Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Oscar Traynor News

That squad and the match day squad are two different things. Hope things are done differently this year and the attitude surrounding the oscar traynor panel changes for the better. Limerick should have alot more oscar traynor titles than it has won in recent times.
    Mama Mia!!

Does anyone find it a bit unusual that the second panel of players named are all playing in Division 1A. Surely if Pa Mullally needs to call up players to his squad he is more likely to go for players in the Premier League.

Quote Originally Posted by pearse4t3 View Post
    I agree old keeper and well said,but this been a forum,its about opinions, no ones having a go at Pat Mullaly,its just that everyone wants to see the strongest team on the field to give the league its best chance of winning
    True but lets try to be constructive initially. I personally would like to see the league playing some other teams as well as the OT like some cross channel teams or Eircom teams in order to raise the leagues profile again.

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by Old keeper View Post
    True but lets try to be constructive initially. I personally would like to see the league playing some other teams as well as the OT like some cross channel teams or Eircom teams in order to raise the leagues profile again.
    Great idea,that would make it more attractive to players to be involved with the squad. The Oscar Traynor(and the inter-county youths) should be something all junior players(and youths) be aiming for,but the sad fact is that some clubs,not all,would be happier if their players werent involved in it incase of injury. Last season a prominent junior club had 2players injured in a OT match, and a week later had to play a big FAI match,both players played despite there injuries and as a result the club ended up out of the competition, so i can see clubs point of view also..............

Quote Originally Posted by Mercurial Vapor View Post
    Does anyone find it a bit unusual that the second panel of players named are all playing in Division 1A. Surely if Pa Mullally needs to call up players to his squad he is more likely to go for players in the Premier League.
    are you complaining keith shur ur on it

Quote Originally Posted by the dazzler View Post
    are you complaining keith shur ur on it
    That's right dazzler I'm on it

is he pickin 1A players so his first team wil score a few goals against them and think it'll stop the criticism of his selections???

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    is he pickin 1A players so his first team wil score a few goals against them and think it'll stop the criticism of his selections???
    Do we take it that you dont think there might be a few players who are not in the premier division but might be good enought to make the OT panel?

This is probably the fastest way to see what is out there and also give 40 people a chance to prove themselves, Im sure that the Manager is well able to pick and choose based on the needs of the squad rather than the wellbeing of a few critics

I think there would be more interest in the o/t if the LDMC made them feel a little more important, why cant they give them track suits gearbags etc,if they get injured,player should report it on the day and get it payed for, i think then club and players will have more respect, and will want there players to play in the o/t,
    Do u think they would do that Oldkeeper

Do we take it that you dont think there might be a few players who are not in the premier division but might be good enought to make the OT panel?

This is probably the fastest way to see what is out there and also give 40 people a chance to prove themselves, Im sure that the Manager is well able to pick and choose based on the needs of the squad rather than the wellbeing of a few critics
    no there prob are a few good enough but there are far better players playin premier that would of been a better choice for selection. anyone agree/disagree??

Yea agree with you, he would be better off picking all Premier players in the second squad because they are better players playing at a higher level every week.

I disagree with u there..There would definatley be at least 2-3 very good players out of the premier that would be good enough for the Oscar traynor.. Players have to start somewhere and if u are a very good player and u are playing with a club all your life and u stick with your club(that may not be premier or may have never been premier)and are a true clubman,how u supposed to even get a chance on a team like?? I think what pa mul is doing is good...Now i have no example of a player in the comment i made above but i am sure there is at least one or 2 players hidden in the lower divisions that would be great additions to the oscar traynor team?? What do people think???

Quote Originally Posted by summervilleman View Post
    I disagree with u there..There would definatley be at least 2-3 very good players out of the premier that would be good enough for the Oscar traynor.. Players have to start somewhere and if u are a very good player and u are playing with a club all your life and u stick with your club(that may not be premier or may have never been premier)and are a true clubman,how u supposed to even get a chance on a team like?? I think what pa mul is doing is good...Now i have no example of a player in the comment i made above but i am sure there is at least one or 2 players hidden in the lower divisions that would be great additions to the oscar traynor team?? What do people think???
    i whole heartedley agree with you mona, if you hadnt stuck with summerville who knows where you would have been playin today!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by madcap View Post
    I think there would be more interest in the o/t if the LDMC made them feel a little more important, why cant they give them track suits gearbags etc,if they get injured,player should report it on the day and get it payed for, i think then club and players will have more respect, and will want there players to play in the o/t,
    Do u think they would do that Oldkeeper

I agree totally and anyone listening to our slots on Limerick 95FM will have heard us say that we want to raise the profile so I would expect that we will be doing something this year along the lines of kit.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 25/09/2006 at 6:46 AM.

freindly

i think u nailed that one on the head, it looks like he wants the 1a team to get a bit of a hiding, but wouldnt it look very bad for mul if we beat them. Heard alot of the 1a players who were asked to attend this match have pulled out

Quote Originally Posted by W.R.F.C View Post
    i think u nailed that one on the head, it looks like he wants the 1a team to get a bit of a hiding, but wouldnt it look very bad for mul if we beat them. Heard alot of the 1a players who were asked to attend this match have pulled out
    Anyone know where and when this game is on. Might be worth seeing.

Quote Originally Posted by W.R.F.C View Post
    ..... and if ye beat them wouldnt it make him look like a genius for saying players in 1a were good enough and sur didn't he tell ye all along ..... either way hes a winner .....

i think people are reading too much into this. Some of the player on the 1a team would get on most premier teams in town. i dont think theres a huge conspiracy theroy at work here.

oscar traynor

i agree with the fact that alot of 1a players are as good as premier players.look at the boro and aisling? have half the boro team not played 1a for corbally over the last few years,there now riding high in premier.as for ul the backbone of there team played in 1a for years as did granville.both teams are more than holding there own. i think its a good squad bar o,donnell,o,connell and the 2 other aisling boys.coombes is a fine player,i think theres better there than the other 2 ul boys, o donoghue(regional),mc namara (balla). nobody is ever going to agree totally with pa mullallys squad. so much for the talk earlier in the month about lads getting suspended if they refuse to turn up.thats what alot of the posts are suggesting.what do you think old keeper since you made that point last month?
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 25/09/2006 at 8:20 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by halo16 View Post
    i agree with the fact that alot of 1a players are as good as premier players.look at the boro and aisling? have half the boro team not played 1a for corbally over the last few years,there now riding high in premier.as for ul the backbone of there team played in 1a for years as did granville.both teams are more than holding there own. i think its a good squad bar o,donnell,o,connell and the 2 other aisling boys.coombes is a fine player,i think theres better there than the other 2 ul boys, o donoghue(regional),mc namara (balla). nobody is ever going to agree totally with pa mullallys squad. so much for the talk earlier in the month about lads getting suspended if they refuse to turn up.thats what alot of the posts are suggesting.what do you think old keeper since you made that popint last month?
    Hi

There is no grand strategy to hide behind here the Manager is moving in a direction that will engender more life into the OT. The OT squad is in place and any players not making themselves available will be suspended as per rule,

The game is due to be played on the 4th of Oct in Jackman Park

More Anon

old keeper

Hi

There is no grand strategy to hide behind here the Manager is moving in a direction that will engender more life into the OT. The OT squad is in place and any players not making themselves available will be suspended as per rule,

The game is due to be played on the 4th of Oct in Jackman Park

More Anon
    i take it, it will b played under lights. That mite convince a few of the 1a team to play, since playing under lights is a good experience

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast