Thread: Aiden McGeady

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    Photographic memory there.
    Macarthy had his favorites and picked them regardless of form. Duff was left out and used as sub despite good club form. Mageady has been played in most of the qualifiers and been rubbish.
    You just can't accept that you are continually being proved incorrect. Mc Geady was the Irish MOTM in his last outing. Accept that he has talent to burn. Remember Billy - you're only as good as your last game!!! Forget about the Duff comparisons please.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    You seem to imply that Duffs poor performances were in some way better than McGeadys? yet if Aiden was mindlessly running round like an eejit and losing the ball time and time again, Im not sure you would be so generous.
    Mageadys performances against slovakia and the czech republic were two of the worst I have ever seen by any Irish player. Ever.

BMC how am I being proved incorrect? I seen him play for Ireland and he has been rubbish. Thats a fact. I will be proved wrong when he puts in some good performancs for his country. And I will be delighted when I am.

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    Mageadys performances against slovakia and the czech republic were two of the worst I have ever seen by any Irish player. Ever.

BMC how am I being proved incorrect? I seen him play for Ireland and he has been rubbish. Thats a fact. I will be proved wrong when he puts in some good performancs for his country. And I will be delighted when I am.
    I can't help but get angry when you mention the games in prague and bratislava. I was at both games. How many times do I have to highlight that Mc Geady was not (by a long way) the worst against Slovakia - Stephan Ireland, Jon Douglas, John O Shea were all a lot worse. Against the Czech's - as a previously mentioned - the fans were calling for S Hunt within 15mins. How could a player who relies so much on confidence, get the necessary confidence to shine when listening to these chants. He tried though, but it didn't work for him. I will stress that I was not calling for S Hunt to be introduced and look what happened when he did enter the fray. Forget about these games (and stop using them as a stick to beat Mc Geady with) as the thought of Andy Reid on the bench in Bratislava is sickening.

Quote Originally Posted by BigmanCas View Post
    ...Mc Geady was the Irish MOTM in his last outing. .....
    Where did you see that?

I don't remember any Ireland MOTM being announced. I seem to remember in the following day's papers various journalists rating him between 6 and 8. In fact I believe the official MOTM was the Brazil full back Mauro who, athough McGeady went past him 3 or 4 times, regularly exploited the space down the wing that McGeady had vacated by his inability?/unwillingness? to track back, often chosing to just tuck inside.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Where did you see that?

I don't remember any Ireland MOTM being announced. I seem to remember in the following day's papers various journalists rating him between 6 and 8. In fact I believe the official MOTM was the Brazil full back Mauro who, athough McGeady went past him 3 or 4 times, regularly exploited the space down the wing that McGeady had vacated by his inability?/unwillingness? to track back, often chosing to just tuck inside.
    I said Irish MOTM!! Unfortunetly I am on a 'Hiding to Nothing' if some Irish people refuse to see the wood from the trees. How many times during the game did Mc Geady make 50/60 yard dribbles with the ball in croker that night? inability?/unwillingness? - codswollop/horses**t
    Superhoops - bahh hummbugg!!!!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    I said Irish MOTM!! Unfortunetly I am on a 'Hiding to Nothing' if some Irish people refuse to see the wood from the trees. How many times during the game did Mc Geady make 50/60 yard dribbles with the ball in croker that night? inability?/unwillingness? - codswollop/horses**t

Not to worry Cas I agree with ya
    Its really not that complicated!!!

50/60 yards? Most of those runs were into space. I like McGeady, but I think people are overstating how good he was against Brazil, just like others are arguing that he was one of the worst ever in an Irish shirt last September. I think he'll come good, but he definitely hasn't been as impressive in an Ireland shirt as he is in a Celtic shirt (yet).
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Not to worry Cas I agree with ya
    me too im just too fed up by all the negativity to defend mcgeady on here
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    It says 15 in the link and I think Jan VofH quoted 20 after the game - either way its pretty good.

McGeady appears to be the 2nd highest (McDonald is 1st) Celtic shooter as well using that database, which surprises me.
    He has 2 assists in the CL and 1 in the cup as well as his 15 in the league.

Can't believe Mc Geady has a thread.. What an over rated player... Ye may aswell open an Andy Reid thread.. Wait a minute...

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Pike B View Post
    Can't believe Mc Geady has a thread.. What an over rated player... Ye may aswell open an Andy Reid thread.. Wait a minute...
    what a stupid comment
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Are you serious?
    My concerns are global. I reject absolutely revenge, aggression, and retaliation. The foundation of such a method, is love. I love you Sheriff Truman.

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    what a stupid comment
    Really? So he is deserving of all this praise ya? Give me a break. Every time I watch him I am told of his ability and I really can't see what the fuss is about.. He's as good as Andy Reid.. Fair premier league, good Championship. No more..

Remember Billy - you're only as good as your last game!!!
    That cliche is used to critisise fickle fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Where did you see that?

McGeady tracked back an awful lot against Brazil. He actually had to play as a wing back off the ball because Kilbane tucked in so much.

Really? So he is deserving of all this praise ya? Give me a break. Every time I watch him I am told of his ability and I really can't see what the fuss is about.. He's as good as Andy Reid.. Fair premier league, good Championship. No more..
    Who would you pick in the team ahead of them then? Unfortunately, we don't have a population of 100 million so not all of our players are going to superstars.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    McGeady tracked back an awful lot against Brazil. He actually had to play as a wing back off the ball because Kilbane tucked in so much.
    Yeah that's true. Brazil's right back constantly getting space down the right wing was not McGeady's fault. He generally works hard to protect his full back from what I've seen of him. I worry if we have to play him at left back in the qualifiers.

Since Reid left Spurs he has been above average by premiership standards. He really has. Anyway, as you say there's already a thread to talk about Reid.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    Who would you pick in the team ahead of them then? Unfortunately, we don't have a population of 100 million so not all of our players are going to superstars.
    I would have him in our team. We don't have anyone better. We are blessed with no superstars. A few good quality premiership players but Mc Geady aint even that. He's Bolton, Birmingham, or Middlesborough at best..

But if he should be in our team shouldn't there be a thread on him? This is an Ireland forum after all. How someone can essentially say Reid isn't great is beyond me though. I think some people just can't see past his weight.

Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    But if he should be in our team shouldn't there be a thread on him? This is an Ireland forum after all.
    Hmmm,,, good point. Carry on lads