Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Galway -v- Rovers

youd hope that if the allocation wasnt going to be used - SRFC would notify GUFC and they would be sold

this sounds very like the last time when rovers were on their way down - 200-300 were coming - and we were expecting 2500 etc. etc.

probably wont sell out - maybe more than last time for sure - but you can always expect the fairweather crowd to forget to buy their ticket or not know it was all ticket etc.

either way there is going to be plenty of atmosphere down here the next night
    more water!

75 Posts
    tickets are selling like hotcakes lads its only wednesday morning and zhivago have sold out twice already and over 200 sold in Terryland which is not the most accesible place for fans. Sitting in B'fast Airport wishing i was staying home but the fixtures werent even out whwn i booked for Cyprus so ill just have to make do with an internet cafe in ayia napa and BOC's dulcet tones.

Dont forget Jersey day 2 and let me here you all loud and proud in Ayia Napa.Good luck to Tony and the lads but dont forget there is 6 more cup finals after friday so Keep the Maroon Flag Flying High. Didnt bring the flags to Cyprus they will be our spirit in Terryland!!!!!!

C'mon United

P.S. Pa make sure Ronan keeps in touch with the Loughrea and Athenry Outlets.

Quote Originally Posted by thescoringgoals View Post
    and hopefully ill be able to get it onto youtube during the weekend,our game away vrs shams earlier this season is on youtube already,it came out well,fair play to whatever shams fan put it up there.
    i had to correct a few people who were calling fridays game the "title decider",its hardly that with 6 games left for us and 8 for shams and dundalk who wont go away either.youd forget that theres just 3 points to play for and yet it seems to have more hype then the playoff final home leg a few years ago,weird.would 6 wins in a row be a club record??heres hoping.
    Rovers pal Rovers.

There'll be a camera there anyway I presume. Camera there last time but they never showed it

54 hours and counting
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Should be a cracker! As a lilywhite don't know whether I want a draw or a Galway win! First time in Terryland so looking forward to it!

if this is going to be your first game in terryland you've picked an absolute cracker. there is going to be one of the biggest crowds in the past few years and there is so much hype about this game around the city and county that terryland is going to be hopping.
    A home win would give us six wins on the bounce but more importantly it will give us the 6 point lead over rovers with dundalk here in 2 weeks time.

Bring on the rovers, the 3 points and the summit of the league come friday night
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

FAO nyhoop,

NYHOOP:i know there will be a camera there(there has been for most home games this season),its just gonna be a little experiement of mine to see how it turns out amd if its on youtube it can be watched over and over as opposed to 1 showing of 20 seconds of highlights at midnight on monday on tv3.
    NYHOOP:no offence meant by calling ye "shams",its not meant in the "tuam" sense of the word ,just a shortened version of yer name.
    i really hope with all this hype that this game wont be a dull 0-0 draw,my first lesson in games not living up to the hype was the 96 FA cup final between liverpool and man utd,so much hype,so much talk,then what a poor dull game it turned out to be.so i just hope fridays game doesnt turn out the same way.

Is there a roof over the rovers fans on friday in case it rains :d

therell be a roof for whoever gets down early enough - and it looks like rain!!!
    more water!

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish Fan View Post
    Is there a roof over the rovers fans on friday in case it rains :d

Yes. Section F (I think) of the stand has been allocated to visiting supporters. It's just inside the main entrance to Terryland Park.

Game is also live on Galway Bay FM and on the net at www.galwaybayfm.ie
    Be warned that the broadcast may well be slightly biased and inaudible to delicate eardrums. Also, Galwegian colloquialisms might confuse non-locals.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JW
    There'll be no problem fitting that crowd in. Think of the amount of people the back of the stand behind the seats hold. There's also a fair bit of room behind both goals. People are grossly over-reacting to the ticket situation.
    Looks like a repeat of the game at Terryland in March '86, when Galway and Rovers were going gung-ho for the Premier Division. The Galway board built special one-off scaffolding for the game there, to cope with the demand from the locals . We were 3-0 up by half time, won the game, and a month later, beat Galway to the title.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by DvB View Post
    I have to say i'm really looking forward to the game friday, hopefully it'll have the crowd as widely predicted here & a decent game into the bargain.

In relation to the potential for trouble, if we're treated as we were earlier in the season i'd be pretty confident you'll get no hassle from the travelling hooperazi,
    Koh
    just a quick question for you.If you dont get your own way,you lot will cause trouble??

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fc hammer
    just a quick question for you.If you dont get your own way,you lot will cause trouble??
    Last edited by mypost; 05/10/2006 at 2:26 AM.

Ten Years Not Out

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Camera there last time but they never showed it
    I saw enough when I was there.

Quote Originally Posted by thescoringgoals
    A home win would more importantly give us the 6 point lead over rovers...
    ...which may be wiped out in 10 days, after our 3 home games played.

Ten Years Not Out

Just heard Kevin Moran doing an ad on GBFM for the game on friday! is this new?
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

was up in terryland yesterday evening getting the last few tickets for everyone and I have to say that I never seen the pitch look so good. Fantastic work by Noel Connolly and everyone else involved, well done.

Quote Originally Posted by thescoringgoals View Post
    NYHOOP:i know there will be a camera there(there has been for most home games this season),its just gonna be a little experiement of mine to see how it turns out amd if its on youtube it can be watched over and over as opposed to 1 showing of 20 seconds of highlights at midnight on monday on tv3.
    NYHOOP:no offence meant by calling ye "shams",its not meant in the "tuam" sense of the word ,just a shortened version of yer name.
    i really hope with all this hype that this game wont be a dull 0-0 draw,my first lesson in games not living up to the hype was the 96 FA cup final between liverpool and man utd,so much hype,so much talk,then what a poor dull game it turned out to be.so i just hope fridays game doesnt turn out the same way.
    Couldnt care less about any foreign clubs really. But take your point re hyped up games.

Hammer I know you limerick fans have a chip on your shoulder with all things Rovers (as was infamously pointed out in your match programme against us)but that is a stupid question. The point is when you are treated like **** it leaves a sour taste in the mouth. Galway fans treat us properly. That would mean not throwing stones at us during the game.

there was actually a big televised game on that day in 86 - involving some foreign clubs! think it was man u and someone else. i remember with fondness the rovers fans in the old stand singing
    'you can shove your english football up your asre!'
    a classic chant!!!

my brother couldn't make out what they were saying and thought it was -
    put the sugar in your cocoa and stir it up
    not a bad chant either - but hardly relevant

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Just heard Kevin Moran doing an ad on GBFM for the game on friday! is this new?

Where the f€ck have you been? Vietnam?

These ads are yonks old. There are others with Ronnie Whelan and Keeny Dalglish too.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Where the f€ck have you been? Vietnam?

These ads are yonks old. There are others with Ronnie Whelan and Keeny Dalglish too.
    Kenny Dalglish doing a radio ad!!!! does it have subtitles?!!!!!!!!!!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast