Page 16 of 27 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Divisions 3B/4A/4B 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by larrywhite View Post
    Yeah...I'm not a fan of player managers. More often that not they think they are better than whats on the pitch. Usually they are not. Also doesnt help with team morale if manager is picking himself ahead of others.
    Anyone come to mind

Quote Originally Posted by Poloman View Post
    We got our match moved to one on sunday

Didnt matter. Prosect played 10 in the first half and our manager still went 4-5-1.. can you believe that? They brought on some fella for the second half and we made 5 subs. 2-1 up with 15 mins to go and our manager comes on for me at center half and they score. They were all over us.

Its a joke. We are so crap its not even funny. Seriously thinking of retiring this season. I cant play that standard of football any longer.
    In fairness while I agree that player managers can be a disaster I don't think it's fair in this case. The guy in question has done his best to keep a 'b' team at the club for at least the last five years and has got sh!t for thanks from players, in spite of having a young family. I'm amazed ye had five subs given the trouble he's had putting 11 together over the years. To bitch about his tactics (!) is one thing, but bitching about giving himself a run for 10mins at the end of a game of no consequence is a bit much.

As a matter of interest have you said any of this to him or do you just post it on the internet first?

Hollycrossjock

tought ye were certs for promotion at the start of the season.... whats happened.. why have the wheels fallen off yer push for promotion to 1a!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Edgey View Post
    In fairness while I agree that player managers can be a disaster I don't think it's fair in this case. The guy in question has done his best to keep a 'b' team at the club for at least the last five years and has got sh!t for thanks from players, in spite of having a young family. I'm amazed ye had five subs given the trouble he's had putting 11 together over the years. To bitch about his tactics (!) is one thing, but bitching about giving himself a run for 10mins at the end of a game of no consequence is a bit much.

As a matter of interest have you said any of this to him or do you just post it on the internet first?
    Hold on a sec I'm not bitching about anyone having a run.. he is perfectly entitled to play as much as he wants. In fact in my opinion he is better than players that start so he SHOULD be playing ahead of a few others and I will state that loud and clear. I have no problem with him coming on why wouldnt he? He should start himself ahead of two others After going for operations on his shoulder and the pain everytime he popped it before I respect the guy. He makes a big effort and I will get to other tools in a minute who wont make an effort. And he didnt give the ball away either for the goal so I dont blame him for that either!!

We do need all the subs as after 20 mins most of the players cant even breath let alone play on for another 70 mins. I have to laugh though you put an exclamation after tactic (!) in your last post. Playing against ten men you think its right for a team to play one up front?? Why not go 3-5-2 or 3-4-3. They have one up front.. you dont need 4 defenders to mark one striker, and at the other end have one poor fella trying to take on 4 defenders.. fair enough we are all entitled to our opinions but to me that doesnt make sense asi am sure 99 perecent of people will agree with me. Its being negative when in fact it should be all out attack to try and get a few goals before their 11th player arrives!

Yes its easy to moan about something on the internet as you say because its a free place to express your opinions. If you want me to talk about myself then I will. I play in that division as thats all I am capable of. I am not fit enough or good enough to play in a much higher division so I am grateful when I do get a game as is most players. When I am on the bench I have no problem with that in the slightest as I am not a prima donna who expects to start matches. I accept that there are better players than me out there and have no grudge when I dont play as fair is fair. I havent heard one player moan this season when they are substituted so again this reflects positively on the set up. Nothing has gone our way this season for various reasons.. player injuries and poor performance. Playing one striker up front may not be some peoples idea especially not mine and actually all of the players but if the manager decides to play it then we play it.

And how did I play? Crap as normal. I was actually hoping to come off and was surprised I didnt come off sooner. 5 times I kicked the ball with my shin instead of my foot. their striekr was making a fool out of me which is getting more and more normal week by week. I was fully expecting to come off at half time. If I am dropped for the next match I deserve it in fairness so I hope this shows that I dont think the world of myself.

If I have something to say to anyone then I would and I do but I dont so I wont.

Our captain came back from injury this week and played well and scored one of his usual team applauding goals. He was missing this season and a big loss.

