Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Matchday experience in Terryland

agreed - at the last rovers away game - they locals all gave a bit of slaggin after the match but then a bit of praise for the noise been made

20mins non stop
    more water!

It's not the 1st time either.Lets go for it against Monagahan on Friday.It will be easy to do it against Rovers with such a big crowd but it's against the lesser teams where support can really shine.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

i was saying the same thing after the athlone game. people can say what they want about the lads in Section A but without us terryland would be one of the worst places in Ireland for atmosphere. it'd be like being in monaghan every other week. no offence magicme
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

Songs like "tribal army", and "galway, galway from the terryland" are always good to hear. i think it'd be good to try to find out of the team, which songs get them more motivated. obviously this is only gonna help the team

were two points off the top

The atmosphere should be electric considering our lofty position. ive been out of the country for the last three games so i cant comment on them, but it was obvious at the athlone game that the club does not appreciate the efforts of united fans to liven things up.
    the craic in section a has been crap. the drums add to the atmosphere but sometimes they drown out the ten lads trying to chant, a simple "UNITED! BAM,BAM,BAM!" would suffice instead of doing the Animal from the Muppets impersonation.I dont want to knock the drummers though because at least they are trying.
    On friday lets make a real effort to get the place going all of you who have lost your voices get down to section a and find them again. bring flags,fog horns, drums,bodhrans, inflatable sheep whatever you are into, and lets raise the roof as we go top of the league!!!!!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

i agree completely with ya guisa, on another thread people are talking about the craic there used to be when the old guard were in the middle of the stand at the back. a lot of the guys that were there still come to terryland but will not come down to section a and give a hand to theyounger newer generation of fans coming through. in saying that there are a few fellas who have come down and who are lending there voices to the cause. like yourself mr saigon. ya were gone for ages but as soon as ya came back ya were back in the middle of it again

Any song that encourages people to defecate on Rafael Cretaro and
    urinate on Tony Cousins can't be condoned in my book

yeah but those two have been appointed as honorary galwaymen during their respective spells in galway

how about including a "hymn sheet" in the matchday program,

that way the crowd have no excuse for not knowing the words of songs etc,and maybe get the P.a guy to try a practice chant at halftime or before the match or something to try get the crowd going.they do it on a much larger scale in italian grounds and they really get them going.
    i know the editor of the program is on this site sometimes.chants like "we all live in terry,terryland"(yellow submarine tune) etc,or "i cant help falling in love with you utd,utd,utd",or "youll never walk in athlone" or "wer absolutely barmy wer tony cousins army,were absoluely barmy,galway utd f.c(adams family tune).i realise to be in the program they will have to be "clean" chants though but those are.

Quote Originally Posted by thescoringgoals View Post
    how about including a "hymn sheet" in the matchday program,
    very good idea, should be done IMO.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Horrible idea IMO.Sorry.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

would definitely get a slaggin off the away fans (if theres any there) for a hymn sheet

in most cases if people want to chant they will - regardless of hymn sheet
    more water!

75 Posts
    definitely should follow the continental theme with the drummers ,Music & PA Announcer. The boom boom boom boom and chant in stutgart was deadly. I think what keeps certain fans away is the abusive chants and the total lack of direction tha chanting takes when people are loaded !!!!!!

we will end up like the koreans - did ye see them in the world cup just gone!

coordinators in front of every few rows - imagine travelling half way round the world to orchestrate and miss the match!
    more water!

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    There has been a crackdown on "atmosphere" over the last few years. Flares and singing "Who ate all the pies" at some Leinster League reject are now unacceptable as we try to bring in a rugby atmosphere at matches.
    You couldnt expand on this please?

Flares should be allowed at EL grounds, under supervision and only to supporters groups who have experience in using them. The EL seems to have an arbitary policy towards fines for flares. It is commonplace to see flares used on television, but these clubs rarely seem to be fined.

Industrial language is par for the course at football grounds. It is only unacceptable when there is no direct reason for it (ie verbal abuse of a harmless young Kilkenny player ). When an opposition player dives, cheats, attacks an opponent, gestures towards a crowd or has "previous", then a bit of bad language is only to be expected.

Trying to stamp it out is futile.

70 Posts
    Oh i agree 100%.Is there announcements over the PA if there is abuse?

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Ironically, I read in the Sunday Times that Gavin Henson (Welsh rugby player, goes out with Charlotte Church) got fierce abuse at the Sportsgrounds. I bet that the Connacht RFU didnt announce "Roysh, stop that !" over the PA.
    On a fairly irrelevant aside the Connacht RFU did announce over the PA that it was unacceptable for a handful of teens to make noise before the Ospreys kicker took a penalty. The man behind this announcement is quite prominent in Galway United as it happens.

i think that flares should definitely allowed at eircom league grounds but they need some sort of procedure on how they should be used and who should use them. the help to create a great atmosphere.

Dont think we should follow a continental theme at all as we're all just local irish lads. keep it local, keep with stuff that the regulars like

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thescoringgoals View Post
    that way the crowd have no excuse for not knowing the words of songs etc,and maybe get the P.a guy to try a practice chant at halftime or before the match or something to try get the crowd going.they do it on a much larger scale in italian grounds and they really get them going.
    i know the editor of the program is on this site sometimes.chants like "we all live in terry,terryland"(yellow submarine tune) etc,or "i cant help falling in love with you utd,utd,utd",or "youll never walk in athlone" or "wer absolutely barmy wer tony cousins army,were absoluely barmy,galway utd f.c(adams family tune).i realise to be in the program they will have to be "clean" chants though but those are.
    That's the role of a fanzine. Where are they now?

Standing Room Only.......gone
    Lost Tribe.....................gone
    Galway Independent.......gone
    Tribal Bible...................gone

Time for some new blood. I know it has been discussed here before but nothing became of it.

My suggestion for a name for a new fanzine:

Up The Dyke

Nobody knows us, we don't care

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast