Best Paper For Eircom League

Well what would you folks recommend ?

The Mirror's supplement on a Friday is usually good enough.....gives a preview to all the games anyway.

I get the Mirror on Mondays and Fridays as they do a decent pullout on the league on both days

I usually buy the Mirror Fridays.

Good 8 page supplement with previews of all the games.

Worst - Irish Independent--Pathetic 5 inch little column in the corner of the page. Did Gerry MacDermott ever "communicate" his dissatisfaction at this in his years at the Indo.

Star and Sun.

i agree with most of the guys above, the Mirror gives good coverage on Friday and Monday, and when it's a big week, for example European matches they usually give a couple of columns up to a two ppager on the day previews of the matchs

The Irish Times and the Irish Examiner are the best, bar none.
    I refuse to vote in a poll which only includes bin liners!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post

spot the yuppie
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

Agree with Peadar, strangely.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Quote Originally Posted by Strabane_Harp View Post
    spot the yuppie
    You'd find better match reports on here than in any of the tabloids! Even the drogs lads can write better stuff than what's in the star.

the only paper i can get in belfast is the irish star so i dont get much choice
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

I did my thesis for my Journalism postgrad on this very subject. That was back in 2001. At the time the Star was by far number one when it came to quantity and Quality. The Mirror has definitely over taken in terms of quantity now, quality I would say is 50/50. Not fantastic for either as I often find match reports innacurate with key incidents left out. Whether this is down to the quality of reporting or of the editiong I don't know. Sun was worse than useless back then. Don't know what it is like now as I haven't read it in donkeys.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

surely the poll should have all the papers examiner, indo, and times.
    In Trap we trust

Agree with peadar.that "The Irish Times"s very good (well at least for the Premier) Mirror would be 2nd
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

In my opinion, Emmet Malone and Liam Mackey are two of the best football writers in Ireland. If they write about the eircom League, it's worth reading.
    Last edited by Peadar; 12/09/2006 at 9:41 AM.

Would vote for the Examiner mesef. The Times is oke but never has a 1st division report. I try to avoid papers who use 'drogs' 'shams' etc.
    Put me down as a yuppie then
    "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

Quote Originally Posted by robbiesdrogs View Post
    peader

you never read the offical site so
    That's what I was referring to.
    The "official" site which contains gems like this in their match reports...
    Quote Originally Posted by drogs "official" website
    We made a little spurt on 75 and then with 10 to go, Stewie, who replaced the hard-working Sami, found Jermaine with a delicate flick and he slid it home from the edge of the box. THIS IS IT .....we thought...but jaysus what happened...they went down and scored and it was nervousness, falling back too far, but still Lynch, Webb, Dan, Garto and Grayser stood solid as a rock and Kelly blew and we were there and that was it.

If Yiz wanta know anny more about the match, watch the video, because honestly, I'm a little bit locked , y'see I had one in Mothers, a small one in Keelaghans, a Vodka and RB in Redz,the usual in the Gen and up to Barney's to meet the lads and they said -we're all goin upta the Widda's to shoot some pool and then I remembered - I forgot to do the fecking web report . I think the occasion musta got to me.
    Full report here...

That's what I was referring to.
    The "official" site which contains gems like this in their match reports...

Full report here...
    That is absolutely shocking for an official site.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

The Irish Examiner reverts to being the Cork Examiner when it comes to Irish football. Almost died of shock when they ran a report on Rovers v. Bohs the other day.
    In general, the so-called qualities' coverage of the national league is desperately poor: it's a gig given to the new kids eager to graduate to trips to Old Trafford/Croke Park. Usual exception applies to the excellent Emmet Malone.
    I voted Mirror.
    Last edited by BohDiddley; 12/09/2006 at 10:27 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    Almost died of shock when they ran a report on Rovers v. Bohs the other day.
    That's a very misinformed opinion.
    I'll buy you a copy of the Examiner next Saturday morning and you'll see that they cover all the action from the previous night. They always do.