Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Thread: Galway -v- Rovers

75 Posts
    im listening in cyprus sweat running down my back dont know how ill last 45 mins more cmon united

That's it. 1-0 FT Galway. That's 6 wins in a row. Way to go Tribesmen.

55 Posts

Thumbs up what a result

for the boys in cypress here is a bit of a biased report, Ref gave us nothing, some awful crude late challenges from rovers and no one got booked yet he books our players for celebrating a goal. Poor Alan keane has a very serious injury out for rest of season i didnt see that tackle. Gethins was excellent, dowd and gethins missed two sitters before we scored. Derek scored just on the stroke of half time. goughy clery, wes, dowd gethins, and raf were excellent, fran not so great russell cam on for foley and cookie came on for derek, Nigel came on for alan keane in first half. Harps now next week nothing easy in this league, Super crowd hardly a seat in the house
    no more than GUFC as a club deserves, nights like these

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geezer
    Ref gave us nothing,
    ...except enough injury time in the first half for yous to score the winner.

he books our players for celebrating a goal.
    He wasn't booked for celebrating, but for deliberately kicking the ball away (to the touchline) when he got back into his own half.
    That's us finished with Dundalk and Galway this season, and as we play twice at home before Galway play again, we have an early chance to recover the ground lost lately, and (albeit temporarily) go back top.
    Last edited by mypost; 07/10/2006 at 7:57 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

FYI mypost,

the reason the ref played so much injury time at the end of first half was because our right back broke his leg and took a few mins to get him off,that challenge was fine,both went for the ball etc,but some of the other tackles going in from ye guys were disgracefull and synical.
    it was 12 vrs 12 out there last night,the crowd was our 12th man while yers was the referee.
    still all to play for.

they ref played at least 7 minutes injury time at the end of the 2nd the board said 4 but he was really bustin a gut trying help rovers out. they could be playin till next week and they never would have scored!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Do you know I was wondering what I'd prefer from this game, a Galway win, a Rovers win, a draw or lightning to hit the pitch, but I have to say, given the clear weather last night I was happier to see a Galway win than a Rovers win. Now there's a roundabout congratulations if ever I saw one!

Great win for Galway last night. I hope ye win the league now lads since Cobh are all, but out of the running. Hope to see ye in the Premier next season. Hopefully the FAI thing goes yr way. Whatever way they choose who's going up and down. Would love to see Cobh up too, but can't see it happening.
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

7 To 8 Minutes Injury Time At The End Of The Game, Ref Gave Rovers Enough Chances But As It Was Said Above, Rovers Were Never Gonna Get Past Billy And Wes. The 2 Were Unbelievable All Night And All Rovers Could Do Was Shoot From Distance.
    In Saying The Two Boys Were Brilliant Might Be A Bit Unfair To The Rest As Every Player That Set Foot On The Pitch Ran Themselves Into The Ground.

Going Up As Champions
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

52 Posts
    Congrats to all involved!
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Some dirty challenges going in alright but Ciaran Foley put in plenty of them. no 19 and for rovers certainly put himself about as well. I thought rovers probably had more of the play but we had the better chances. Gethins was excellant up front and ran all night but he looked shattered for the last 15 minutes or so. O'Brien played well before he got injured also but united didnt get him on the ball as much as they probably should have. an excellant performance alround though.
    A question for rovers fans as well why do ye like that build me up buttercup song so much. Fair play to ye for singing but i nearly went round the twist listening to that for the whole of the first half.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon
    they ref played at least 7 minutes injury time at the end of the 2nd the board said 4 but he was really bustin a gut trying help rovers out. they could be playin till next week and they never would have scored!
    He played 49 minutes in the second half, but as the game was stuck in midfield for the last half hour, we couldn't get into the penalty area, never mind create a chance. I don't think the ref helped us at all, tbh. He played a lot longer then the time allocated at the end of the first half, and as a result, Galway scored, following terrible defending and goalkeeping.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

there was slighly more than 49 minutes played in the second half

Great result

Great result, great night, I had 3 young fellas me and they could hardly speak when they got home. Does anyone know what the attendence was?

3,092 official attendance. There were over 2,000 people in the stand, and certainly more than 1,100 outside it, so the actual figure had to be at least 3,500.

yeah id say there was definitely 3500 and ,maybe a bit more

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    3,092 official attendance. There were over 2,000 people in the stand, and certainly more than 1,100 outside it, so the actual figure had to be at least 3,500.
    3,092 paid in. Kids are free and there are season ticket holders too.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Great night all round. Great to see a sell-out in terryland, not too often that happens and not an ounce of trouble, segregation worked well, rovers fans were sound and ever (apart from during the last ten minutes of the game). Lets try and get a similar crowd up the dyke in two weeks time against Dundalk. Nice to see the Tifo flags back, and as I said in the other thread, how about putting the gufc flags up on the green mesh behind the car park goals, at least TV3 and the fair-weather fans would see them - they are class in all fairness.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

A few photos from last night have been uploaded to the Galway United group on Flickr:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/galwayunited

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=emXBqlBQBBQ
    a video of the Terryland crowd at friday's game singing Utd Utd Utd
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast