Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: New Manager

Well this isnt a rumour........guess which former Limerick Manager and his noble yet talentless mad side kick were helping out Derry City last Tuesday in UL?

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    He's got a bit of a journey on his hands.
    Mayo to limerick 3/4 times a week?
    and he's ****e too.

agree with yu there, hes toss. Nothing in his past roles as manager of any club signals quality or success

Question

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    agree with yu there, hes toss. Nothing in his past roles as manager of any club signals quality or success
    Who are ye talking about ? And what mad sidekick ?

The rumour to which gael refers is one which suggests that NOC and Aidan Ryan took a training session with Derry City last week. And just to further muddy the waters Tommy Lynch was at Danny Drew's arm yesterday in Tolka Park.

what badges are needed to manage in the LOI?

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    The rumour to which gael refers is one which suggests that NOC and Aidan Ryan took a training session with Derry City last week. And just to further muddy the waters Tommy Lynch was at Danny Drew's arm yesterday in Tolka Park.
    they didn't take a training session, they met with Stephen Kenny and his staff to go through the Limerick team, strengths, weakness etc......
    Tommy Lynch is interim coach at the moment, someone to take training as the lads were a bit fed up of Danny's efforts!, a few people were interviewed for the job last week, Mike Kerley and Gavin Dykes among them

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by see's it View Post
    what badges are needed to manage in the LOI?
    For Division 1 you need your Map Reader, Rescuer,
    Pathfinder, Adventurer and Entertainer badges

Although most get away without having the Entertainer one

Quote Originally Posted by superhero View Post
    they didn't take a training session, they met with Stephen Kenny and his staff to go through the Limerick team, strengths, weakness etc......
    Well thats just lovely of them isn't it.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    Well thats just lovely of them isn't it.
    Glad we are shot of them. 2 Complete and utter W**nkers. No more no less.
    We are doing better managerless: 5 points in the last 3 games than we did for thew last 3 months under those two muppets !!

NOC can shove his Coaching badges up his A**se
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

A replacement still has to be found though. Short term results such as 5 points out of the last 9 are all well and good, but without a suitable managerial structure that the players respect, then its going to go very sour very fast.

I know his last ten games were poor, and that is pretty obvious, but the first ten were excellent and he got no credit for those. It was down to the players. Why were the players not criticised at all for the horrendous run of ten games. I know everyone will say that I'm being pro- NOC here but I'm actually being objective. I'm acknowledging both the good and the bad, not just the bad.It works both ways and it should be seen that way. Personal abuse is never called for or welcomed here on this site.

Anyone who turns around after "Parting Company because of Business pressures" and then coaches the opposition in a major Cup Competition deserves all the criticism that is thrown at him.

Why Joe in the last 2 Years have things gone pear shaped at the exact same time of the season? Maybe something to do with Poor Man Management and dressing room troubles.
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Not arguing with you in the least here John....just trying to be objective.

Well, having been slagged off for being too objective before ( ) I can see where Joe is coming from but he is wrong. I think if you look back NOC was given credit at the start of teh season - though in most cases I think his detractors just disappeared rather than give credit. The run of results subsequently was enough to get him sacked IMO. It was obvious the team was foundering and he seemed unable to steady it. The buck stops with NOC and since it was obvious that the club was going nowhere fast his departure was warranted. Keeping him there just because we had no obvious successor was a recipe for discontent and change was needed even just to give the brief fillip it gave. Of course long-term DD is not a viable alternative - I presume even he knows that.... But tehre is time to get something out of this season without NOC and little chance with NOC as a lame duck manager.

I do think helping out Derry prior to the cup game was a lousy thing to do. Its not like Derry really needed it so it is a real two fingers up to LFC.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Not arguing with you in the least here John....just trying to be objective.
    You don't think that objectivity should include such things as the fallout with Paul Finucane as well as our early season form no? Or the obvious inability to change things tactically? Or the baffling persistance with Kevin Waters and Conor Synott (though the new team seem to have a blind spot there too)? Sure we started the season with an excellent, excellent sequence of results (performances were patchy throughout but if things had continued in that vein there would have been few complaints) but objectivity is a dangerous game. If I was to be objective about his league cup success I could argue that it was shameful that a team who could beat four top flight teams on their way to that trophy could be sufficiently unmotivated to finish bottom of the first division the same year.

Unlike a lot of people here I stayed out of the Noel bashing that went on when he left and I've no intention of joining in now, I've always gotten on well with him personally and I believe that he genuinely did his best for Limerick. That said the fact that he was willing to go out and give Derry a hand before one of our biggest games of the season is truly disappointing and seems like a bit of a two fingers to Limerick and all of us who care about the club.

Objectivity to me is the ability to see both sides clearly and the fact of the matter is that while there were some serious errors made, there was also a lot of good too which by and large went unnoticed.

As you said SLK, the detractors who now have the knives out and the fingers wagging disappeared through the good ten game league run, the defeat of Drogheda in the cup and the good league cup run.

Thats not being objective, its being blinkerred and allows personal feelings dictate. I'm a Manchester United fan, but I think Alex Ferguson is a knob...yet I praise his achievements as well as criticise his faults. The main objective of the club is to now find a replacement that will put in the same level of time, effort and commitment for a similar salary. Not going to be easy.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    As you said SLK, the detractors who now have the knives out and the fingers wagging disappeared through the good ten game league run, the defeat of Drogheda in the cup and the good league cup run.
    Well I rank myself amongst those finger wagging, knives out detractors that disappeared when the going was good so I'll field this one I think. Throughout our good run of last year and this I still had great misgivings about Noels management style and about his tactical ineptness, but what would be achieved by myself or whoever else coming on here and pointing out what I thought again and again (and I think I made myself perfectly clear as to what I thought about NOC being given the job for about a year or more afterwards) about NOC, his management style and his tactical non-awareness. Plus as any Limerick fan can tell you we're at our most vocal when things are turning sour.

As far as I can remember though I only ever critcised NOC personally on here when he himself started making decisions last year that were more based on his personal preferences rather than what he thought was best for the team, i.e. shipping Derek, our then top scorer out on loan for the rest of the season. When he did that based on personal reasons I thought, and still do think that he left himself open for some personal attacks. What he did before the Derry game in my book leaves him open yet again for more personal attacks, simply because anyone can see that giving Derry a hand in that game was a lousy, unprofessional thing to do to a club that has given you every chance to prove yourself and a chairman that has just given you a decent severence package and one that has defended you to the hilt against us detractors

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    but what would be achieved by myself or whoever else coming on here and pointing out what I thought again and again (and I think I made myself perfectly clear as to what I thought about NOC being given the job for about a year or more afterwards) about NOC, his management style and his tactical non-awareness.
    Well, be not giving credit when it's due, criticism is not really credible and comes across as subjective and bias.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Plus as any Limerick fan can tell you we're at our most vocal when things are turning sour.
    Not quite all of them.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Okay then In Exile, what point would there have been in me coming on here when we were in the middle of our good run and saying that NOC is a talentless hack who is in the middle of a red hot lucky streak that will quickly run out?

Had I done so I would have had yourself going on about how I have something personal against NOC and I can't see past that to how good a job he is doing. So instead of getting involved in yet another petty tit for tat 'discussion' with you I left you, joesoap and whoever else harp on and on about how NOC is showing his doubters the error of their ways cause I knew it would all blow up in your face at some stage, just as it did last season, but no I thought I'd be the bigger man, which I should have realised was never going to happen on foot.ie

This is ridiculous.
    Noel O' Connor showed his abilities through both terms at Limerick FC.
    He was not sucessfull because he is not good enough. It's as simple as that. He was given the opportunity and he failed.
    Leaving the club all the richer he advises Derry City on how to knock us out of the League Cup. Show me where in that he should be respected.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast