Thread: v Monaghan

good performance, great three points and the atmosphere in section a for the second half was incredible. fair play to everyone there. the fields of athenry was absolutely brilliant when it was being belted out
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Ya definitely the best atmosphere in Terryalnd all year!!Rovers is the next home match so it should and will be better again!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

yeah definitely. everyone that was there the last night will hopefully come down again for rovers and then we can officially go top of the league.

BRING ON THE ROVERS.

good atmosphere alright and fair play to the section A heads - there numbers swelled in the second half

on the game - pity we didnt take more of the chances - delighted with the win - but wondering will the goal difference come into play - hopefully not!
    more water!

yeah we had a couple of real good chances alright. i still think that if everything clicks, that we can give some team an awful hammering towards the end of the season. Dave and Conor seemed to work well together the last night. for once it is good to have some serious pace up front

Agree that O'Dowd & Gethins worked really, really hard on the night. They reminded me of John Aldridge when he played for Big Jack.

Nobody has mentioned the barney Conor had with Billy as to which of them would take the penalty. It was great fun. In fairnesss, Conor was first up to congratulate Billy after he smashed it in. His through ball for Dave's goal was brilliant & Dave's finish was one of the best we've seen this season.

Billy was warming up beside us before the game and was jokingly praising his own disciplinary record this season. We were asking him to let his new found good manners rub off on some of the rest of the lads.

There seemed to be plenty of frank exchanges between Alan G & Wes also.

But all in all a great sign that the lads really want to do well. No harm for a bit of spice between them. It shows they care.

Raf Cretaro has been consistently brilliant & we've really missed him when he hasn't been available. Alan Keane is in the form that he closed last season with at right full.

The fat is in the fire. Roll on Limerick.

Good to read stuff like that MyTown, as I wasn't at the game.
    I guess Slab will have to be content with a place on the bench now. Dowdy missed about four good (three of them very good) chances last time in Limerick, so he'll be eager to atone.

Quote Originally Posted by JW. View Post
    I guess Slab will have to be content with a place on the bench now.
    in all fairness to slab, from the moment he came on he was taking shots from all angles, one or two of which could of ended up in the net. hell start on the bench on friday but id like to see him come on with 25mins to go, hopefully will combat our horrible last ten mins scenario
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Hopefully he will also pass the ball to his team mates !

bad decision making the last night

shooting when he should pass and vice versa - over dribbling
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Hopefully he will also pass the ball to his team mates !
    well, im all fairness he was prob told to go out there n take shots, the lad has to prove himself that he can score goals, sure we were already two up when he came on. if he had scored a long ranger he might of had a chance in fridays starting line-up.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

he was through on goal no defenders, inside the 18 yard area in the centre - with the ball to place left or right of the keeper and he passes a sharp right

screams of lack of confidence - should have been slotted home - he had sooo much time
    more water!

yeah definitely looks short of confidence. with murphs i think that all he needs is a goal. all we have to do is look at dave o dowd and look what his goal against cobh did for him

Ill agree with ye there. still I'd bring him on with 20mins left in the Limerick game

yeah he definitely has to keep giving him games anyway otherwise he could fall by the wayside.

but if hes not up to it...
    more water!

yeah i know if hes not up to it anymore theres no point in him being here. but lads this man was one of our best players in the last ten years. now i know hes not going to have as much impact as he did before he left but as liverpool fans were saying before the Champions League Final "Form is Temporary, Class is Permanent". He cant just be gone lads we just need someone to get him going

who is the slab he is named after...
    more water!

Slab Murphy from Dundalk, supposably the leader of the IRA

he was the only slab i knew of also - thought there might have been another reason
    more water!