Page 11 of 115 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161111 ... LastLast

Thread: Shane Long

2,690 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Carrigaline View Post
    I saw him in the Championship highlights, he's put on a bit of weight too.
    I've often thought he looks on the heavy side (for a full time athlete).

130 Posts
    This was a big season for him, with Doyle gone, it was a great chance for him to establish himself in the XI. He got a decent run of games at the start of the season but didnt do all that great. I think he may be better utilised as a winger as opposed to a striker.

lol long always looked super skinny i thought.

244 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    This was a big season for him, with Doyle gone, it was a great chance for him to establish himself in the XI. He got a decent run of games at the start of the season but didnt do all that great. I think he may be better utilised as a winger as opposed to a striker.
    One of the bookmakers actually had him as top scorer going into this season (whoever Reading's sponsor is).
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

60 Posts
    Brendan Rogers has made a total mess of Reading football club. They were managed brilliantly by Coppell and this muppet comes in and dismantles it completely. Long has obviously become frustrated with what is going on. I hope he gets a move because I think the guy has potential.
    Always look on the bright side of life

244 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy View Post
    Brendan Rogers has made a total mess of Reading football club. They were managed brilliantly by Coppell and this muppet comes in and dismantles it completely. Long has obviously become frustrated with what is going on. I hope he gets a move because I think the guy has potential.
    While Coppell did a tremendous job, Reading pumped a lot of money into trying to bring them back up at the first go, and when that failed they needed to sell off a lot of their big names in order to balance the books.

Rogers has not dismantled the team by choice- he has sold players by necessity, and gone about rebuilding things. I don't think he's done a particularly good job, but it was always going to be difficult trying to deal with the loss of the best striker and winger in the Championship (not to mention losing two starting centre-halfs to Burnley and Stoke).
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

Tripped in the last minute to win a penalty at Anfield tonight after coming on as a late sub.

2,629 Posts
    just scored now to make it 2

lol @ l'pool

2,629 Posts
    Reading goal: That is a really, really well-worked goal. Brynjar Gunnarsson, who was rubbish at Forest, morphs into Garrincha down the Reading left, doing Yossi Benayoun and then nutmegging Emiliano Insua before sending over a quite glorious cross that Shane Long glances into the Liverpool net from six yards. Oh my word.

Long picked a great time to get his first goal of the season. Especially since Reading are going to be looking to sell any potential good players since their parachute payments end this season. 22, stay fit he could be a decent wee player.

504 Posts
    i love how a week ago long was never going to make it, he had a bad temprament. He was aparently overweight last month. but sure after one goal he could be a good player all over again.
    who said football fans aint fickle?

i an delighted for the lad thou
    Last edited by Acornvilla; 13/01/2010 at 9:35 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by twoenz View Post
    Long picked a great time to get his first goal of the season. Especially since Reading are going to be looking to sell any potential good players since their parachute payments end this season. 22, stay fit he could be a decent wee player.
    score the wining goal away to liverpool to win game for underdogs reading in f.a. cup and the tools on utv start calling you sean long

" football is a simple game "

282 Posts
    I've never rated him too highly but he does seem to have a penchant for scoring at Anfield in Cup competitions.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Delighted for him, defended also when called upon & came across well in his interview aftewards too.

Liverpool were shocking tonight. Fair play to Shane Long though, he played well when he came on, winning the penalty and scoring a beautifully taken header. He wasn't lacking in helping out the defence when needed either, although Liverpool going forward were dire overall.
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

130 Posts
    Did very well overall, Ive seen him a few times this season and he hasnt really impressed. Hopefully this will give him the confidence to push on, this was to be a big season for him, he started the season first choice. Wouldnt agree that a move would be good for him, Reading seems like a good club, willing to bring young lads through so if hes good enough he'll continue to get plenty of chances there.

The goal was very similar to Doylers against Georgia away.

161 Posts
    Good all round display from Long when he came on. Won the peno and then scored a good goal to knock out a woeful Liverpool. No LONGer Anfield for Rafa.

558 Posts
    Anyone know much about Readings caretaker manager Brian McDermott.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    i love how a week ago long was never going to make it, he had a bad temprament. He was aparently overweight last month. but sure after one goal he could be a good player all over again.
    who said football fans aint fickle?

i an delighted for the lad thou
    Strikers are all about confidence, he could get nice run going in the second half of the season after this now.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Anyone know much about Readings caretaker manager Brian McDermott.

I think he started playing with Arsenal before dropping down the divisions to the likes of Grimbsy. Despite his name don't think he is Irish.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Page 11 of 115 FirstFirst ... 9101112132161111 ... LastLast