Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Derry win League Cup

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red View Post
    Last night was my first time in the Brandywell in over a year, so I'm just wondering are away fans always put into the section where the designated area is for people in wheelchairs??
    I think that was an FAI decision

Red&White
    Last night was my first time in the Brandywell in over a year, so I'm just wondering are away fans always put into the section where the designated area is for people in wheelchairs??
    We thought you were all bringing your push chairs.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Am I the only one who finds it weird that Heary punching Brennan in the b0llocks has gone fairly unmentioned? Pat Dolan and Healy made a fleeting reference to it and the commentary team remained silent in the replays. Typical Shelbourne, always have to try and take the law into their own hands.

Great display of resilience and determination by Derry. Congratulations. Hope this ends of myth that PJ isn't as good as Forde.
    I thought Brennan deserved to go, his tackle was wild and wreckless. The type that can break a leg if it connects. BUT, Heary should have went himself for his reaction. Thats the sort of stuff the FAI should look into after the game. Forde's red card was very harsh though.

Quote Originally Posted by Krstic View Post
    Heavan forbid we boo opposing players

Have you ever been to a live match before ya fcuking idiot.

I was certainly booing the Shels players, they're a dirty shower of Bastrads.

As for Shels being a better footballing team, we were down to 9 men and they were clueless.
    They had acres of space through the middle, yet each time they came forward they played the ball wide to Moore, who had to turn back onto his left foot in order to whip in a cross, which was easy pickings for Oman and Kelly
    They didn't change their approach once. They had no plan 'B'.
    Shocking tactics from fenlon.

As for the red cards, Brennan deserved his, Forde's was harsh, but we don't give a fcuk, we won and Forde's replacement was the key man
    In fairness Shels were the better side last night and created nearly all the good goal scoring chances. They could have been there all night, all tonight and all wednesday night and still not score - it was just one of those nights for them !

There plan B was to play 3 upfront bringing Harris on in Extra time, which they "Should" have scored at least 2 or 3.

Derry's defending was excellent though, especially with only 9 men !

Was a very nice touch from Kenny to dedicate the win to Sean McGlynn, he was nearly crying saying it ! Had to laugh at Paddy McCourt though - "We really busted out balls form him"

Both reds were deserved - as for the comments saying Forde shouldn't have gone, its aways a risk as a keeper when you rush out like that, everyone knows it, and he made a meal of it. Noones fault but his. Heary should have gone for his reaction to Brennan, but Hargan (was it him?) could have gone too earlier in the game. In all, inconsistent refereeing - surprised?

We couldn't take any chances, ergo didn't deserve to win. Good banter between the fans, although a bit of tape seperating fans about 10ft apart wasn't enough. The announcer was class, broke his **** laughing at something, and forgot to turn off the speakers! Then again, who's a Shels fan to comlpain about stewarding?

Well done to Derry, hung on well and won it well in the end. I'd've taken a thrashing last night in return for a win on Friday, and hope it still works out like that!
    God

Good to see you got time off school to go to the game.

The section you were in had approx 300 seats with a wide area at the front for wheelchairs.

Just a pity you could only bring about 200 for a final.

Davy you are and always will be an idiot of the highest order
    Sitting pretty!!!

If a keeper is 10 yards outside his box he can never be unlucky to handle the ball especially when he waving them in the air.

Quote Originally Posted by BrayUnknowns View Post
    In fairness Shels were the better side last night and created nearly all the good goal scoring chances.
    How in the name of Pat Dolan were Shels the better side last night ?

Take the 84mins or so when it was 11-a-side :

- Did they have the most possession ? No.
    - Did they create the most chances ? No.
    - Did they play the nicest football ? No.

Then, let's look at extra time :

- Even with a 1/2 man advantage, did they play to a level you would expect for a team with that sort of numerical advantage ? No.
    - Did they create the number of goalscoring chances you would expect for a team with 2 more men on the pitch (3 if you count Stokes) ? No.

Penalties :

- Did they take the better kicks ? No.
    - Did they make the better saves ? No.

I would therefore love to be enlightened as to how you can conclude that Shels were the better side, when any comparison of what actually happened on the night says otherwise.

246 Posts
    There will be murder on Friday. Owen Heary will not come out in one piece. We'll let O'Flynn at him.
    Bring it on.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Owen Heary will not come out in one piece.
    Want to bet?

Lads,the school jokes are getting boring now,i know it's a wind up but if you can't take it,don't give it!

clearly he cudnt take it

Last edited by dcfc_legend9; 19/09/2006 at 4:30 PM.

Clearly you can't spell!

between this and the bohs v rovers thread its starting to look like a bebo forum round here
    www.WalkTheChalk.com - Stats, Opinion & Bluster on Irish Club Football

clearly your still crying

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_legend9 View Post
    clearly your still crying
    I never cry over a game!

and it's you're.

Have to say the jibes about Shels fans being kids are ,to simply put it, juvenile. A large minority of Derry's fans last night were kids younger than 12. They were the ones giving us the finger and shouting abuse. Stop being hypocrites lads and admit that you have a bunch of knacker kids following the bandwagon around as well. Looking down on us because you believe being young is something to be laughed at is pathetic

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    What game were you watching hoopy ? Derry were clealry better overall than Shels prior to being reduced to 9 men. In each of our 5 European outings we've played better football than Shels have ever done this season. You've got a dose of the Eircom League Weekly disease- no matter how good anyone else is doing in the league, Wayne and Garf just can't see past their star-strucked love of Shelbourne....

Even when we were down to 9 men and Shels were giving it all they had, we still dealt comfortably with it all and soaked up the pressure.
    I'll stand corrected if needs be, just mhop. Derry are physically better than anyone, that doesn't mean they're a long ball team or anything like that so I'm not having a go. At their best Cork have been the best passing side in the league, doesn't mean their the best team, just as me saying imop Shels are a better passing side than Derry doesn't mean I think Shels are a better team. For what it's worth Arsenal are miles ahead of everyone in England when you think of who the best footballing side is but they won't win the league
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    In fairness you cant really blame the ref for the sendings off. The forde one was the lineman and the killian brennan was a definite red card. He lunged two footed with intent. You could hardly expect stokes to see what heary did after now in fairness. Its the linesman in question that you should be venting your anger on. Delighted personally to see derry winning. It proves to everyone what a great manager Kenny is. The team spirit in the derry squad brings back memories to Kennys time and Longford Town when players would die for the shirt. I hope they win the league to shut that fool felix healy up!! He knows nothing and talks sh1te
    The ref was a disgrace all nite!!How the **** can you justify sending Killian Brennan off and not send Heary off aswell. Not only that but he was rubbish all nite. Gave a lot of decisions to shels that we shudve got, same by shels. Also heard Fenlon and Ollie Byrne had a bust up outside the dressing rooms after match last nite, can anyone confirm???

246 Posts
    Ollie and Fenlon had a somewhat heated exchange, alledgely.

Moment I read Stokes as the ref I knew it was going to create trouble. The man's incompetant. Some of his free kick calls are inexplicable. It baffles belief that he's a FIFA ref. And not being biased, but he does seem to especially dislike Derry. Worst memory of him before yesterday was when a Linfield player collided with his own keeper. Stokes gave a free kick against Derry for it. Now the powers that be in the FAI were at this match, seen the incident, Milo Corcoran described him as "unbelievable", yet he still continues to referee at an international level. I dunno.....

Have to share this one, hilarious.
    http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/5833/1c1jl2.jpg

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast