Results 1,521 to 1,540 of 4563

Thread: Aiden McGeady M Ayr Utd b.1986

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eekers View Post
    makes little sense for either newcastle or sunderland to buy him, neither of them need a left winger. newcastle have duff and nzogbia. sunderland spend a fortune on richardson last summer. its crap based on keegan living in glasgow (he didnt go to any celtic games during that time) and keane being irish. i can see him ending up at spurs if they dont get capel.
    Richardson hasn't been used as a wideman as such. Keane plays a 4-3-3/4-5-1 formation and he doesn't play Richardson flanking Jones in the way that McGeady would be used... That said I can't see him going to Sunderland.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

The Herald got some interesting quotes from Trap this morning. He said that after watching the DVD's of Ireland games, McGeady is the player that impressed him the most. The main reason he gave was because he was young and determined. He said he was an old fashioned player. I came on the internet (which is rare for me these days) expecting to find the quotes but maybe someone could post them?

/edit, he gets asked the same question in the last part of this interview:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AHzHTeVgK1s

He names the players he already knew about and said that the surprise was McGeady. Pity he's now out of the training camp and Serbia game after Rangers winning last night. He said a couple of months ago that he'd pull out of the Celtic squad if they had a post season friendly in Japan because he wanted to play join up with the Ireland squad.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 02/05/2008 at 8:22 PM.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishfan86 View Post

A few years in the Premiership with that kind of money, and their massive home crowds, and they'd be one of the richest clubs in Europe.
    ha ha

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    ha ha
    In terms of income Celtic would certainly be in the top 10 clubs in Europe after a season in the premiership.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 04/05/2008 at 7:51 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    In terms of income Celtic would certainly be in the top 10 clubs in Europe after a season in the premiership.
    Cork City would be loaded if we managed to get a franchise for it too. So would Forrest Green. Top 10? I don't know about that. What would they do without the Champions League?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Cork City would be loaded if we managed to get a franchise for it too.
    I thought Billsthoughts was laughing because he thinks what irishfan86 said is false. Maybe he's laughing because irishfan86 is stating the obvious.

What would they do without the Champions League?
    The winners of the SPL get £2m in prize money (includes TV money). £35m is the minimum a premiership team can get from TV money alone afaik. Spurs get £8.5m a year from Mansion sponsorship. Celtic get £3.6m a year from Carling. Ticket prices/demand would go up, etc, etc.

why do want celtic to join the premier league? to flush after all their tradition and hertiage for some big bucks and the chance to watch them play united on grand slam sunday.

Yippee Celtic being one of the richest 10 clubs in Europe if that happened but they wouldnt be allowed to qualify for europe thought the english route no doubt. and theyd need both the premiership and the champions league money to compete with united and chelsea anyway no doubt.

its never gonna happen anyway

I'm just replying to Billsthoughts "ha ha" comment. Nothing more. I don't think Bill realises that he has an anti-Celtic bias.

20 Posts
    I'm just replying to Billsthoughts "ha ha" comment. Nothing more. I don't think Bill realises that he has an anti-Celtic bias.
    I dont have an anti celtic bias. I dont know where you think they would be one of the richest clubs in the premiership. They have exploited all potential support as is and wouldnt get much support outside of their current base. Look at Newcastle ,Man City or Leeds. All big clubs with big support. None of whom are dominating the premiership. Two of whom have big money backing. My HAHA was just laughing at the delusional nature of some of their fans. Fact is they are hard pushed to win a league were their resources far outstrip all the other teams bar one.

1,915 Posts
    Fact is they are hard pushed to win a league were their resources far outstrip all the other teams bar one.
    Which goes to prove that the 2 teams with the financial resources in that league get to play for the prizes. What is the point here?

Who cares what anyones opinions are about delusional Celtic fans or anyones opinions about how good the club they follow is, whatever it is called.
    If a player is good enough then he will adapt to playing on the Irish team.
    McGeady is certainly playing at a high enough league standard of coaching and games, that if he is good enough he can play a part in the Irish team and if not then he will be a 10 minute sub in some games.

Any Irish fan would want him to succeed.

I dont have an anti celtic bias. I dont know where you think they would be one of the richest clubs in the premiership. They have exploited all potential support as is and wouldnt get much support outside of their current base.
    What's the current base? Celtic fans are everywhere. An estimated 80,000 Celtic fans went to Seville for the UEFA cup final. Anyway, I'm way off topic..
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 06/05/2008 at 12:00 PM.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Who cares what anyones opinions are about delusional Celtic fans or anyones opinions about how good the club they follow is, whatever it is called.
    You obviously if you felt the need to reply.

20 Posts

Ya better not look here EB if you think I have "anti Celtic bias"
    http://www.saintsforum.net/forum/vie...php?f=2&t=2714

1,915 Posts
    You obviously if you felt the need to reply.
    I care that he performs well in an Irish shirt first and foremost.
    Do you?
    If you don't think he is up to it, then fine, time will tell.
    I want him to play well like any Ireland fan who wants him to play well.
    Is there some difficulty to understand this?
    If he isn't up to it then try somebody else.
    If that somebody else isn't good enough, then we can always go back to plan A, because sure as anything we can't go out and buy players.

74 Posts
    from www.celticfc.net

WHEN the time arrived for Scotland’s professional footballers to name their Player of the Year, there was one overwhelming choice.
    In the past there may have been controversial decisions when it comes to the announcement of Scotland’s most prestigious personal award, but this year it was unanimous, with Aiden McGeady claiming both the Player and Young Player gongs.
    Fair play to him, deserves it after the season he's had
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

Quote Originally Posted by EAFC_rdfl View Post
    from www.celticfc.net

Fair play to him, deserves it after the season he's had

the lad has come on in leaps and bounds this season finally there is an end product rejoice a superstar is born!!!
    No Sig is a Good Sig!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I care that he performs well in an Irish shirt first and foremost.
    Do you?
    If you don't think he is up to it, then fine, time will tell.
    I want him to play well like any Ireland fan who wants him to play well.
    Is there some difficulty to understand this?
    If he isn't up to it then try somebody else.
    If that somebody else isn't good enough, then we can always go back to plan A, because sure as anything we can't go out and buy players.
    We can nick them off the north though
    No Sig is a Good Sig!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3,339 Posts
    Yesterday, I listened to a Rangers fan explain to me in chapter and verse why he hates McGeady, and he is booed at every game when he gets on the ball. Have whole new levels of respect for young Aidan now.

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Yesterday, I listened to a Rangers fan explain to me in chapter and verse why he hates McGeady, and he is booed at every game when he gets on the ball. Have whole new levels of respect for young Aidan now.
    YEah he suffers awful booing at Ireland games alrite

3,339 Posts
    YEah he suffers awful booing at Ireland games alrite
    I meant SPL games.