Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Racism in Irish Football

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop View Post
    I assume you mean on the pitch as they are unlikely to see a black face to abuse from one year to the next.
    Pretty different off the pitch aswell in fairness, maybe Dub footballers excepted. There's a huge section of people at GAA games who wouldn't dream of darkening the door of an Eircom League ground

And likewise with el fans. The pint remains though that rascism in the terms we're talking is directed at the players and so far there hasn't been a high profile black player. There's been a couple of mixed race lads and according to the posts here, they get abuse.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/s...nd/5405722.stm

I don't think we are really too bad.
    Last edited by BeaumontBohs; 04/10/2006 at 2:02 PM.

Didn't Sligo Rovers have a nazi element turning up to matches a few years ago? Germans based in Tubbercurry I think.

Quote Originally Posted by marley View Post
    "Personally I have heard it.

When Dundalk were in the Premier about 4 yrs (?) ago Mark Rutherford came on as a sub up in Oriel. They 'monkey chanted' every time he got the ball.
    It was strange because Avery John played the whole game and nothing was shouted at him.
    This could well have sparked trouble if we weren't already under attack from the Dundalk fans in the shed that night!

Night of shame"

What a load of crap. The Bohs casuals came over to the shed and there was slagging going on between fans. A baldy ******** got stick and his mate punched a Dundalk fan, turned around and put his arms in the air. He then got a thumping and both sets of fans kicked off. Nothing to do with racist chanting

Deflecting away from the point, I doubt he would have done anything if youse hadn't have showered us with bottles, cans and coins for the whole game.

It's clear from this thread that Dundalkkk (<-- why else do you think you got that name?) HAD a racist core.
    HOPEFULLY it's long gone, it seems to be.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ciaraa View Post
    jason kabia got some terrible abuse from about 30 drog 'fans' when he was playing for cork (i think) up in utd park some years ago.
    He got plenty of abuse from Blues fans when he was playing for us, but that was nothing to do with race - he was just a really, really bad player.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Fair play to you superfrank but just one thing, even if they were Union Jack waving loyalists they still don't deserve abuse for it as that would still be bigotry!
    I didn't mean that if they were waving Union Jacks around, they'd deserve it. They don't deserve it at all.

What I meant was that they alot more like Irish people then British people, yet we still give them abuse over it.

I know the Bray fans do. However, I never join in. I've heard it being sung on the telly at them too.

It shouldn't happen at all. End of.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

I assume you mean on the pitch as they are unlikely to see a black face to abuse from one year to the next. The closest they get is Sherlock, who from what I gather recieve racial abuse from the culchies in blue who are supposed to be supporting him.
    'cept when they play Australia.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

I'd go along with Lim Til I Die on this one, I do think that if the attendences started going up it would attract in a lot of scumbags that would inevitably chant something sectarian (Dundalk singing Celtic songs anyone?) or the odd monkey chant from someone who thinks its funny (we had one guy in Limerick recently). I don't think it would reach Italian levels, but I think it would increase certainly.

NY Hoop, don't try and start stupid arguments again with your 'it might happen in Limerick, but not in Dublin' comment, is that what WUMing means?

Maybe too well if you listen to a lot of people on my estate
    There's a ferocious amount of Limerick people on **********.
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    There's a ferocious amount of Limerick people on **********.
    Eh jibeus?

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac View Post
    is it present at GAA games where the crowds would be of this magnitude and bigger? not aware of it - I think that a lot of the responsibility rests with the various supporters as well to let people around them know that that sort of behaviour is unacceptable.
    It's rampant in the GAA. Rule 42.

Quote Originally Posted by Philo View Post
    Didn't Sligo Rovers have a nazi element turning up to matches a few years ago? Germans based in Tubbercurry I think.
    They weren't Germans but I’m nearly sure they were two brothers from Tubbercurry. Only saw them at one game vs. Galway United in the cup they had a Tri-colour with some kind of fascist symbol on it. The cúnts were trying to start trouble with the United fans. Hope they never return

Giving the northies abuse for being brits is done purely because its close to the bone, much like calling us homeless. It's not racism , we're not abusing them for being of a particular race, derry fans aren't a lot "like" Irish people, they are 100% bona fide Irish people, but unfortunately they are confined to a state that doesn't represent them, or in football terms are in a position to be unmercifully abused to high heavens.
    Have to agree with that, although I don't engage in it, it's just banter.

Never heard any actual racist comments but have seen latent racism at the Showgrounds.

123 Posts
    I assume its still ok to abuse refs otherwise whats the sense in going
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Never heard any actual racist comments but have seen latent racism at the Showgrounds.
    So how did you know?

Back when we played Cork in the cup in Turners Cross (10 years ago maybe?), there was quite a bit of what you would call 'anti English and Dutch sentiment', as well as one fella being racist about one of our players.Also, Peter Cubbeson kept getting called a fa**ot.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post

What I meant was that they alot more like Irish people then British people, yet we still give them abuse over it.
    I'm not exactly fond of this one, but it seems to be lost on you, Superfrank. As northsidehoop said, by and large Derry fans are as Irish as you and I. They're secure in their identity, it's called banter. It's not my preferred form of banter, but that's all it is.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast