Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Biased Dublin Refs

If referee from Derry had made the same decisions against Shelbourne
    in a game at the Brandywell, there would be uproar.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sfc red View Post
    Jesus Christ, I find it hard to believe that anyone could be so stupid as to think that a referee would intentionally set out to try make the team from Dublin win. Cop yourself on for fuk sake
    Do you also believe that all the landbanks around Dublin were re-zoned for the good of the nation?

If the ref was simply incompetent, the bad decisions would even out. Tuite has been involved in 2 consecutive games & didn`t give us one break.

He even sent Darren Kelly off during a defensive free kick to clean off a small amount of blood.
    Last edited by OneRedArmy; 23/09/2006 at 9:23 AM.

Post match interviews Stephen Kenny alluded to an unfair disadvantage, having to scrape for everything in the leauge. Its funny how he is actually saying it now and we have been saying it for years aswell. It funny the way managers like Rico, Dolan and Kenny all were aware of the advantage in Dublin and never said a wrod but when they were on the receiving end of this imbalance, they despair at being restricted when trying to highlight it, at the mercy of rule changes etc. to try and silence it aswell.

Its funny isn't it !!

EL Refs. Biased ? I don't believe so. Completely and utterly incompetent ? Hell yes....

Anyone who says that Jennings deserved to be sent off self-evidently doesn't have a fcukin clue about the rules of football (and that includes Tuite). The rules are very clear - with the playing running away from goal and 2 City defenders behind the keeper when the incident happened, Jennings should've received a yellow card and a free kick against, but not a sending off. I don't give a fcuk about anyone's personal opinions on this - the rules are very clear on what should have happened. End of story.

I don't buy into conspiracy theories, but the refs are just complete and utter sh!te. The league has come on leaps and bounds in terms of its professionalism, but our refs haven't changed a bit. This point needs to be made very loudly and very clearly to the FAI.

This is the type of thing the NLSA should be looking to raise. Clubs can't criticise refs, as they risk fines etc. The fans, however, can. Why doesn't the NLSA write a letter to John Delaney stating that the level of refeering is now damaging the league, listing the more ridiculous decisions this year (Bohs goal, Bohs non-goal, Jennings sending off etc), and then press release the leter to the national media as well ? Papers will love the whole 'national fans representative body openly criticises refeering standards' angle. If the NLSA doesn't exist to tackle things like this, what does it exist for....?

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    After watching the Shels player hitting Brennan where he did, I believe it was an accidental brush, rather than a deliberate assault. So rightly, no action was taken.
    Is there a subsection for a Comedy POTM?
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

garyderry
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Post match interviews Stephen Kenny alluded to an unfair disadvantage, having to scrape for everything in the leauge. Its funny how he is actually saying it now and we have been saying it for years aswell. It funny the way managers like Rico, Dolan and Kenny all were aware of the advantage in Dublin and never said a wrod but when they were on the receiving end of this imbalance, they despair at being restricted when trying to highlight it, at the mercy of rule changes etc. to try and silence it aswell.

Its funny isn't it !!
    in fairness maybe all three genuienly didnt notice until being on the recieving end for a period of time, as with everyone's view on here, in one of matches it can easily be view as complete incompetence, and sometimes it is, re bohs v derry this year at dalymount. However when these managers are at cork/derry and its week in week out, and the same refs all the time,

Steve, im not stating there is a conspiracy and all that crap, as in organised (but if someone proved it i would be shocked either), but every single time certain specific refs FROM DUBLIN ref derry or cork, they personnally are biased, they to mess things up you have refs like kelly who are incompetent and on one off games can look biased one way or the other, however over a course of a season / couple of seasons screws everyone,

However, year after year, season after season there are are a few refs who show clear bias, tuite and stokes being the main two and they showed clearly again this week.

In any other league these muppets would be moved from referee when matches involving derry and cork. Tuite has been like that for as long been around, so has stokes, and everyone regularly following derry, the second they hear there names, are waiting for it, we are so used to it.

I wouldnt state conspiracy but a clear bias by individual refs, and anyone stating that referees dont have some sort of bias are deluding themselves.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post

He even sent Darren Kelly off during a defensive free kick to clean off a small amount of blood.
    Tip for OneRedArmy, in that incident the referee applied the rules, what do you want him to do - ignore them ? Make up your mind !

I'm looking forward to this bias on Sunday in Derry, I doubt we'll get it though somehow.

Funny all the Dubs here believe there is no biased refs, just bad.

Dub referees are rotten to the core, when refereeing Shels games.

Read a report on the game on the Shels site and you will read that Tuite also missed a cert penalty when Heary handed in the box.

But that's not biased just bad.

He could have given Jenning a yellow card, but give him a Red one

He could have given Forde a yellow card, but give him a Red one

He could have given Brennan a yellow card, but give him a Red one

He could have given Heary a Red card, but he ignored the punch he threw.

ALL these decisions went Shels way

But that's not biased just bad

Quote Originally Posted by 1Davy View Post
    Funny all the Dubs here believe there is no biased refs, just bad.

Dub referees are rotten to the core, when refereeing Shels games.

Read a report on the game on the Shels site and you will read that Tuite also missed a cert penalty when Heary handed in the box.

He could have given Jenning a yellow card, but give him a Red one

He could have given Forde a yellow card, but give him a Red one

He could have given Brennan a yellow card, but give him a Red one

He could have given Heary a Red card, but he ignored the punch he threw.

And what about all the decisons that have gone Derry's way.

Brennan's red card was fully merited. He lunged in making no attempt to win the ball and if he connected then he could have ended Heary's season.

Owen Heary didnt throw a punch against Brennan, he swung his arm and made barely more then minimal contact. Brennan made a meal of it and the ref knew it.

David Forde was dismissed on the actions of an assistant referee, not the match referee. I thought it was harsh but the goalkeeper did come out of his area and handle the ball.

You are going on like Derry never ever gained an advantage from shoocking refereeing decisions. If Shels lose the title by a few points will Derry, in the interest of fair play concede the title to Shels because Derry got a penalty for nothing against Bohs in July and subsequently 2 points more then they probably would have got? Will they fukk.

The standard of refereeing in the eircom league is appalling. Bohs have been on the receiving end of shockers that were plain wrong, Derry have been on the receiving end of referee's interpretations of the rules.

Get over it, you werent complaining when they were going your way so quit with this bullsh1t when they are not.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Wh...what? I'll tell you what Daniel, you address me in something more closely approximating to the language of your beloved sovereign and I might deign to proffer a response.
    In our beloved Sovereigns language could you explain what or who Dublin City are/were? ********!

I'm suprised the irony of you posting in English passed you by in the first place you Anglicised hure! Now, have you not got a dictionary you should be reading because your big words are very impressive.
    Last edited by EireBadBoy; 23/09/2006 at 3:52 PM.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

522 Posts
    Rubbish moved here. Keep it up lads, I'm looking forward to bannng ye.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by aido1895 View Post
    Tip for OneRedArmy, in that incident the referee applied the rules, what do you want him to do - ignore them ? Make up your mind !
    How about sending him off for treatment when the challenge occurred & the bleeding starter, not coincidentally at a random time later when defending a set piece

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Everyone has their own opinion on this and MHO is that refs are biased no question!! No amount of barking at how one ref done this or that will change my thinking!!

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    1. Pat Jennings red card was never a sending off in a million years!! Not only was the man goin away from goal but there were two derry defenders covering.
    100% definite red card. The keeper was 10 yards outside his box & his hand prevented the ball from advancing towards the goal. What other decision could the ref give.

2. David fordes red card was never a red card!! Again refs being biased towards dublin teams!
    Only saw the replay & brainless goalkeeping of the highest degree. Keepers have a penalty area for a reason. What was he doing outside the box? What other decision could the ref give? You cannot leave players off because they thick.

Everyone has their own opinion on this and MHO is that refs are biased no question!! No amount of barking at how one ref done this or that will change my thinking!!
    but your only saying they are biased about decisions that have gone against Derry, not the decisions that have gone your way

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    100% definite red card. The keeper was 10 yards outside his box & his hand prevented the ball from advancing towards the goal. What other decision could the ref give.

Only saw the replay & brainless goalkeeping of the highest degree. Keepers have a penalty area for a reason. What was he doing outside the box? What other decision could the ref give? You cannot leave players off because they thick.
    I think in your post you mixed up the two Pete but about the Jennings one i think it was a free kick and a yellow card. It doesnt matter if the keeper was outside his box, the rules are the same for keepers outside the box as a defender.

If it had been a defender made that tackle with the keeper and another defender behind him the ref would not have given a red card. Poor call, should have consulted the linesman

74 Posts
    but your only saying they are biased about decisions that have gone against Derry, not the decisions that have gone your way
    Thats prob because when we play a dublin club with a dublin ref we get very few if any decisions our way at all!! There are refs who are genuinely ****e but there are also those who are genuinely biased!!

74 Posts
    Naw because we dont have biased refs towards us when playing dublin clubs with dublin refs

37 Posts
    Last year, lowly Galway United had to go to Turners Cross for a Cup replay. Local ref, Alan Kelly officiated. Extra Time seemed likely as the minnows from the First Divison were standing up to Premier Divison leaders.

And then City got a penalty for nothing. The rest is history.

Cork referee bias? If there was a ref from Galway, Sligo, Derry, wherever, then he (or indeed she) should not be the ref.

Same can be said of Dublin refs when Dublin teams are playing. It's an age old story.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast