Thread: Travelling support to European away game?

89 Posts

Travelling support to European away game?

Just a query lads.

Was wondering what the biggest travelling crowd an LOI team has taken to an away tie in continental Europe?

I assume that Shels took a fair crowd to Spain, any numbers?
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    Just a query lads.

Was wondering what the biggest travelling crowd an LOI team has taken to an away tie in continental Europe?

Would Gretna-Derry not walk it? Or were you waiting for someone else to say it?
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

89 Posts
    Hence the reason I asked continental Europe..............
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

We had numerous bandwagon jumpers who happened to be on holidays out there and remembered that they were Shels fans in some distant past. I wasnt in Spain myself so I couldn't give an exact figure

garyderry
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaime View Post
    Would Gretna-Derry not walk it? Or were you waiting for someone else to say it?
    I think he wants to know we we break that next week in Paris

Hence the reason I asked continental Europe..............
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Just a query lads.

Up to a thousand I'd say.

221 Posts
    I'm sure the Randy Brandywell on Tour will beat all records in Paris. I'd have contemplated going myself but the dates didn't suit.

Brilliant city, cheap to get to, brilliant stadium, good opposition, and still well in contention after the first leg.... what more could you ask for! One final piece of advice from the Oriel faithful..... GET INTO DEM.... THEY'RE EASY!

Quote Originally Posted by garyderry View Post
    I think he wants to know we we break that next week in Paris
    And fair play to them - anyone know how many derry fans are estimated to be there?
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    Rovers at Celtic was the record till recently.

We had a good few hundred in Stockholm about 5 years ago
    437 Rovers fans exactly were at the game in the Rasunda in 2002.
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    And fair play to them - anyone know how many derry fans are estimated to be there?
    Apparently 800 tickets sold yesterday (at least)
    Looking like 1500 - 2000 plus any locals in Paris who buy Section E tickets to be in same section as Derry fans.

Bohs had roughly

650 in Aberdeen
    100 in Kaiserslautern
    125 in Tallinn [2001]
    150 in Halmstad
    80 in Seville
    50 in Belarus
    250 in Trondheim
    100 in Tallinn [2004]
    450 in Ghent

Officially, 506 away supporters at Nantes for our Intertoto Cup game in 2004

POintless wanky thread. Paris is aas easy to get to from Derry as Dublin is ffs so continental europe is no real parameter.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    POintless wanky thread. Paris is aas easy to get to from Derry as Dublin is ffs so continental europe is no real parameter.

Please explain how?

Considering the majority of us have to travel to Belfast, Dublin or Shannon before going onto Paris.

I'm really intrerested in the logic behind your statement.

The point was that maribor was looking for praise for Derry fans for bringing fans to Paris than to Glasgow or Liverpool or any other British city. I'll rephrase it, its a wanky question as Paris is as easy to get to from Derry as Glasgow or Liverpool or any other British city.

The ONLY reason it was asked was he was fishing for compliments, therefore wanky pointless thread

The point was that maribor was looking for praise for Derry fans for bringing fans to Paris than to Glasgow or Liverpool or any other British city. I'll rephrase it, its a wanky question as Paris is as easy to get to from Derry as Glasgow or Liverpool or any other British city.

The ONLY reason it was asked was he was fishing for compliments, therefore wanky pointless thread
    Will ye cheer up

Out of interest, how many did pats bring to parkhead?

Tbh with us I noticed alot of day tripper supporters going to helsinki - alot of people who thought it would be a nice trip to bring the missus - sports event junkies really - would think paris would be the same for derry and fair play to them hope they bring a great crowd over. All wlcome of course but not many of them made it to belfield a couple of days later .Know alot of 'lads' that couldnt afford to go
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

1,002 Posts

wanky pointless post.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    wanky pointless post.
    Agreed but if I'm asked a question. Legaly, as a mod here, I have to answer. Legally.

To answer, just under 2,000 went to parkhead

For once i agree with Dodge.

Pointless thread!