Thread: Sligo Rovers Vs. Cork City latest

Quote Originally Posted by redgav View Post
    ...baring in mind we'd not scored in 5 games...
    I take it you missed the Derry game???

Formerly: wild rover
    Not being smart , but when I said I hope ye stay up , a decade was the type of time span I meant, and your comment is similar to one I got on here from a harps fan after we beat them in Ballyb last season ....Yer doing well,playing good football, with a manager who looks like he wants football played properly...sadly for you ,he'll be in demand

I definatly don't remember anyone being on the pitch when we scored ,baring in mind we'd not scored in 5 games ,so the relief would have been huge ,but deffo not remember anyone on the pitch,up at the barrier yes

I'm gutted that the game was last nite tho , the original saturday date would have meant a huge City crowd ,even had a bus ready to go myself but too great a distance on a tues nite unfortunatly

i know and he will be gone in at the most 3 years...at the very most...but i think we can win the league in that time..we are different to harps..believe me...

i think we could have had a bigger crowd too and maybe it could have been a different scoreline...theres always next year anyway..i hope if we beat killester i think the semi finals are on the weekend we play ye in the X.....so that would make it 3/3 postponed

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar View Post
    Is moderator boy going to try and ban me again?
    You've had an easy run of games and your position flatters you.

Even when you play out of your skin, you can't score against us, not to mention beat us! You're hovering around the level of Pats and Bohs but you'll finish below both of them this season.
    We'll see at the end of the season.I know for a fact, however, that you will be wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Soper View Post
    I know for a fact, however, that you will be wrong.
    Throw out tonights Lotto results there while you're at it.

I take it you missed the Derry game???
    Oh yeah ,forgot that one
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

The Ball thing was a **** take , 2 lads had a game of keepie uppie for 3 or 4 seconds untill a Rambo steward went in swinging,harmless laugh and I didn't see anyone on the pitch !!??
    Their was Cork City fans on the pitch after the second goal-FACT. As for the steward, it wasn't that bad. Now the City fan making an official complaint to the Gardai after the game, that was pathetic. Making a big deal out of a little thing imo!

Sorry if I seem aggressive redgav but just thinking over the match again and it annoys me we got nothing from it.

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover View Post
    i know and he will be gone in at the most 3 years...at the very most...but i think we can win the league in that time..we are different to harps..believe me...

i think we could have had a bigger crowd too and maybe it could have been a different scoreline...theres always next year anyway..i hope if we beat killester i think the semi finals are on the weekend we play ye in the X.....so that would make it 3/3 postponed
    I hope ye are different to harps ,the more Strong non Dub teams in the league the better for all of us .Make them travel more than 5 or 6 games a season for a change.....yer not too different from Derry tho , that gear is too similar , and we passed a pub called " The Brandywell" too

The sligo kids love stating "facts"!

...it annoys me we got nothing from it.
    Welcome to the big league!
    You're in for a lot more disappointment this season...

The sligo kids love stating "facts"!
    Peadar again, you weren't there so get back in yer box or go to the next game.

Cork players ran over to the Cork fans after the second and two(maybe three) Cork fans hopped the fence and hugged the players, again that's FACT Peadar!

I hope ye are different to harps ,the more Strong non Dub teams in the league the better for all of us .Make them travel more than 5 or 6 games a season for a change.....yer not too different from Derry tho , that gear is too similar , and we passed a pub called " The Brandywell" too

is there...where

aye....they all talk about the massive crowds they can bring,usually when it takes about 10 mins to get to the games...all you have to do is look at the top 5 to see where the best football is played..outside dublin

i hope we are different to harps!the thing that worries me is with our poor crowds this season we will have to sell one or two...we need some more money from somewhere...

is there...where
    Dromod I think. It's between Carrick and Longford anyway!

Don't beat yourselves up over it, Sligs. We've only conceded 9 goals in the league this season and at least 2 of them were own goals.

we wont ...our stewards will just beat ye up

we can still finish about ye though...i look forward to going to turners cross for the first time....and we will create a better impression than the last 3 games!

foyzer has something to prove 21st october...

Their was Cork City fans on the pitch after the second goal-FACT. As for the steward, it wasn't that bad. Now the City fan making an official complaint to the Gardai after the game, that was pathetic!

Sorry if I seem aggressive redgav but just thinking over the match again and it annoys me we got nothing from it.
    The steward smacked him into the barrier and could've hurt the fan.Very un-professional ,he went flying in to him and as soon as it happened ,he turned and walked off to the other side of the stadium ( or was told to) and was replaced by another lad .It was a ott reaction that in a different circumstances /teams could have needless probelms.
    As I said , I was too busy celebrating when the player was mobbed so wasn't paying close attention but deffo ddn't notice anything like that .A lot of lads ran to the barrier and leaned over ...

The steward smacked him into the barrier and could've hurt the fan.Very un-professional ,he went flying in to him and as soon as it happened ,he turned and walked off to the other side of the stadium ( or was told to) and was replaced by another lad .It was a ott reaction that in a different circumstances /teams could have needless probelms.
    As I said , I was too busy celebrating when the player was mobbed so wasn't paying close attention but deffo ddn't notice anything like that .A lot of lads ran to the barrier and leaned over ...

did he have a beard and grey-ish hair

but deffo ddn't notice anything like that
    Well it happened!
    did he have a beard and grey-ish hair
    Nope.

Their was Cork City fans on the pitch after the second goal-FACT. As for the steward, it wasn't that bad. Now the City fan making an official complaint to the Gardai after the game, that was pathetic. Making a big deal out of a little thing imo!
    Cork players ran over to the Cork fans after the second and two(maybe three) Cork fans hopped the fence and hugged the players, again that's FACT Peadar!
    The players came towards us after Flynny's goal and two lads hopped the fence and hugged the group of fans/players. They were a yard inside the fence and certainly DID NOT go onto the pitch!!

Quote Originally Posted by Eric View Post
    The players came towards us after Flynny's goal and two lads hopped the fence and hugged the group of fans/players. They were a yard inside the fence and certainly DID NOT go onto the pitch!!
    Technically, once you hop the fence in the Showgrounds you are on the pitch. The fence is there to stop entry onto the pitch, the lads hopped the fence and therefore were on the pitch. Stop trying to deny it!

First time in the Showgrounds last night and It was well worth the trip .....3 great goals by Roy Flynn and Fenn .If I was a Sligo fan id feel hard done by 3-0 didnt reflect the way Sligo played........managed to swop a city scarf for a sligo one 93-94 season one .

Throw out tonights Lotto results there while you're at it.
    I actually won a tenner on the lotto.I must be gifted.