Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910

Thread: Supporting British teams

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover View Post
    keith foy and harpel singh is better than any villa player too so whats the point
    Yeah thats the reason Petrov didnt sign for us...he was shiitin himself that we wouldnt get in the team

I do, Derby County, family is from there so thats why, try to get over a few times a season
    Sitting pretty!!!

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    but you are the less football fan. you are free to follow your english side and think you are great, we are free to mock you for that cop out of a choice.

following english football is an anti-establishment reactionary thing? get real
    Yes pal you are a far superior being than me. How can I ever catch up. HA ha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    but you are the less football fan. you are free to follow your english side and think you are great, we are free to mock you for that cop out of a choice.
    And people are free to mock you for thinking you are "special"

There are very good points to both sides of the argument and excellently put across by dcfcsteve and PP however I can't help feeling that a lot of people have missed a simple point before jumping up on their soapboxes.

Again I say IMO, that football is about feeling. Those feelings can be for a team that's across the road or across the water. There is no logic in it and as much as people say support your local team I have still to find anyone that can tell me why other than "because you should". Why should I support my local team instead of someone else?? What seems like logic for you does not necessarily mean logic for me.

As I mentioned earlier, I'm a Cobh lad born and bred who played for Cobh. Now some people would expect me to support Cobh but I don't, I just don't have that "feeling". It's not my fault and it's not something I can explain as I like EL football and am always wanting Irish clubs to progress in Europe.

So the next time when people get on their high horses and look down their noses on people who don't support their hometown team, then hopefully you won't be so ignorant to assume that they think the EL is rubbish or that they are naive and waste all their money on trips to England or Scotland. You can't explain it, just accept it and live and let live.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Excellent post.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

IMO,I think the difference between supporting your local side and a foreign side is that, if you support your Local side (i.e. Kildare County) your more like a Kildare County Supporter, but if you support a foreign side (i.e. Liverpool) your more like a football supporter.....

Now I support Kildare County & Liverpool, Kildare County because of the thrill of when they win and being able to experience everytin every step of the way, and Liverpool because of the quality of football they play, the fact that they are worldwide famous and that its something to talk about when your with your mates, and the thrill of going over to Anfield.

I call myself a supporter of both sides, no matter what people say. And I understand why people support the teams they do, so whats the point in critisicing them on who they support?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kildare Lad View Post

Now I support Kildare County & Liverpool, Kildare County because of the thrill of when they win and being able to experience everytin every step of the way, and Liverpool because of the quality Iof football they play, the fact that they are worldwide famous and that its something to talk about when your with your mates, and the thrill of going over to Anfield.

liverpool and quality of football.thats funny

RoverstilIdie, Fair play to you for owning part of the club, I happen to greatly respect what you lot done at the time to save the club having been working with a chap who had to skip out of the job to attend the meetings and filling me in on the in & outs.

And I fully accept the point of the Chelsea "fans" and prior to that United ones who crawl out of the woodwork & your antipathy to them.

But my point is that I spent time in London every year of my life and Spurs happened to be the first ground I visited as a lad. They grabbed my affection and nothing has changed since through a lot of frustrating times.

I've also been to watch Celtic & Rovers as it happens over the years and while I still look out for their results, Spurs would be my first love. I've never ran anyone down for following the EL & can appreciate how it must grate to be ridiculed for doing so.

However, people thinking that they are superior because they follow the EL is as laughable as the opposite situation. Each to their own.

This from the fiver today....

The best thing about tonight's Big Cup matches featuring the MU Rowdies and the Queen's Celtic is that it allows Sky Sports News to canvas the opinions of both teams' fans without having to speak to more than one person. If the footage on the Fiver's telly is anything to go by, Manchester city centre is currently infested with confused Irishmen who support the Scottish champions from Scotland in Great Britain because they're an Irish team, but also support the MU Rowdies because they were top of the English league in England in Great Britain when these glory-hunting bandwagon-jumpers first took an interest in football.
    A patriot is someone who knows how to hate his country properly.

Wriiten by an Irishman incidentally

386 Posts
    All hail Celtic the only Irish team worth supporting

57 Posts
    Well 3-2 to one Irish team over another tonight. Yah Yah yah we have RTE advertising all their fantastic football coverage this Autumn and no mention of Irish football but Malcom O'Glazier's boys will be on every week.

Ultimately thogh it is something we need to sort out in our league to make it more attractive. I hate to think how many Irish people were in Old Trafford tonight.

It's the biggest derby in Irish football.

82 Posts
    I'd visions of schitzophrenic Irish people in half and half Celtic/Man U scarves at Old Trafford and in every bar around the country tearing themselves in two trying to simultaneously celebrate and hurl abuse at their "heroes" on both sides.

Only in Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Wriiten by an Irishman incidentally
    I thought so. That'd give them licence for the paddy-whackery. And they had that nifty piece on Barry Andrews.
    Any clue who, or is that classified?

Quote Originally Posted by BohDiddley View Post
    I thought so. That'd give them licence for the paddy-whackery. And they had that nifty piece on Barry Andrews.
    Any clue who, or is that classified?
    Sean Ingle and Barry Glendenning on the fiver team are both Irish AFAIK - think one or the other is a closet Bohemian

Quote Originally Posted by sonofstan View Post
    Sean Ingle and Barry Glendenning on the fiver team are both Irish AFAIK - think one or the other is a closet Bohemian
    Glendenning is from Birr in Offaly, although he used to write for Hot Press in Dublin.

106 Posts
    Ingle is English, I think Paul Doyle's the other Irishman on the Fiver team (besides Theme Pub O' Fiver of course).
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

Quote Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
    Ingle is English, I think Paul Doyle's the other Irishman on the Fiver team (besides Theme Pub O' Fiver of course).
    Sorry, you're right. My bad

Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910