Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: FAI chief executive hails Rovers’ ‘super’ Old Trafford prize draw

Delaney is a bit over enthausiastic about a feckin draw for Manu ticket. Stupid
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    delaney is a twit anyways...

it added about 200 to the crowd.

worth it

I think the Sligo-bashers are entitled to point to the principle of not promoting the League's biggest rival attraction.

However, the Sligo lads are completely correct in pointing to the pragmatic benefits.

As stated, they got the prize for free so it's not like they sold their souls or anything.

Secondly, has anyone stopped to think that those 200 extra people who went had to actually skip watching the Premiership on TV to go to the Showgrounds?

Finally, they got to see a rip-roaring game live in the flesh, with five goals a great atmosphere and a dramatic last-minute comeback. While I'm obviously sick at the way it panned out for us, from Sligo's point of view they couldn't have asked for a better reason to prompt a good chunk of those 200 extra to go back for more in a fortnight's time and maybe become regulars.

I take Soccerc's point about three lots of €1000 a year being potentially lost to the Sligo football economy. However, if even a quarter of those newcomers become regulars, it'll put €750 a FORTNIGHT into the Sligo football economy. To me, that sounds like a good return for zero investment.
    Revenge for 2002

Formerly: wild rover
    if people are giving out about extra people going to an el game then they should really cop on...by any means neccessary....i think the atmosphere last 5 mins will bring a few of the new fans back next saturday for the cup game!

30 Posts
    Tough one to call. Obviously promoting Man U and English Premiership
    is against the whole promoting of eL but at the end of they day they
    got a prize for free that will bring in some extra cash to the club.

It might make a few more Rovers supporters and it might not, but at
    least those who dont decide to stick with Rovers will have given some
    money to the club.

In an ideal situation they would be in a position to give out an Ireland
    trip, but it wasnt to be. You can only work with what you have.

Pity to see our Commander in Chief though whacking himself off to the
    thought of Old Trafford. Did he go to the game to try and win the prize
    himself?

222 Posts
    A great promo for Sligo Rovers, I'd be delighted if Dundalk could rope a couple of hundred extra people in for such a promo. Delaney's a gob****e for talking it up though, and at least one other club (Mons) have done it before.

There's a difference between promoting the English Premiership and taking advantage of it. If Rovers are not allowed to give away a trip to England then presumably the rest of us should not be showing English Premiership games in our bars.

Some people just aint happy unless their moaning.

absolutely fantastic promotion by Sligo
    they're thinking 'outside the box' and boosting crowds
    as Nightdub pointed out - the sceptical extras on the gate (and it did appear to be an unusually big crowd to my eyes) were treated to a 3-2 cracker.
    I've no doubt the interest levels of the newbies would have been aroused by a game of such quality and drama, skill and tempo.

Keep up the good work, keep coming up with radical new ideas - keep boosting your attendances and to hell with teh begrudgers

ure still a shower of jammy barstards tho!

Question

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth View Post
    Link?

No problem with Sligo doing the raffle (loads of other clubs have had prizes of trips to games in England/Glasgow in xmas raffles etc). Good luck to them BUT unless they asked people on the gate why they were coming to the game they've no way of knowing how succesful it was. For all they know it was 200 people who really really hate Pats and came along to boo. Obviously it wasn't but the 200 people could've been there because Sligo are doing well and scoring goals, or because Derry are doing well in Europe or because its back to winter football. You get my point...

Delaney on the other hand is a tool.

i think if their gate went up (as its seems to have been a statistical anomaly taken with their recent home games) - you can fairly well attach some credit to the promotion

Yep, but it could've been the other factors too. Like I said, good luck to them

57 Posts
    Man Utd are not our competitors (unless they end up drawing Derry later in the UEFA Cup). I don't think delaney should be making that big a fuss over it but fair play to Rovers for doing something to attract more fans through the turnstiles. Surely it will encourage some of them to come back.

I don't like the mass media exposure the likes of Man Utd get here to the detriment of domestic football. However the challenge is to turn the Man Utd barstooler into a fan of the local club.

The real challenge is to get rid of John Delaney and replace him with a CEO who doesn't have to change his underpants every time he hears mention of Manchester United.

I don't have any issue about Sligo trying to boost crowds in any way they can. Delaney can be positive towards if he likes but might want to tone down a bit. He seems to have just stopped short of saying this the greatest ever pormotion in eL history & asking all eL clubs to follow suit...

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    He seems to have just stopped short of saying this the greatest ever pormotion in eL history & asking all eL clubs to follow suit...

That is my only issue with it .... its like the guy was doing cartwheels over the feicing thing, totally out of order given his position seeing as he never opened his mouth about other events/promos in the league.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I don't have any issue about Sligo trying to boost crowds in any way they can. Delaney can be positive towards if he likes but might want to tone down a bit. He seems to have just stopped short of saying this the greatest ever pormotion in eL history & asking all eL clubs to follow suit...

It has basically secured their place in the SooperLeague

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    It has basically secured their place in the SooperLeague
    never thought of it like that Dodge.....nice one,see ye all in the Premier League again next year.

Formerly: wild rover
    we are staying up say we are staying up!

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    An original and thought-provoking promotion, and I think it's a good one.
    It's very gratifying personal therapy to adopt a Taliban-like position on this, and to insist on the purity of the national league. But Sligo are playing a cleverer game that doesn't put the league in opposition to the Bungiership, but actually uses it to promote the game here.
    If fans who drool over the Bungiership can be turned into fans who also go to Irish football, then that's ok with me.
    Bungiership Love it!

Tough call for sligo but if they made money for nothing that's all that counts. Sad that clubs have to bribe barstoolers to come to a game but it sounded like a cracker so hopefully they'll come back. Sligo must have forgotten to record the game though

Two questions though:

1. Do any of the MUFC SC in sligo support sligo?

2. Would you have increased your gate by 200 if the prize was an Ireland game or a Milan derby?

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    Bungiership Love it!

Tough call for sligo but if they made money for nothing that's all that counts. Sad that clubs have to bribe barstoolers to come to a game but it sounded like a cracker so hopefully they'll come back. Sligo must have forgotten to record the game though

Two questions though:

1. Do any of the MUFC SC in sligo support sligo?

2. Would you have increased your gate by 200 if the prize was an Ireland game or a Milan derby?

Yes some of the older heads in the United supporters club would be regulars in the Showgrounds for years.

Yes the prize was all inclusive, flights, accommadation, etc. The supporters club donated the tickets and I think a local business sponsored the rest adding up to about five thousand euros. If it was done for a weekend away in Cyprus or Italy for a Ireland or Milan game I think the response would be the same.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123