The league is way beyond us and its a matter of playing for pride now and we arent doing well. It might have sounded like it in my last post but I do not blame the manager for the results that would be madness. Its the players on the pitch who need to perform and all 11 players out there including when I play are not playing well, in fact they are hopeless so again I will say the manager can only do so much and then in fairness he is driven demented watching 11 clowns trying to kick a ball of leather. Its not fair to blame to one person but lets blame the keeper for 20 goals conceded this season eh

Yes I know a managers job is thankless and he makes a huge commitment. I actually like the guy and think he is a really sound guy. I used to manage myself and you never get thanks apart from the end of the season where the captain should thank him from everyone. Week in week out they get moaned at for not picking certain players, for their tactics, they clean the kit and meet refs and go to meetings. They are the ones standing on the sideline in the freezing cold getting soaking wet. managers make the biggest commitment, especially our manager as he is still capable of playing but plays others ahead of him when (in my etimation) he should be playing ahead of others. I know for a fact that no-one dislikes him.. not one person. Players bitch and moan and never once has a bad word been said about him in that sense.

But as a manager you have to expect that and take it on the chin. This was not meant to be an attack on him at all.. I will say it again he picks the players he thinks should start and its up to the players to play their best but in fairness there are players on that side who refuse to tackle in case they get hurt. Thats bull when others will risk getting hurt but some wont. Thats not fair on the team.

He has pulled us aside and given us a chance asking whats wrong and the general concern was the keeper. What happens.. he changes the keeper straight away. What more can he do for us in fairness so again he did well there. We are all just annoyed losing week in and week out and we are to blame ourselves. Training is organised and f all players go, thats our own fault as well. Some players turn up on a sunday not having kicked a ball all week and expect to play and cannot understand why they play poorly.

There is training on a thursday as well and no-one goes to that either. There are other reasons for that and that has been told privatley to the relevant people.

Why should some players break their gut trying to win the ball.. pass it to Billy Elliot who refuses to get stuck in, loses the ball and the routine starts again. Luis Garcia comes to mind!!

There can never be a perfectly happy team lets be honest but let me state again that was not meant to be an attack on him personally as if I have something personal to say to someone then beleive me it will be said. I blame the players and include myself for having two left feet and not trying hard enough this year. Last year we did good but now we are all scratching our heads now asking whats wrong. We deserve to be the worst team in Limerick and there is no comebacks about it.

So to summarise, we are sheet.. simple as. No-one is pointing fingers at no-one as everyone is to blame for a poor season and the sooner its over the better.

There.. rant over!
    Last edited by Poloman; 16/02/2007 at 10:11 AM.

That's all fair enough. Do you feel better now that its out of your system

Lol.. sorry I am hungover and cranky. Just didnt want anyone thinking the wrong thing. I love you man... xxxx

Quote Originally Posted by booster 03 View Post
    tought ye were certs for promotion at the start of the season.... whats happened.. why have the wheels fallen off yer push for promotion to 1a!!!!!
    simple answer CAN'T SCORE

look at the table in 1b we have the best defence in the league conceding 14 goals in 13 games with 4 from shelbourne and 4 from croom, its so annoying you play against other teams and they have good to average 1 to 10 players but they have deadly striker, can't find one for love or money in Holycross.

we played some poor poor football around game 6, 7, 8, and 9.. badly beaten by shelbourne , prospect and gutting defeat against croom we lost 4-2 and we were 2 - 0 up.

its been a better season as previous seasons still have hopes of promotion but need good run from now till end of season... lost our goalkeeper
    couple of weeks ago but have good replacement ME!!!!

Poloman: Excellent post. Its amazing how many teams in the lower divisions are in the same boat. All everyone can do is keep plugging away with the game they love, be they managers or players. The good times make up for all the sh1t you have to go thru.

Jock: Coonagh A team got promoted from 1b two seasons ago and the reason? A striker who scored 24 goals. Hes gone now and they are 2 from bottom in 1a. Someone to put the ball in the net is absolutely vital to any team. If you go thru every division the top 2 or 3 teams will all have a decent striker or two but of course the main problem is finding one if you dont have one. Any chance of picking one up from any of the clubs near ye? Even one in a lower league? Excellent defensive record by the way...you must be playing well.
    18 times, and that's a fact.

Jock: Coonagh A team got promoted from 1b two seasons ago and the reason? A striker who scored 24 goals. Hes gone now and they are 2 from bottom in 1a. Someone to put the ball in the net is absolutely vital to any team. If you go thru every division the top 2 or 3 teams will all have a decent striker or two but of course the main problem is finding one if you dont have one. Any chance of picking one up from any of the clubs near ye? Even one in a lower league? Excellent defensive record by the way...you must be playing well.

I know mate, what i would do to get a decent striker at holycross, because where we are situated outside aeras like bruff , killmallock , knockainey , fedamore and too far from town we can't seem to get the CHOSEN ONE to play for us... Bruff have two class strikers in PIP and Ed Hogan , killmallock have deadly striker in tommy heffernan and croom have a good striker called george... we had good players few years ago but they went back to play for there aera team like fedamore , knockainey etc... if any decent strikers want to play for us you will be welcomed with open arms

LarryWhite: Thanks man.. its just so frustrating especially when you are propping up division 4B. We do only play as we love the game and competing. We are away to St Pats today and we have a few players missing for various reasons so again I expect us to be beaten. Thats not the attitude some people say but I always try my best and will today as well but we have too many Billy Elliotts as I said earlier

3B results from yesterday:

Coonagh 4 1 Caherconlish
    St.Pauls 0 3 Parkville

Table now looks like this:

Pld W D L F A Pts
    Coonagh 10 8 2 0 32 12 26
    Caherconlish 10 8 1 1 34 16 25
    Herbertstown 10 7 1 2 17 5 22
    Moyross 10 3 3 4 20 19 12
    Parkville 11 3 1 7 20 34 10
    Summerville 9 2 2 5 12 21 8
    St.Pauls 10 2 0 8 15 30 6
    Murroe 8 0 2 6 7 21 2

3B results from yesterday:

Coonagh 4 1 Caherconlish

Good result there big man, see you must have your 24 goal a season striker back fancy loaning him out for a few games

Cheers Jock. It was an excellent performance. Down in these divisions there arent enough games to score 24 goals. Have to make do with about 15...he is on 9 at the moment and missed a couple of games.

Heard ye drew with Knockainey yesterday Jock. How'd the game go? Difficult team to beat aren't they?!

Quote Originally Posted by Edgey View Post
    Heard ye drew with Knockainey yesterday Jock. How'd the game go? Difficult team to beat aren't they?!
    jesus we were lucky and sickened,

we were 2 - 0 up at half time with strong wind behind us in second half we were going along nicely then had a mare of ten minutes, lost shape and loss concentration and gave away three stupid silly goals...

battle royale commenenced then got phyiscal and they missed glorious chance to kill game and missed and we then got equaliser five minutes from time.

it was my first game back for six weeks was going to play in goals but played left back and got injured again so will probably be out for couple of weeks

[QUOTE=larrywhite;626029]3B results from yesterday:

Coonagh 4 1 Caherconlish

Fair play to the lads on another great performance....Coonagh are on a high now and are getting even more confident even after the very long break. The committment to training even when there were no matches is paying off. Coonagh for 3B glory!!!!
    Say NO to Negativity!!!!

37 Posts

Angry

Cheers Jock. It was an excellent performance. Down in these divisions there arent enough games to score 24 goals. Have to make do with about 15...he is on 9 at the moment and missed a couple of games.
    Ok I`ll fill in the blanks.Two weeks ago you played your keeper against parkville who was sent off the previous week and stood suspended but you sneakily kept his name off the match card.
    This is another blind spot on your radar.
    Your team should be investigated by the ldmc.
    If you are that desperate for a trophy ignore all the allegations.

More stupid lies. Have you seen the match cards?
    Last edited by larrywhite; 21/02/2007 at 5:31 PM.

Ignore him Lar, if he's got a problem then it's his tough sh1te

37 Posts

Exclamation

Guilty as charged by the sound of this and 3 heroes post.
    You would want to be more concerned as to who the mole in the
    coonagh camp is.
    I think we have you lot cornered and it is being taken further:
    so sort your story out before you claim glory.

Page 16 of 27 FirstFirst ... 6141516171826 ... LastLast