A sligo bashing thread-i like!![]()
Jesus lads, such a bunch of whingers. The club got this great prize for FREE, they're hardly going to refuse to accept it!
A sligo bashing thread-i like!![]()
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
Ahh, you could have made a big song and dance about telling the west-brits to stick their stinking premiership tickets up their prawn sandwich. Then, Sligo Rovers, you would have been heroes to us all. But you let it pass. You let the Premiership boys buttfcuk you again and leave them think they're doing you a favour. Sure your lot are wearing Sunderland jerseys as it is. You're missing the big picture Sligoman.
www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football
Big picture is that you have to realise that there are soccer fans in Sligo that dont go to the games and this is one way that they will be attracted as a once off and hopefully stay. I think its a pity that the club are being attacked here for doing something to boost attendances which isnt costing them any money
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
If it gets people into the Showgrounds I don't see why people here are against it. It aims for a market that already has an interest in football and aims to get them into the ground where they'll hopefully enjoy themselves and come again. It might form a new habit for some of them.
It's not 'minnowism' or an inferiority complex to realise that interest in the premiership, especially for this sort of game is higher than in the eL in general- it's the truth FFS! Any progress the league might make will be made by persuading these people to come to eL games, not by abusing or even ignoring them.
Fair play to Sligo for trying this, I hope it's a big success. if all the clubs put a bit more effort into marketing the league would be in a better state.
The main criticism here should be aimed at Delaney.
What is the head of Irish football doing drooling over a prize like that ?!?! He would've been better advised to say nothing.
Sligo Rovers are trying to get barstoolers into the Showgrounds and I applaud them for it.
What do some people want them to do ? Take the high moral ground and refuse people entry unless they know who scored the winner in the 1983 FAI Cup final ?
FFS lads Sligo are getting money for nothing. No Irish team can afford to turn down an opportunity to make a few quid and if Sligo can manage to attract a few extra fans fair play to them.
Anybody here who thinks their club would have turned down the opportunity offered to Sligo is kidding themselves.
An original and thought-provoking promotion, and I think it's a good one.
It's very gratifying personal therapy to adopt a Taliban-like position on this, and to insist on the purity of the national league. But Sligo are playing a cleverer game that doesn't put the league in opposition to the Bungiership, but actually uses it to promote the game here.
If fans who drool over the Bungiership can be turned into fans who also go to Irish football, then that's ok with me.
Dont see what the problem is.
Sligo got the package for free, so any extra people that pay in and buy a ticket, even if they come once and never again, that money still is profit for Sligo.
With a bit of luck, some of those who come for the draw may see that LOI football isnt the crap they thought it was, and they might come back again - more money for Sligo.
To the arguement that this could cause football fans to throw away their money in England instead of supporting a eL team - if these people only come to have a chance of winning premiership tickets, then it is highly unlikely that they would ever have spent that money in eL football anyway.
On a separate note, will the club have any other activities on the night of the draw to try and convince any "once-off visitors" to come back for the next home game?
I dont see what the problem is...money for nothing as far as i'm concerned...i mean lots of people my age are going to this match and it just means their paying for a raffle ticket for 8 euro. and if they like what they see, hopefully they'll come back again and boost our attendance...i cant see what you are all fussing over apart from your own pride.
Sligo were given the chance to attract more people to The Showgrounds, at no cost. If it doesn't alter the attendence in any way they haven't lost anything. It's a no lose situation.
Incidentally where does the money raised from the raffle tickets go to, Sligo Rovers or the Man Utd SC?
Did this promotion add to the attendance?
jaysus lads it might be possible for Sligo fans to also enjoy watching the Premiership - and who knows they might even support Man Yoo also. Big deal.
Well done Sligo.
I remember being at an Athlone game in 1990-91 (?) and they gave away their allocation of tickets -50 I think- for Ireland v. Poland in a half time draw based on numbers in the programme. I didn't win one and estimated they must have flogged about 51 programmes.
"oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie