Results 2,321 to 2,340 of 4563

Thread: Aiden McGeady M Ayr Utd b.1986

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    To be fair, Utd and Liverpool are still massively profitable clubs, much more so than Celtic is or is likely to be. The issue with both is that their current owners bought the clubs and saddled the clubs with the debt - they essentially used the clubs' own money to buy them. The Premier League will have massive questions to answer if either of those clubs becomes really hard up, because by its own rules it's not entirely clear whether the Glazers or Hicks/Gillette should have been able to take over.
    point taken and actually agree with you but i honestly dont think celtic moving south is a positive thing, and as for Mcgeady - moving south just for the sake of it, is wrong. If a top club comes along, then ok. But b'ham, s'land etc would be a step down, imho.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    To be honest when ye lads show me some of the players that have been transfered from the SPL and the money then I am begining to believe that Aiden is worth £10m.

With regard to Celtic being a great club. Well they certainly were but with the state of the SPL are they now. You have to be at least in a good league to be great club (great in the present tense)

Yes if Celtic and Rangers could get into the premier league then they have the potential to be a great club in the "present"
    I forgot Carlos Cuellar as well. He went to Villa last season for £7.8m

A Great club has much more to it, than the league it plays in.

Though Scottish clubs across the board are suffering at the moment from a lack of funds, driven by media revenue/ tv exposure and the current economic cycle. This filters its way down to poorer quality on the park and attendances at the stadiums. Unfortunatley.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post

A Great club has much more to it, than the league it plays in.

Though Scottish clubs across the board are suffering at the moment from a lack of funds, driven by media revenue/ tv exposure and the current economic cycle. This filters its way down to poorer quality on the park and attendances at the stadiums. Unfortunatley.
    some folks regretably believe the sky and "so called irish" press hype here that they think that the EPL is the be-all and end all of football. as i previously said in this fred - football has lost its soul. Hopefully though, we might get our sport back!

telegraph say briminghim are tabling a bid of £14mil for him. Looks like it could be done by monday.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    telegraph say briminghim are tabling a bid of £14mil for him. Looks like it could be done by monday.
    RTE says £8m?? (per the other forum - feedposter)Which would be a bit weird seeing as a £10m bid was knocked back last week.

£14m would be too hard for Celtic to say no to.

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

ya but mowbray then said he doesn't need it, that celtic aren't dictated by the need to sell.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...n-McGeady.html

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ya but mowbray then said he doesn't need it, that celtic aren't dictated by the need to sell.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...n-McGeady.html
    We dont need to sell but £14m would be difficult (perhaps downright stupid) to turn down.

I love watching him at Celtic but appreciate that he will need to move on at some stage to develop further and who knows what Premiership clubs will be offering for the 'McGeadys' of this world in a year or twos time - Id say its a fair chance it will be much less rather than much more than £14m......

1,916 Posts
    A £14m package might even get the Keane to Celtic rumour (episode 10) up and running.
    What are the odds that Birmingham are trying to offload McSheffrey in the package?
    When you have a look at EPL club finances, there appears to be only one club (Birmingham) who can actually afford to make a bid.
    Liverpool could use McGeady but I guess they have a bigger financial fish to fry, servicing a £450m debt with no surplus income.

I don't know much about Celtic but they seem to have a few good young wingers at the club that could fill McGeady's shoes. 14m would give them a massive advantage over Rangers.

Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    I don't know much about Celtic but they seem to have a few good young wingers at the club that could fill McGeady's shoes. 14m would give them a massive advantage over Rangers.
    £14mil is a fair price i think but really hope he doesnt go to birmingham., Just hope he McGeady (and celtic)dont get blinded by the cash...

altho big eck does knows him well, should know how to best utilise his skill. good irish contingent there currently too which should help

Punta Arenas, Puerto Montt & everywhere in between
    37 Posts
    At the end of the day the EPL is a different kettle of fish to the SPL. I wouldn't mind seeing McGeady go to Birmingham. Its about the bigger picture and he would need to prove himself in the EPL and if he goes there and plays well for 12/18 months a better club will come along.

While I wouldn't mind him signing for Birmingham, personally I'd prefer to see him go to a Spanish or German club.
    "U've figured how to work the Google on the internet machine"

Quote Originally Posted by yapster View Post
    McGeady is a one trick pony
    here, fishy fishy

38 Posts
    which trick is the one you are speaking of?

I'd say he's more of a 5 trick pony with little end product.
    Who knows maybe a move the th EPL will help improve this aspect of his game.

245 Posts
    Hilarious coming from you.
    Eirebhoy's "We Love You" Chant. RIP:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7UfSbASyrQ

mcgeady is ok, i like him, but moving to birmingham is a bit uninspiring. I guess it's good coz he will be playing in a different environment and more likely to see him on highlights but i expected more. cant believe anyone would invest so much for him. he's decent but that would be a rip off.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    876 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by irishultra View Post
    mcgeady is ok, i like him, but moving to birmingham is a bit uninspiring. I guess it's good coz he will be playing in a different environment and more likely to see him on highlights but i expected more. cant believe anyone would invest so much for him. he's decent but that would be a rip off.
    When Nani cost 17million, anything less than that would be a bargan for McGeady
    Its really not that complicated!!!

130 Posts
    I only keep a passing interest in Celtic, watching their odd game but they seem to be going backwards under Mowbray??? Rangers are well clear now with a very very average looking team. Cant see McG getting much CL football with Celtic at this rate.

2,657 Posts
    Nani has much more skill than McGeady but no way worth 17mil but better than than the one trick pony. Like Nani Mcgeady was over hyped.
    what has Aiden's paternal granny got to do with anything?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by skstu View Post
    what has aiden's paternal granny got to do with anything?
    lol

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    what has Aiden's paternal granny got to do with anything?
    damn this forum cracks me up at times. lmao