Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Biased Dublin Refs

Here's the Drogs lads freaking out about Stokes performance in the Drogs v BRay game tonight.

It's got nothing to do with Dublin clubs CTID. It's to do with crap refs.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Actually the ref was correct to send off Brennan and although I thought the red card for Forde was harsh if it happened up the far end you wouldnt be claiming the ref was biased.

You have been on the wrong end of some tough calls.

We have been robbed blind.

Derry have had their fair share of these decisions in their favour over the years. Didnt hear too many complainst coming from the Brandywell when they were going your way so time to suffer a few of these decisions against you
    If it happened up the far end it wud never have been given, thats my point!! As for brennan, it was a rash lunge but he never touched the player!! Yellow minimum!! Were was Heary's card??

We have been on the end of rediculous, biased calls, plain and simple!!

74 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    If it happened up the far end it wud never have been given, thats my point!! As for brennan, it was a rash lunge but he never touched the player!! Yellow minimum!! Were was Heary's card??

We have been on the end of rediculous, biased calls, plain and simple!!

they are biased decisions, they are just poor decisions, end of.

Brennan lunged in and could not possibly win the ball the way he tackeld Heary, it was a red card for violent conduct/dangerous foul play. Heary's retaliation was not acted upon when it should have been but the reaction of the Derry player was a theatrical one which probably made the ref think it was a bit of playacting.

If Derry had managed to get in behind Shelbourne's defence and the Shels keeper got sent off in the exact same circumstances would you claim it was a biased decision against Dublin clubs? You obviosuly feel Forde's red was totally unwarranted. I thought it was harsh but can understand why the ref did send him off.

Its time you understood that its not biased refereeing, the league is riddled with absolutely ****e refereeing. Derry have been the beneficiaries of plenty of these decisons and you werent on your high horse claiming biased officiating when that was happening.

Again I didnt hear too many complaints from Kenny when Alan Kelly gave you a free penalty and an extra 2 points on July 7th in Dalymount against Bohs.

74 Posts
    they are biased decisions, they are just poor decisions, end of.

Brennan lunged in and could not possibly win the ball the way he tackeld Heary, it was a red card for violent conduct/dangerous foul play. Heary's retaliation was not acted upon when it should have been but the reaction of the Derry player was a theatrical one which probably made the ref think it was a bit of playacting.

If Derry had managed to get in behind Shelbourne's defence and the Shels keeper got sent off in the exact same circumstances would you claim it was a biased decision against Dublin clubs? You obviosuly feel Forde's red was totally unwarranted. I thought it was harsh but can understand why the ref did send him off.

Its time you understood that its not biased refereeing, the league is riddled with absolutely ****e refereeing. Derry have been the beneficiaries of plenty of these decisons and you werent on your high horse claiming biased officiating when that was happening.
    Its a combination of ****e and biased!! I dont think u'll find many Derry fans who believe that when theya re playin a dublin club, notably shels the ref if from dublin is totally lenient!! If a manager who knows the LOI inside out and is IMO the best in the league, then it must be saying somethin! Altho it wasnt anythin to do with derry, cork played shels in the setanta cup last year and wen a header went towards goal and clearly didnt cross the line, the ref(Dave Mckeown, weres he from??) have a goal!!! HHHMMMMMMM!!! Is that poor refereeing or biased? I think u know my answer!!

74 Posts
    Alan Kelly
    And were is he from?? Wots the title??

Its a combination of ****e and biased!! I dont think u'll find many Derry fans who believe that when theya re playin a dublin club, notably shels the ref if from dublin is totally lenient!! If a manager who knows the LOI inside out and is IMO the best in the league, then it must be saying somethin! Altho it wasnt anythin to do with derry, cork played shels in the setanta cup last year and wen a header went towards goal and clearly didnt cross the line, the ref(Dave Mckeown, weres he from??) have a goal!!! HHHMMMMMMM!!! Is that poor refereeing or biased? I think u know my answer!!
    the ref didnt give the goal in that Cork v Shels game. The assistant Referee did.

I can remember Shels getting stung in Cork a few times in the past few seasons.

It isnt bias. Its pure ****e, end of.

I am sure there are plenty of times Shels feel they were screwed over by poor refereeing.

74 Posts
    I am sure there are plenty of times Shels feel they were screwed over by poor refereeing.
    Ollie prob forgot to pay them!!!

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    I can remember Shels getting stung in Cork a few times in the past few seasons.

Here chief, Shels get enough protection from the league, they don't need you to fight their battles for them too.

Oh and when its two Dublin teams - the Dublin refs decides who to play for when tossin' the coin.
    Last edited by dancinpants; 22/09/2006 at 11:37 PM.

38 Posts
    Yiz should stop listening to Stephen Kenny (or vice versa.) Talk of Dublin bias is ludicrous (for a start, eight out of ten refs would have red-carded both goalkeepers in similar circumstances, and they would have been right.)

An equally salient question is how Sean Hargan can commit three red card offences in five days and only have a booking and a sore shoulder to show for them.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    An equally salient question is how Sean Hargan can commit three red card offences in five days and only have a booking and a sore shoulder to show for them.
    hahah, very true. Good shout Sheridan.
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan View Post
    Yiz should stop listening to Stephen Kenny (or vice versa.) Talk of Dublin bias is ludicrous (for a start, eight out of ten DUBLIN refs would have red-carded both goalkeepers in similar circumstances, and they would have been right.)

Thats more like it.

Fordes hand ball was unintentional

Unless Pat two footed yer man he shouldn't have been straight red carded - two defenders behind him - so he certainly wasn't the last man.

38 Posts
    Wh...what? I'll tell you what Daniel, you address me in something more closely approximating to the language of your beloved sovereign and I might deign to proffer a response.

Okay, I think I've deciphered it now. Utterly irrelevant whether Jennings was the last man (in practice, "last" means "last but one" as it normally discounts the goalkeeper) - he denied Byrne a clear goal-scoring opportunity. As for Forde on Monday, when a 'keeper comes tearing out of his box and handles a shot which was bound anywhere in the same postcode as his goal, any referee is going to send him off. Did you hear his explanation afterwards? ("The ball bounced off my foot onto my arm and then Alan Moore took me out.") If it were up to me he'd get a second, retrospective red card for talking utter b0llocks.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

82 Posts
    Sheridan your lack of a team to follow is obviously resulting in your intepretation of the rules being a little rusty.

Taking the ball away from goal with 2 men back does not constitute a "clear goal scoring opportunity".

I`ve no qualms saying that individually, the 3 recent sendings off were marginal but believable. But taken together, along with Heary`s non-sending off by tonights chief clown, the whole thing stinks.

Whatever about the ridiculousness of "Dublin bias", there's a simple way to avoid it even being mentioned. Don't appoint Dublin referees to Dublin teams. I don't care how many refs are from Dublin, that's the FAI`s problem to sort out.

P.S. is the "Ridden Rock Solid by Dublin" club still accepting new members?

Quote Originally Posted by sfc red View Post
    Jesus Christ, I find it hard to believe that anyone could be so stupid as to think that a referee would intentionally set out to try make the team from Dublin win. Cop yourself on for fuk sake
    Yeah yer right, because its totally and utterly beyond the realms of possibility in THIS league

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die
    Many people on this forum may agree or disagree, but its plainly clear that Dublin referees are biased and anti outside dublin.

David fordes red card was never a red card!! Again refs being biased towards dublin teams!

How could Ian Stokes send someone off, running at them to show a red card and not see the player hitting his opponent in the privates. That for me is a red card. Hargy deserved to go on monday nite which the ref never gave(strangly!). Killian Brennan deserved at least a yellow too!
    Both the red cards in the League Cup Final were justified. Forde clearly handled the ball outside the box, so he has to go. Brennan's challenge was wild, dangerous, unnecessary given where the ball was, and could have caused a very bad injury to the opponent if he made contact, so he has to go too. After watching the Shels player hitting Brennan where he did, I believe it was an accidental brush, rather than a deliberate assault. So rightly, no action was taken.

I am not biased towards either side in it.

Hargan should have gone, again. Thats twice in 5 days against Shels he should have gone and didn't - THE REF'S CLEARLY A CHEAT AND OUT TO RIDE US ROCK SOLID! .

Biased, or inept? Personally, I'd go for inept. Shels fans spend enough time during games giving out about diabolical refereeing decisions, just like anyone else. Whats with the insane paranoia? Feeling the pressure?!

The two reds in the League Cup Final were unquestionable IMHO. Last night, a red was harsh, but footballs a cruel game. That doesn't mean Ollie was handing him notes before the game with significant monetary value (you'd probably be the first on here going on about how funny it is that we're in financial trouble, yet we still have enough to pay the refs apparently, despite struggling to pay our own players at times this year - at least we have our priorities straight, right?) - it means the referee either bottled it, or deemed it worthy of a red.

Every team gets poor decisions going for and against them, because the refs are poor (and importantly, incosistent). Bohs have had the worst of it by my reckoning of late, by far - but at least they have the common sense to put it down to inpetitude, rather than claiming cheats/bribes/etc in a delusional sense of paranoia. Is this really paranoia coming from the Brandywell, or the beginning of the excuses?
    God

43 Posts
    Whinge whinge whinge whinge whinge. Jeeez fellow Derry boys you are doing some gurning. Hargie should have been given a red on Monday and two yellows tonight. Forde handled the ball outside his box, in the speed of things the lino made the correct decision at the time, and the view shared on the terraces at the time was that he deserved to be sent off. Brennan could have broke Heary's legs. It was a definite red card. Jennings tonight was rash and I expected another red card when he made his tackle, if it happened at the Brandywell to Williams I would have been screaming for a red. However he could have stayed on the pitch - THAT'S FOOTBALL. The refs are awful,end of story. There is no bias. To claim there is, shows a real lack of reasoning. Every team in Ireland can claim the refs are bias as they are just awful.

Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Whinge whinge whinge whinge whinge. Jeeez fellow Derry boys you are doing some gurning. Hargie should have been given a red on Monday and two yellows tonight. Forde handled the ball outside his box, in the speed of things the lino made the correct decision at the time, and the view shared on the terraces at the time was that he deserved to be sent off. Brennan could have broke Heary's legs. It was a definite red card. Jennings tonight was rash and I expected another red card when he made his tackle, if it happened at the Brandywell to Williams I would have been screaming for a red. However he could have stayed on the pitch - THAT'S FOOTBALL. The refs are awful,end of story. There is no bias. To claim there is, shows a real lack of reasoning. Every team in Ireland can claim the refs are bias as they are just awful.
    Good post. Its football, in Ireland, refs are not exactly brilliant but to say its dublin bias is a load of my horses bollx.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast