Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Limerick Match Thread

slightly off topic here but:

As we all agree the one thing that annoys us the most is the fact that we are very inconsistant, so I decided to check out when was the last time we actually won 5 games in a row and I had to go back as far as November 1985 when we finished second in the premier league behind Rovers of coarse!

55 Posts

good point

hughsie the stalwart united fan mentioned that to me alright in rathbane,
    lets hope it continues. Young cooke done really well last night as well when he came on. carter and foley are not exactly cultured midfielders, foley kept giving the ball away again yet he done trojan ball retrieving work last nite, but add in russell with his football brain and they have the makings of a strong unit

A splendid result - roll on Rovers. It will be a night to savour in Terryland and that hasn't happened for a while. I wouldn't have envisaged when we limped past Kildare five games ago that we'd go on and win the next four as well - fair play to all concerned.
    Great to see John Russell back - he has rare class at this level when it all falls into place.

Terry i asked that question on the bus yesterday.When was the last time we won five ina row?Nobody knew!

Yesterday was probably the best GUFC experience all year!
    4 goals in 5 minutes was phenomenal-we actually couldn't believe what we we're seeing!

Only downside was the performance form some quarters left alot to be desired!!You wouldn't have known Lims had ten men for nearly the entire game!
    Still when people open the Sentinel or whatever on Tuesday and see Limerick 1 UTD 5 terryland is guaranteed a bumper crowd next friday!

"BRING ON THE ROVERS!!!!"
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Unreal, it will go down as one of greatest away trips ever. we were far from impressive before the first goal went in but that hardly matters now.we hadnt stopped celebrating the 1st when we scored again and again and again............. Great craic in little Brazil on the way up and fibbers after.Sore heads all round this morning I'd say.BRING ON THE ROVERS!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Congrats to David O'Dowd, who wrote himself into the United history book with the quickest hatrick by a United player, a record unlikely to be broken. Congrats to Tony Cousins for making things happen, unlike other managers who wait for them to happen, by changing formation and "emptying out" the bench. It was smart move to change to a 3-5-2 formation for the second half after Limerick had a player sent off . It didn't look like it was going to work and it seemed to cause confusion among the Utd players with Derek O'Brien at one stage playing at centre half. There was a sigh of relief among Utd fans when Gethins equalised then Cousins introduced Russell for Foley and everything changed utterly. Murphy and Russell took control of midfield and Utd started playing the ball through the centre of the Limerick defence.

Congrats to the young United supporters with their continental stlye chanting and drumming. It certainly impressed the Limerick supporters standing near me. It was only right that the players and manager went over at the end of the game to applaud them for their efforts. It was very hard trying to send text messages as United went on their goal scoring spree.

United were unlucky to go in one nil down at half time. Gethins was unlucky when he had a shot cleared off the line and Derek and Cretaro went close with their efforts.

ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE RESULT LAST NIGHT. Was in Hogan Park and i have never ever felt so happy at a galway united match or anywhere else for that matter. UNREAL. lets hope we can make it 6 wins on the trot next week.

BRING ON THE ROVERS
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

EIRCOM LEAGUE FIRST DIVISION SEP 30
    ........................P W D L F A Pts
    Galway Utd .......29 14 11 4 42 20 53
    Dundalk ............29 16 5 8 43 28 53
    Shamrock R .......27 14 11 2 35 10 50
    Cobh Rmbls .......28 12 9 7 39 25 45
    Limerick FC .......28 12 4 12 31 37 40
    Finn Harps ......28 9 9 10 43 35 36
    Kildare Co .........28 9 8 11 28 41 35
    Athlone Tn ........28 9 6 13 19 29 33
    Monaghan U ......29 5 8 16 26 53 23
    Kilkenny C .........29 3 7 19 19 46 16

here is the updated table after dundalk beat cobh this evening 3-2 in cobh. Dundalk could yet turn out to be our main rivals for the title? The pressure is now on rovers to convert the games in hand into points.

that league table looks sweet now but how much sweeter will it look if we can beat the rovers on friday. this is going to be the biggest game in terryland in quite some time. should be a sell-out after limerick.

hogan park

got there and couldnt believe the turnout from the locals so poor - hardly 200 there

the ground and the area around it has so much potential and it would be great for the league if there was a strong team in the city

anyway the match - united had total control once they had there man sent off - and once again we couldnt punish them for twenty minutes it was long range efforts

limerick in fairness to them, took the ball down and passed it nicely when they did have it - with all efforts going forwards it was no surprise they hit us on the break

united then started to go more long ball - with probably the shortest strike fore in the league - sickening stuff - like they were panicking with the half ending

then tony went 3-5-2 again we dominated but no end product - and we got the deflected cross for the first goal a bit of luck

russell came on the passes flowed and the chances came - absolute delierium never seen anything like it in a football game

was raf injured or just knackered - fran had one of his worst games - couldnt get control of the ball at all and foley misplaced passes all over the place

mick looks sluggish - frawley poor poor poor decision making

could have been very different but limerick were that bad in the match we got away with it

a lot sharper tighter and composed for the rovers - what a hat trick o dowd chased everything down thoroughly deserved it
    more water!

Ya agree thought Fran and Nigel had abysmal matches.Mick was out of position so you can't criticise him too much but the goal did come from his side....limerick player had an eternity to head it into the net!

Europe's Big Club.

perfomance wasnt great but the 3pts is all that dat matters. I thought Cookie did really well when he came on along with Russell who pulled the strings for the last 10 minutes. Raf played well,he deserved a rest. great atmosphere lst nite and roll on the Rovers on friday!!!
    The future's bright......maroon and white

yea should have said that - cookie did very well up the wing with possesion and cut backs when he came on

were talking to a limerick fan after - giving out complete stink against the chairman there in limerick

giving us a warning bout the rovers coming to galway the next day - as were the boys in the pub beforehand - spotted dog (great guinness) not the steering wheel

seems they caused a right bit of trouble when they went to hogan park last time
    more water!

then again thats just the limerick version. all the limerick fans are going to say rovers started it and the rovers fans will say it was the limerick fans. rovers fans were sound last time in galway and i've no idea why that wouldnt be the case again

jesus dont get me wrong - im not trying to stir it up at all - just thought it was strange that both groups made a point about telling us about the rovers boys

im sure these guys were a minority
    more water!

anybody care to give an estimate for the attendance last friday?

around 200-250, seriously small crowd

as i said earlier - hardly 200
    more water!

there was thirty across the pitch - about 20 dugout side and then utd fans and the local spare change in the stand
    more water!

250 with around 60-80 Galway fans.Noticed alot of randomers along the far side...good to see!

Europe's Big Club.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast