Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: Work continues at Corrib gas terminal site

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    I mean these articles never have any real sources. They always use phrases like "it is believed" without saying who "it is believed" by.
    yah i get ya could be the spindoctors earning their crust sometimes i think the whole world is existing on 'SPIN' nothing is 'REAL' anymore

I think the obstructors should be arrested & forced to give undertaking to obey the law. The state was too soft on the Rossport 5 releasing them while in contempt of court. Clearly being soft on law breakers encourages them to continue to break the law...

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I think the obstructors should be arrested & forced to give undertaking to obey the law. The state was too soft on the Rossport 5 releasing them while in contempt of court. Clearly being soft on law breakers encourages them to continue to break the law...

Yeah I think we know what you think Pete.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

im all for peacefull protest but this isnt they have attacked cops and the workers who are just trying to make a living .

cops have been taken away from where they are needed to drag these morons of the street .Glin in co. limerick has been left with out any gaurds .

what im ****ed off about is that the goverment gave away this massive resorce of natural gas worth trillions and while bord gais up there prices yet again .

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    im all for peacefull protest but this isnt they have attacked cops and the workers who are just trying to make a living .
    The cops attacked the protesters. There have been plenty of media lies about protesters threatening people etc. but no evidence of such. Media reports are always from "a unnamed source". Have a look at the link I posted to the coverage of the coverage in one of my earlier posts.

cops have been taken away from where they are needed to drag these morons of the street .Glin in co. limerick has been left with out any gaurds
    As I've said, Shell's private boot boys.
    Blame the government and their ideological outlook, not the protesters.

what im ****ed off about is that the goverment gave away this massive resorce of natural gas worth trillions and while bord gais up there prices yet again .
    Agreed. Join the dots with the above so.

I am going to split the socialism debate into a new thread. As a Moderator I am never off topic (I can just change thread title)

The cops attacked the protesters. There have been plenty of media lies about protesters threatening people etc. but no evidence of such. Media reports are always from "a unnamed source". Have a look at the link I posted to the coverage of the coverage in one of my earlier posts.

As I've said, Shell's private boot boys.
    Blame the government and their ideological outlook, not the protesters.
    well i saw it with my own eyes a protester striking a gaurd so thats clearly true.

if i was laying on the driveway in front of your house stopping you from going to work what would you do ??

if you try to move me yourself you could end up with an assault charge so you call the gaurds who would pick me up ,move me and let you go about your day .

thats all thats happening here shell cant move them themselves as they would get the arses sued of them, so they call the gaurds who are then being accussed of assault .... im sorry its not assault for a gaurd to take you off the main road ..its common sence .

well i saw it with my own eyes a protester striking a gaurd so thats clearly true.
    You could be lying. I don't know you so how do I know you're not. Even if what you are saying is true there might be a context and it is nothing to the mass assault the cops have carried out on protesters.

if i was laying on the driveway in front of your house stopping you from going to work what would you do ??
    That isn't what is happening here they are blocking the site not the workers' homes

thats all thats happening here shell cant move them themselves as they would get the arses sued of them, so they call the gaurds who are then being accussed of assault .... im sorry its not assault for a gaurd to take you off the main road ..its common sence .
    Thats not all the Gardaí are doing. They're actually beating up protesters. Protesters have ended up in Casualty - not big burley men mind, aul fellas and women, no Gardaí have.
    I have had first hand experience of "justice" Gardaí style. When it comes to policing protests the Gardaí are thugs (once the numbers are stacked in their favour).

[QUOTE=BohsPartisan;558529]

That isn't what is happening here they are blocking the site not the workers' homes

QUOTE]

fine what would you do if i was laying on the road into your work ?

[QUOTE=BohsPartisan;558529]

QUOTE]

plus context or not if they weren't breaking the law the law wouldnt have to remove them , its an offence to make a public nusance of yourself no matter how right you think you are .

do you think the cops honestly want to be there getting abused by these people , dragging old women off the streets .

while im sure some cops are heavy handed these people are asking for it so ive no sympathy at all

[QUOTE=anto1208;558562][QUOTE=BohsPartisan;558529]

Its a daft proposition. If you were laying there because the organisation I work for was endangering your life I would say fair play to you, then I would use my union branch comittee position to try and get our union to back you and presurise the employers into desist from whatever they were doing to endanger your life, your family, your community or whatever.

[QUOTE=BohsPartisan;558796][QUOTE=anto1208;558562]

Its a daft proposition. If you were laying there because the organisation I work for was endangering your life I would say fair play to you, then I would use my union branch comittee position to try and get our union to back you and presurise the employers into desist from whatever they were doing to endanger your life, your family, your community or whatever.

im not a member of a union i work hard for my money

While i agree with that statement lets try keep it on topic.

From what I can tell this is what is happening:

Protestors are blocking the entrance to the Shell construction site.
    Gardai try to remove the protestors by picking them up or dragging them (no other way to do this).
    They will get scratches from being dragged on the ground.
    If the protestors resist by pushing the gardai or other means then they can be arrested for attacking the gardai.

This is a law & order issue, the gardai have no option but to do what they are doing & seems they are being as reasonable as can be expected.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    While i agree with that statement lets try keep it on topic.

Gardai try to remove the protestors by picking them up or dragging them (no other way to do this).
    They will get scratches from being dragged on the ground.
    There are pictures on Indymedia of a female protester being grabbed by the throat by a Garda and pictures of the marks on her throat afterwards. Did I not post the link to that? I've been at a sit down protest before where the Gardaí did not drag people away (which is what you expect and accept) bu tcame in hitting people who were defenseless with their batons. Of course they had removed their numbers. You expect to get dragged away. The usual thing is to make it hard for them rather than actually fight back.

There are pictures on Indymedia of a female protester being grabbed by the throat by a Garda and pictures of the marks on her throat afterwards.
    Good enough for her to be honest

If this is true, it's nice to see the guards are finally starting to get fed up. Their lily-livered approach to the whole thing so far was starting to grate. Water Cannon and riot police should have been deployed up there weeks ago

Didn't these protesters mammys ever tell them there's no use crying over spilt milk? Stopping people doing their jobs and intimidating people over spilt milk would be ridiculous if it wasn't so dangerous

Good enough for her to be honest
    I have to say that is a dispciable attitude and if it happened your wife or mother you wouldn't be too happy about it. The woman was engaged in a peaceful protest. If they drag her out of the way fair enough but grabbing her by the throat? If you think that's ok I hope you are someday the victim of police brutality.

As for the "intimidation", you are still believing media lies even though you know the media lie about people in Limerick?

I have to say that is a dispciable attitude and if it happened your wife or mother you wouldn't be too happy about it. The woman was engaged in a peaceful protest. If they drag her out of the way fair enough but grabbing her by the throat? If you think that's ok I hope you are someday the victim of police brutality.

As for the "intimidation", you are still believing media lies even though you know the media lie about people in Limerick?
    Of course I've been the victim of police brutality. It all depends on what you define as brutality though because with the benefit of hindsight I probably deserved it at least half the times

My wife or mother wouldn't be stupid enough or pig-headed enough to get into that situation in the first place.

Peaceful protest my eye - They're OBSTRUCTING work

Quite frankly if you don't want to be caught by the throat don't get involved in idiotic protests

As for the intimidation I believe my fathers friend who called to the house the other day. He doesn't work for Shell, he's not American, he's not a PD, hes not the devil, he's just an ordinary man who lives in county Mayo and is disgusted by what he's seen and heard in his locality. Now maybe he's a liar, maybe all the people who have spoken to him are liars. But isn't it just as likely that the "protesters" are liars..........

He could well be disgusted by something he's "heard" but who's to say if what he's heard is true or not. Who's to say how easily he gets disgusted. Thats the beauty of hearsay.
    Obstruction does not = violence. Was Ghandi a violent protester. Martin Luther King? Yet these were tactics he espoused. When cops beat up people they are breaking the law but who are you going to complain to? The cops? Give me a break.

He could well be disgusted by something he's "heard" but who's to say if what he's heard is true or not. Who's to say how easily he gets disgusted. Thats the beauty of hearsay.
    Obstruction does not = violence. Was Ghandi a violent protester. Martin Luther King? Yet these were tactics he espoused. When cops beat up people they are breaking the law but who are you going to complain to? The cops? Give me a break.
    Who's to say what you hear isn't lies? Who's to say how easily you get disgusted? The beauty of hearsay indeed......

Where did I say obstruction = violence??

You want to know what else Obstruction doesn't equal? - Protest

Are you seriously trying to compare the various ranchers, middle-class types and busy bodies protesting in Mayo with Gandhi and Martin Luther King

Don't get me wrong I never had much time for Dr. King but cripes man

I stand by my opinoin that that "protester" got what was coming to her. If she wasn't there it wouldn't have happened and quite frankly the guards have shown unbelieveable restraint throughout, Although whether they would have showed such restraint if faced with a working class crowd is debateable and possibly an issue for another day

If she wasn't there it wouldn't have happened and quite frankly the guards have shown unbelieveable restraint throughout, Although whether they would have showed such restraint if faced with a working class crowd is debateable and possibly an issue for another day
    I can't believe what I'm reading.
    1. I personally know people who have been at the solidarity camp in Rossport. I believe what they say because I know they have witnessed this first hand. They have no track record of lying and don't see why they would start now.
    2. As I said I have first hand experience of police brutality at peaceful protests.
    3. Obstruction can = protest it is a valid tactic which is often used (I mentioned MLK because he espoused this tactic)
    4. The Morris tribunal has attested to the fact that the cops are corrupt, plant evidence, fabricate testimony etc.

Join the dots.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast