Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Game on TG4 last nite was a credit

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    It happened to us, and we still go. So who's the best fans in the country?
    Finn Harps have been in the First Division for all bar six (or thereabouts)of the last 20years.

In that time we've suffered five play-off defeats (two of those on penalties), lost a cup final after two replays and have come within a whisker of going bust and are currently experiencing quite a difficult time in terms of finance.

We've also had a massive turnover in managers in that time and our ground is a tip yet we still go. And all we have to show for this is one First Division title, a First Division Cup and a buckin Irish News Cup....

We still go though - mypost, Rovers aren't the only ones to have gone through a tight spell. Come off that high horse of your's there like a good lad
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by harpskid View Post
    Finn Harps have been in the First Division for all bar six (or thereabouts)of the last 20years.

We've also had a massive turnover in managers in that time and our ground is a tip yet we still go. And all we have to show for this is one First Division title, a First Division Cup and a buckin Irish News Cup....
    Been in the First so long I can't even remember off the top of my head

Oh, and our ground (assuming we have a ground from one season to the next) is a bigger tip than yours so there!

In the last 20 years:
    As Dancingpants has pointed out, you only use 20 years because it suits your purposes. So I'll do likewise with a 35 year time frame, and answer your questions in that light :

Was your ground taken from you, in a cold and callous fashion?
    - Yes. We were prevented from using it on the supposed security expertise of the Irish League Management Committee, even though their opinions were in direct contrast to the professional security experts (army and police).

Was your existence threatened more than once?
    - Yes. As recently as only a few years ago as well.
    - And unlike Rovers, we were actually forced out of existence, and actively prevented from coming back by the IFA/Irish league. Yet we still came back undeterred.
    - If Rovers do disappear for 13 years and the FAI consistently stops you from returning, let's see if you still manage to make it back anyway....

Were you homeless during that time?
    - Yes. But unlike Rovers, we didn't have the luxury of numerous other grounds within a 5-10mile radius that we could use (Dalymount, Tolka, Richmond, Morton) and invariably fall-out with the owners of (Dalymount, Richmond). We had to travel 40 miles away for our home games at one stage.

Did you not win a league title/cup?
    - Not sure what this question is meant to be saying. We've won plenty of trophies in the last 35 years thanks - even though we were out of existence for 13 of them... .
    - If you're saying that you can only be good fans if your team has been crap, then I make no apologies for the fact that my team has by-and-large avoided such mediocrity. Winning nothing makes you neither a good team nor good fans.

Did you enter examinership?
    - Different procedures north of the border, so no.
    - We did come very close to ending in receivership, but our fans rallied around and saved us. Which is what good fans do.
    - Having ended-up in receivership is far from a thing to celebrate, even if your fans did come to the rescue afterwards.

Were you relegated?
    - No. So fcuk ?
    - We came within an extra time goal of it though.
    - Being crap is nothing to celebrate. Does a team now need to drop to a medicore level before its fans can be considered any good...? Have you been having therapeutic chats with Man City fans again or something...?

So who's the best fans in the country?
    Don't ask me - I just conveyed the opinion of the majority of foot.ie posters in the last few threads we've had on this. Why don't you rant at them then ?

Though to help guide us both to an answer on your question, let's consider the following with regards to both our teams :

- Is there a dramatically increased Garda presence when your team visits grounds in the Republic?
    - Does your team have a wannabe holligan element ?
    - Do your team's fans tend to receive primarily positive, neutral or negative coverage in the media ?
    - Do the fans of your team ahve a reputation for causing trouble when they visit the other's ground ?

Cuz causing trouble at games makes you great fans, just so long as you've had to suffer relegation....
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 02/10/2006 at 9:46 AM.

30 Posts
    girls, girls, please, less of the shrieking and hand bag stuff.

Back on topic. Game was rubbish on Saturday night. The hoofball made it near unbearable but a credit to TG4, Athlone and Rovers fans.

On the Irish language; well there is bound to be a few ex or current eL players who would be able to do the analysis tri mhean Gaeilge.

Any ex Irish internationals maybe?

And this affected LOI football in what way??

In the last 20 years:

Was your ground taken from you, in a cold and callous fashion?
    Was your existence threatened more than once?
    Were you homeless during that time?
    Did you not win a league title/cup?
    Did you enter examinership?
    Were you relegated?

Don't think so.

It happened to us, and we still go. So who's the best fans in the country?
    SNAP! To all of the above except the examinership part!

This is like the EL equivalent of the Monty Python "We were so poor . . ." sketch.
    Every set of fans think they're great. Even the muppet Ireland fans, who call themselves the best in the world when they're probably the exact opposite.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    On the Irish language; well there is bound to be a few ex or current eL players
    who would be able to do the analysis tri mhean Gaeilge.

Any ex Irish internationals maybe?
    Garreth Farrelly has a cupla focail

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    This is like the EL equivalent of the Monty Python "We were so poor . . ." sketch.
    Every set of fans think they're great. Even the muppet Ireland fans, who call themselves the best in the world when they're probably the exact opposite.
    But the real comedy is the ones who have the worst hooligan reputation thinking that they're somehow still the best fans regardless of that !

I'm sure Milwall and Lazio fans think they're great as well...

dfccsteve: that reputation bears no relation to the reality. But, of course, never let the truth get in the way of a prejudice.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    Mypost the more posts of yours I read the more I become convinced you are a complete wind up merchant.
    You're only realising that now??

BTW my scarf is cleaner than yours.

DCFCsteve give it a rest. Comparing us to nazio is a new low.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Comparing us to nazio is a new low.

Let's ask irishwisper what he thinks
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

71 Posts
    How was the game a credit to the league? Am I the only one who thinks those pitch invasions would actually deter the average viewer from changing their mind and attending an eL game?

3,491 Posts
    Saw the first-half analysis/highlights and watched the second half in the Oak Grove up in Derry and, while having a few pints and talking away, I thought it was a very entertaining game. Which, I think, demonstrates just how valuable a proper highlights show is to the league.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    How was the game a credit to the league? Am I the only one who thinks those pitch invasions would actually deter the average viewer from changing their mind and attending an eL game?
    Yes you are!

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Yes you are!
    No he isn't

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Mypost the more posts of yours I read the more I become convinced you are a complete wind up merchant.
    Wrong.

The only reason you do so is to suit your own argument
    Wrong again.

How can you place a time frame on it?
    The poster I replied to, put a timeframe in his own post.

I especially love your "Did you not win a league title/cup" in the last 20 years argument: Rovers won the league in 87, 94, Runners Up 02. They won the cup in 86, 87 Runners Up 91, 02. Even the League Cup ye were Runners Up 87, 88, and 99. Basically Rovers have more to show for the last 20 years than the vast majority of teams in the league.

Since losing our ground, we have won 1 league title, and no FAI/League Cups. Coming second doesn't count.

From what i can see the Premier is doing just fine without you, and the 1st Division done just fine beforeyou got relegated.
    Since leaving the Premier, carnage has resulted. Amongst other things, A club has folded, clubs have no game some weeks, games are postponed regularly, crowds have shrunk.

Doing fine without us alright.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

70 Posts
    Then you wonder why you play in empty grounds every week

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    Then you wonder why you play in empty grounds every week
    What, because our fans don't act the scumbag every week?

Since leaving the Premier, carnage has resulted. Amongst other things, A club has folded, clubs have no game some weeks, games are postponed regularly, crowds have shrunk.
    I didn't realise all that was down to Shamrock Rovers being relegated

70 Posts
    Because if you mix up over exuberance with being a scumbag your
    obviously not used to that level of passion or excitement.
    When you equalise in the cup with 5 mins to go or score the winner
    in the last min sometimes you lose control of your emotions.
    Athlone should have won, but we didnt only get a replay we won
    There was nothing untoward went on no one was injured or hit the only
    thing that was hurt we ATFC's feelings

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast