Thread: Did they get the ball out of the stadium ?

Did they get the ball out of the stadium ?

Im desperate to know if the three irish lads managed to smuggle the match ball out of the stadium. It came flying in our direction with about 15 minutes left and some guy grabbed it and hid it under a flag by his seat. The German 'Gestapo like' security piled into the crowd trying to find out where it was and generally acted like a-holes over a simple football.

They never found it but were banging on about how it would never get out of the stadium as they would be waiting for us all at the gate.

One of the three stuffed a giant hat under his shirt to act as a decoy while they tried to get it out in another direction - it was like the Irish version of the Great Escape .

One of them had a peoplesflag.com shirt on.

Did they make it ? I have 20 euros riding on this ..

I was at a Champions League game once where a player hoofed the ball into the crowd at the end of the game. There was an announcement then that the home club would be fined by UEFA if the ball wasn't returned. They were very serious! Something to do with the report or something.

It was probably one of those "you had to be there moments" but everyone in the section saw where the guy had hidden the ball.

The security guys were going nuts trying to find it and these auld irish geezers were pointing in all directions saying "oi taught it went dan dare officer".

Apart from one of them wearing the peoplesflag.com I cant remember where they were from. I do remember that they wouldnt sit down for most of the match despite everyone screaming at them to sit.

Quote Originally Posted by wallis View Post
    I do remember that they wouldnt sit down for most of the match despite everyone screaming at them to sit.
    I'm so glad I wasn't at that game!

The problem was, we were in the 'expensive' part level with the edge of the penalty area and had a lot of german fans, old people and families with kids and these guys were four rows from the front. They insisted on standing all the way through whenever possible and to make matters worse two other fellas were standing up with them but wearing those big Irish hats. Most of us couldnt see eff all and even if we stood up it didnt help.

The families who had brought kids with them (or people who were just not tall) kept shouting at them to sit down. It got a bit edgy when they kept turning round and yelling "well get off yer arse yer bunch of c;nts" and having a slanging match with our own fans.

They would have been better of behind the goal to be honest as they wanted to stand up all the time.

As the old fella next to me said "I didnt come all this way and pay all that money to get a fecking workout because of you you big sh;te"

More reason for a Croker singing section perhaps ?

The problem was, we were in the 'expensive' part level with the edge of the penalty area and had a lot of german fans, old people and families with kids and these guys were four rows from the front. They insisted on standing all the way through whenever possible and to make matters worse two other fellas were standing up with them but wearing those big Irish hats. Most of us couldnt see eff all and even if we stood up it didnt help.

The families who had brought kids with them (or people who were just not tall) kept shouting at them to sit down. It got a bit edgy when they kept turning round and yelling "well get off yer arse yer bunch of c;nts" and having a slanging match with our own fans.

They would have been better of behind the goal to be honest as they wanted to stand up all the time.

As the old fella next to me said "I didnt come all this way and pay all that money to get a fecking workout because of you you big sh;te"

More reason for a Croker singing section perhaps ?
    Wallis, was this in Section 53A? I was in Row 26 of that section and there were about 8/10 Irish fans about 15 rows in front of me who kept standing up facing the crowd behind them, not the game, trying to get other fans around them to 'stand up for the boys in green'.

One of them looks a bit like Damian Duff (I think he has something to do with peoplesflag.com). They were an embarrassment to themselves and ruined the view of the match for several others who kept shouting at them to sit down. They spent more time arguing with other Ireland fans that watching the game!

Just to the right of them was a female dressed in an Ireland shirt who spent the whole game either standing up, annoying those behind her or sitting on her boyfriend's lap instead of in her own seat.

I spoke after the game to a couple of the lads who were from London (could have been the London Supporters Club?) who were 'sitting' directly behind this shower. One of guys told me this girl was American or Canadian, knew f**k all about football, was as drunk as her boyfriend and did not give a f**k that she was blocking the view of those sitting behind her. How the fu*k does the likes of that get a ticket?

Modern all-seated football grounds are designed for people to come in, sit down and watch the game. You can still cheer your team, sing your head off sitting down as good as you can standing up and not spoil the enjoyment of others. When one stands up it creates a 'domino' effect and others who would rather be seated are forced to stand up to see anything.

People who refuse to sit down at a game are an irritant and when they are wearing Irish shirts, they are an embarrasment to the majority of Irish fans who just want to watch the game.

Personally, I would have been happier to see the security coming into that section of the crowd and forcing those idiots to sit down or to leave if they didn't, rather than searching for a football.

The most comical sight of all was this Damian Duff lookallike who spent about 10 minutes of the second half on his feet, despite several people shouting at him to sit down, rotating his hands, gesturing for Staunton to make a substitute. Dont know whether he thought that Stan had spotters in the stand looking for advice from fans. Fu*kin eejit of the first order.

