supporters on Sunday.
    I heard one Derry fan refer to Harpal Singh as "Sinbad" today.

29/10/2006 12:34 PM
    1 9 2 8 Well our two player that were getting the abuse were raging after the game they said it was the worst they received

Your a liar.

It's that simple.

I was at the match he didnt get any abuse whatsoever, nevermind racist abuse. We won 4-0, we stuffed youse and we had no need to give any of your players abuse.

Ah so its ok to give racist abuse just so long as you arent winning.

Quote Originally Posted by nzamcdza View Post
    I was at the match he didnt get any abuse whatsoever, nevermind racist abuse. We won 4-0, we stuffed youse and we had no need to give any of your players abuse.
    So yer saying if ye were losing then ye would have need to racially abuse our players then?

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8 View Post
    Did you report it to the FAI observer?

I hope Derry fans will sort this out ASAP.

who did they say it was the worse they had received to? could you give us a link to the source?

Or did they tell you personally?

Every set of fans gives players abuse, but not racial abuse. There was no abuse handed out at the game, we won 4-0, i was there with the fans that were singing, and all the songs were about us and our own players.

Were you even at the match yourself? Your a liar, pure and simple.

nzamcdza, you seem to ingore my point when you say fans don't give racist abuse?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    What do you mean by "refer"? Was it shouted at him as abuse or did he say it to someone else in the crowd?

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    What do you mean by "refer"? Was it shouted at him as abuse or did he say it to someone else in the crowd?
    WTF? Does it make a differece?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    WTF? Does it make a differece?
    Ye because if it wasn't said to Singh it wouldn't be abuse.

My point is this.

It was said that they recieved the worst racist abuse they ever had at the derry game. This implies chanting racist abuse en masse from the derry fans. This simply didnt happen.

I for one think that 1928 is lying and has as yet not been able to tell us when the players said this or to whom.

Now if there are a few thousand people gathered there will be some idiots in the crowd. I have no doubt a few out of the 2000 derry fans made racist remarks. I personally did not hear anyone but im sure it took place.

This will happen with any set of fans. I guarentee if Derry had an ethnic player a few out of the 4000 sligo fans would have made remarks.

Now there is a difference in making a remark to a fellow fan, shoiting abuse at a player, and the fans chanting racist abuse at a player. (which was implied by 1928)

No racist chanting happened at either game although im sure remakrs were made between fans. I didnt hear anyone shouting bt i obviously couldnt hear everyone so i cant say that this definitly did not happen.

I'd like to ask 1928 if this was the "worst abuse they have ever recieved" How come none of the derry fans heard it? How come no local or national press at the game reported it? Why did the FAI observer not hear it? Why did the match officials at the game not hear it? why did the sligo coaching staff not hear it?

No one heard it because it didnt happen and you are lying.

One comment I did hear at half-time was some guy called to Foy as he was warming up in front of us.

"Hi Foy is that Singhs' Bomb up your jumper or are you just a fat bastrad"

on www.derrycitychat.com a Derry fan admits to hearing racial abuse coming from a few of there fans yesterday.... Probably towards Singh or Mansaram...
    Its in the Forums section...

could you paste up some of the comments,its just you have to register to get onto it.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    could you paste up some of the comments,its just you have to register to get onto it.
    ya i wil

its this thread
    http://www.derrycitychat.com/phpBB2/...pic.php?t=9137

il paste comments now

Quote Originally Posted by Shedzer View Post
    ya i wil
    its this thread
    http://www.derrycitychat.com/phpBB2/...pic.php?t=9137
    il paste comments now
    cheers....cant view that anyway

Hate to say it but there were a lot . . . . . all on our side that I saw
    then
    What did you see?
    then
    'fans' behind the net in the first half who spent the whole half abusing Sligo's keeper, black player and giving the fingers to the sligo fans....

---------------------------------------
    great post here
    I agree it is a mans game but when we play bigger clubs than Sligo (e.g. Gothenberg and PSG) we behave like schoolboys - chanting their names etc. Prehaps because of the reputation of certain elements of PSG - if we had of abused them, we would have probably had our heads kicked-in in Paris.

So yeah - we need to be consistent here - let's not get all big and mighty over people like Sligo, Longford, UCD etc - and in the next breathe be paying homage to bigger European teams.

When it comes to verbal abusing opposing players, fans etc because of there colour or creed, then I think we should be doing everything possible to cut this out - having stewards remove persons from the ground, people informing stewards of the fact, directors barring persons from "supporting" Derry - this form of primitive behaviour is not acceptable in any walk of life and should not be tolerated in the stands either.

Just remember what we would think if people did the same during the Jose Mokendi, Owen Da Gama, Nelson Da Silva, Harris Cheu, Alex Kristic days.......

Not acceptable keep biggots in Stormont not in the Brandywell !!!!!

------------------------------------------
    this is all DCFC fans speaking about racism......
    There's no other word for that kind of behaviour than SCUM!
    I understand that players playing "not as well" get a bit of stick - Paul Carlyle got it for years - but it is the racist abust that we need to kick out
    TBH i never heard any racist abuse yesterday, but at the shels match there were a few b*llbags giving NDO abuse when he was injured, the worst about they were from Donegal, they must've been students
    Detest the racial abuse stuff. Stamp it out

so the Derry fans are not in any shape or form a racist bunch, they arnt happy with the few that may silly and mindless comments....

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456