Thread: Rovers 1-0 Bohs

Rovers 1-0 Bohs

great result! goal for hughesy i think! not exactly a good performance but we got the result! roll on Cork

Sign of a good team isnt it what they say can win
    without playing well , Well done the lads in the Blue stand and the Shed for the singing just one thing , when you hear English fans chant "Red Army" they chant it in an English accent because they are English so I dont know why the English accent is copied!

well i usually go to the shed but arrived there today and it was the worse i've ever seen it TBH(like a funeral) so myself and me mates decided to go blue stand. was very good atmosphere there to be fair! but a few points about it.

1.not the same singing sitting down(so we stood at the back)
    2.not the same with seats in the way, ya need open space to jump about and go f**kin mental!
    3.not a good a vantage point as the shed IMO

next i will go to the shed again, buyt i plead, the people who make the atmosphere in the blue stand come over to the shed!

21 Posts
    As a former shed head looking in tonight there was a good buzz in the Showgrounds tonight but u can't compare it to games gone by. The Rovers is a different scene today. Since the heady days of Mc Stay, Scanchez and Cotterill has there been another manager to compare them? Is Connor even in the same league? Is this the luckiest rovers side to ever set foot in the Showgrounds?

Sanchez's record at rovers was
    p33 w 12 d 7 l14 f 43a-42 pt 43
    seans so far this season is
    p21 w10 d5 l6 f 27 a 24 pt35
    So to suggest that Sean isnt in the same league as him is a bit much

21 Posts
    Well thats hardly a combination of the three but in relation to Scanchezs season in the Showgrounds this season wouldnt of got a look in.

In what way ?

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Jeez Gustavo at least the lads who where there tonight were singing, no offense but i really can't stand people who think they know it all i been going to Rovers for years a lot longer than you and i have never heard this so called chant done with an english accent. Well done to all tonight my Father came back and told the atmosphere was great in there and so did my mate so well done and great to get another 3 points. Mate told me best atmosphere in years.

p.s. Not trying to start a argument i just dont like somebody who sits on their hands for a game having a go at people who dont and who go and try to create one.
    I told ya before RT, you need to lose that english accent you picked up when you were accross the water at college!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Rogue Trader View Post
    Blue stand is far better craic imo and that is where we should head to from now on, i was there last night but from the people i spoke said the atmosphere was very good, anyway the view is far surperior in the Jinks than the shed.
    i still reckon its better in the shed when its not like a funeral...i hate havin seats in the way cause i stand up. TBH.

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    when you hear English fans chant "Red Army" they chant it in an English accent because they are English so I dont know why the English accent is copied!

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8 View Post
    its just my opinion that the Red Army Red Army chant is done in an english accent thats alll

i agree with gus on this one,but i dont sing it in an english accent.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    i agree with gus on this one,but i dont sing it in an english accent.

Its not an uncommon occurance - I watch Celtic games in the pub hear in England and many English Celtic fans sing with an Irish accent.

Its only a little thing and and its a bit petty to slag off fans sing for not prouncing a harsh R in army

anyway back to football.....very sloppy disorganised performance.burnsy was the only decent performer. O'Grady was shocking at times last nite..but we'll forgive him for that.bohs are a very good team and we're doin well to grind out results against them,were a team well able to qualify for europe and we're well able to beat Cork.

McNamara was shocking i thought.Burnsy carries him so much.
    Cash wasnt at the races either.McT was brillinat when he came on and should start against Cork now.He wins free kicks which we are become quite handy at and isnt caught offside half as much as Mansaram and Cash.
    Harpal was exceptional again.what a player.covered Foy from the constint attacks down that side.

21 Posts
    Good result last night but there was one main difference between the teams Bohs could knock it around, we couldnt string two passes together. Faz is a good footballer but lacks confidence or maybe he doesnt have the bottle for it. Hopefully Mc Tiernan has match fitness and able to start for the Cork game, great run that led to the free kick for the goal. Flashes shot that hit the crossbar was a rocket, they must have shook for a least a minute afterwards, never seen anything like it.

Smile rov v bohs

we did' nt perform great on the night. i am a bit worried why sean persists in playing turner at right full when peers was available. we lost it out in midfield and if he had moved turner in earlier we would have being much stronger. connor o grady has a very poor ist touch at times however overall he is having a great season. we should play the ball on the ground more to many high balls for mansaram . cash didnt do much. mct again did very well and should start against cork. faz had poor game (but i will forgive him) as he is a confidence player (red his player profile in program. once again ohara was outstanding as was burns. mcnanara very slow at times. hughes worked hard as did harpil. was choice on the bench? i think this guy should be brought in more big and strong. if he is not getting more play he will get fed up. still great to get 3 points. however we havent played exceptionally well in our last 3 games and we have the luck but we need to play more ground football. good crowd there tonite and good atmosphere. i was in the new stand and blue stand made much more noise. no disrespect to shed. both of yee should get togeather and then more people would follow. we all support the one team . anyway congrats on the effort. roll on tuesday

i think its good now how there are 2 singing sections,rather than just the shed.if people want to sing they can choose which one they want....like say if they dont like the shedheads or vice versa.
    it should look good on ELW tomorrow(if they show it)
    all we need now is a group to get going in the main stand and were laughing.having said that fair play to them for getting the "Rovers" chant going a few times last night.

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars View Post
    i think its good now how there are 2 singing sections
    Exactly. And all the better if there were three or four. If you don't want to go to the Shed or the blue stand, don't waste your breath whingeing about it. Go to the other one and make some noise.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Terrible performance. We really need to improve on that if we wanna finish 4th. O'Grady was shocking as was Faz(it's gone beyond a joke now, no more excuses!). McTiernan did very well when he came on, deserves to start against Cork, Harpal and Foy did well too. McNamara was dodgy, luckily Burns was alongside him. O'Hara kept us in the game loads of times once again!

Great atmosphere but have to feel sorry for Bohs not getting any points in the end.