If this is what a 'singing section' of Croker would look like, then they can keep it.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

47 Posts
    Sitting down at matches plainly sucks. I feel like im watching it on tv when you have to sit down. I wouldnt do it to block peoples views however.

Superhoops - I'm afraid you won't get much backing on here with that post. I'd sit at most games because I'm obviously not going to stand on my own but if a bunch of people in front of me stood up I'd be more than happy to stand for the 90 minutes. There is a huge difference in an atmosphere of a crowd on their feet compared to those sitting down.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Modern all-seated football grounds are designed for people to come in, sit down and watch the game. You can still cheer your team, sing your head off sitting down as good as you can standing up and not spoil the enjoyment of others. When one stands up it creates a 'domino' effect and others who would rather be seated are forced to stand up to see anything.

People who refuse to sit down at a game are an irritant and when they are wearing Irish shirts, they are an embarrasment to the majority of Irish fans who just want to watch the game.
    I disagree utterly and fundamentally. I was standing up for the whole game and refused to sit down for people behind me. Their only argument was "We paid for this seat". That's ****** - they paid to watch the match, and they could still see it. It's unfortunate - and utterly stupid - that separate standing sections aren't allowed, but we're going to have to work on that (preferably through the Croker section). For the record, I offered to switch seats with them so I wouldn't be in front of them; they refused.

I also question your comment that "the majority of Irish fans...just want to watch the game." From what I could see and hear, the majority of the Irish fans in Stuttgart wanted to stand up and make as much noise as possible. You can look at how quickly "Stand up for the Boys in Green" takes off every time it's started. Those who urge everyone to sit down are in the minority. The stewards would have told these people to stand up and stop complaining. Exactly as the stewards in Paris did.

You can not create the same atmosphere sitting down. That's not a scientifically proven fact, but it's as near as dammit. People who sit down end up, as Ronnie noted, acting almost as if they were watching on the telly. You get the same atmosphere we had in Cyprus - dead because everyone was sitting down. Compare that to Paris and Stuttgart, where everyone was standing up. Compare again to the English Premiership, where sitting is strictly enforced. Compare again to the big eL games, where you have the larger crowds and where many people stand up. Compare again to the Bundesliga and Serie A, which are generally said to have the best atmospheres at games in Europe and at which separate terracing and seating areas are in place. That's not a coincidence.

People, like yourself it seems, who think people who stand up and create an atmosphere are an embarrassment are the real embarrassment. If you want to watch a football match sitting down, go to the pub or your sitting room. These people invariably bring nothing to the atmopshere, nothing to the game and nothing to the team. It's typical of an Irish culture where we think watching games means going to the pub every Ford Sunday Soccer Special.

Modern all-seater stadia are designed to (a) avoid running terrace battles and (b) make enforcing capacities a lot easier. It was a knee-jerk reaction to incidents such as Hillsborough, Heysel, etc. There were far better ways of overcoming the problems that led to those tragic events.

I think this sums up your attitude -

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    If this is what a 'singing section' of Croker would look like, then they can keep it.
    So an area to try and recreate the atmospheres of Paris and Stuttgart should be forgotten? Superb.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 04/09/2006 at 8:47 PM.

3 things - 1 did they get the ball out or what?????

2 - i was in 66C with a large number of Germans in front of us and they all seemed to be standing as well, and anyone who wants to sit hould request row 1 seats!

3 - the worst thing about the cyprus match will be a lot of people may sit, but hope there not behind me cos i dont give a s**** im standing

If you want to sit then go to the pub. I stood for the whole game as did those around me, anyone else with other ideas was promptly told where to go

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Forever Dreamin View Post
    3 things - 1 did they get the ball out or what?????

2 - i was in 66C with a large number of Germans in front of us and they all seemed to be standing as well, and anyone who wants to sit hould request row 1 seats!

3 - the worst thing about the cyprus match will be a lot of people may sit, but hope there not behind me cos i dont give a s**** im standing
    You won't need to worry in Cyprus. There will be nobody there. I expec tthe crowd to be 6,000-7,000 and most of them Irish. anybody that wants to stand or sit can move comfortable to do so.

Superhoops - spot on - 53A was were it was at !!

The girl on the lap was ridiculous , how she even got in beggars belief. She was off her head and sat on this guys lap before the game. Then when the game started, stood up and blocked everyones view and knew sod all about what was going on. She even stood up and cheered when the brass band came out at half time because she thought it was the team !!!

Ive no problem with people standing and cheering but these guys up front were unfortunately in the wrong place at the right time. The Peoples flag guy was buckled and mouthed on and on to everyone behind him about 'getting up and supporting the team' unaware that most people behind him were German !. Those who were not german were mostly older guys or people with kids from the London Supporters club and had kids who couldnt see past the group even standing on chairs.

Theres no need for calling people 'c.nts' either just because they wont stand up. Supporters are no less fans of the team just because they dont stand.

Anyway, back to the original point- of all people to get the match ball... it was them .. would love to know if they made it out.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    The same atmosphere can not be created sitting down than standing up. At EL grounds it isn't a problem as there would be space or if there wasn't everybody would be standing up anyway. However in a situation such as this standing up would severley hamper one's view.

3,491 Posts
    The girl on the lap was ridiculous , how she even got in beggars belief. She was off her head and sat on this guys lap before the game. Then when the game started, stood up and blocked everyones view and knew sod all about what was going on. She even stood up and cheered when the brass band came out at half time because she thought it was the team !!!

Ive no problem with people standing and cheering but these guys up front were unfortunately in the wrong place at the right time.
    So you're problem is more to do with people being stupid drunk and annoying at games rather than standing? Fair enough point.

Mods - want to split to two threads?

[QUOTE=pineapple stu;528857]I disagree utterly and fundamentally. I was standing up for the whole game and refused to sit down for people behind me. Their only argument was "We paid for this seat". That's ****** - they paid to watch the match, and they could still see it.

Im afraid thats garbage. If you have to sit three rows behind 3 or 4 six foot guys who big built and are standing up, they cover half the pitch. You cant see without standing up yourself and if you are not very tall it makes no difference. I was sitting almost in a direct line with the penalty area, when they stood up they blocked the entire opposite half of the pitch - nothing could be seen.

I also question your comment that "the majority of Irish fans...just want to watch the game." From what I could see and hear, the majority of the Irish fans in Stuttgart wanted to stand up and make as much noise as possible. You can look at how quickly "Stand up for the Boys in Green" takes off every time it's started.

Yes , but the reason it is successful is because we ARE NOT standing up ! It normally comes at a quiet time of the game when everyone is sitting down and nothing is happening. Its a great chant because people get off their seats and it creates an atmosphere.

People, like yourself it seems, who think people who stand up and create an atmosphere are an embarrassment are the real embarrassment.

No, the embarrassment comes when these guys start arguing with fellow supporters and call them all sorts of names in front of kids and opposition fans. They should just accept the fact that for one night they are not going to be able to get whammed and stand up for an evening.

If you want to watch a football match sitting down, go to the pub or your sitting room. These people invariably bring nothing to the atmopshere, nothing to the game and nothing to the team. It's typical of an Irish culture where we think watching games means going to the pub every Ford Sunday Soccer Special.

Thats total crap. Ive been to many Ireland games and an atmosphere is made by a combination of good performances on the pitch and a response off the pitch. There has been plenty of singing and support (Japan and Korea) where people stayed in their seats. Standing up is not a vital part of making an atmosphere - the premier league is all seater for goodness sake.

Sorry Pineapple , my 'edit/quote' options seem to be on the blink.

I have no problem with people being drunk/whammed/drugged up , whatever they want to be. But, some consideration for other fans would be nice in this case. People seem to think because they are standing up or ****ed or wearing the 'proper' shirt that they are better than other fans. Some of these guys were not just embarrassing but also obnoxious. Yelling at anyone whether they were german or irish does not help an atmosphere.

The girl really annoyed everyone though. She would jump up off her mans lap and wave her arms about when GERMANY would get a poxy throw on, and none of us could see what was happening.

I'd still like to know if they managed to get that ball out though !. .
    Last edited by wallis; 04/09/2006 at 9:55 PM.

82 Posts
    Standing up is not a vital part of making an atmosphere - the premier league is all seater for goodness sake.
    I don't know where to start with that, wrong on SO many levels.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wallis
    If you have to sit three rows behind 3 or 4 six foot guys who big built and are standing up, they cover half the pitch. You can't see without standing up yourself
    So you can still see. That's my point. The extra height each row is at means anyone can really see over anyone else if they're standing. I'm not the tallest and had no problem seeing over the person in front of me.

Yes, but the reason it is successful is because we ARE NOT standing up ! It normally comes at a quiet time of the game when everyone is sitting down and nothing is happening. Its a great chant because people get off their seats and it creates an atmosphere.
    But if everyone wanted to sit down and watch the match, as Superhoops is claiming, then the chant wouldn't take off and people wouldn't stand up.

No, the embarrassment comes when these guys start arguing with fellow supporters and call them all sorts of names in front of kids and opposition fans. They should just accept the fact that for one night they are not going to be able to get whammed and stand up for an evening.
    The "sit down" brigade are just as bad at this.

Standing up is not a vital part of making an atmosphere - the premier league is all seater for goodness sake.
    Exactly my point. The atmosphere in the Premier League is appalling.

God help people on here if they went to games not twenty years ago when sitting wasn't an option. What would the poor PC-ruled diddumses have done then?

Quote Originally Posted by Soko View Post
    anyone else with other ideas was promptly told where to go
    are you english in disguise?