Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Andy O'Brien

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar

Andy O'Brien

Anyone else think it's time he should be dropped?

Who do you think should take his place?

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    You gonna play 3 at the back?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Paddy McCarthy.

176 Posts
    i thought andy o'brien was quite good tonight. he made a lot of important interceptions.

of course you could blame him for the very light foul that led to the goal, but besides that i thought he was great

I didn't think he was that bad. It would be great to have a big queue of central defenders to take his place so we could drop him but there isn't one. I don't think McCarthy's ready and do we really want to go back to Doherty?
    "...and it's Charlie Chaplin on the wing..."

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    875 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    edited as ol CTP was drunk as a pagan at the time of posting
    Last edited by CraftyToePoke; 03/09/2006 at 11:00 AM.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    875 Posts
    Paddy McCarthy.

i watch Paddy McCarthy play every week, and your post demonstrates only how precious little you know about this.

Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    talkin shiite, but thats not unusual for you, if he was the worst of our lot in your eyes then im glad you're not at the wheel.
    Be nice

I think he's awful ad apparently so do most premiership managers but honestly can't think of anyone better. Didn't play too bad tonight

in fairness the ref gave us nothing. our strikers hardly got a free tonight against blatant german fouls. anyway to answer the question ... no he is by far the quickest of the back 4 and we need some bit of stability in the team.
    i would bring harte in and put finnan on the right.
    maybe mcgeady reid reid duff . doyler and keano up front
    jayus thats not a bad side

Is this a joke ?, he was one of our best players last night, you might as well drop Given while you are at it.

I thought irelands best players were given dunne o brien, kilbane and doyle!! Jaysus lads i duno wat game some of ye were watching but o brien did well!!

Stephen Carr also showed some bite and enthusiasm for the first time in years.

186 Posts
    Andy O'Brien is generally shíte but he played well last night. Thought Klose gave Dunne the run around a few times though.

O' Brien is rubbish in the Premiership but I don't think I've ever seen him play badly for Ireland. That ref was always going to screw us over last night so you can't blame him for the free for the goal. Carr was also good last night. Pity he cant seem to do that all the time

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    anyway to answer the question ... no he is by far the quickest of the back 4 and we need some bit of stability in the team.
    I wouldn't call O'Brien quick. Dunne is very fast but O'Brien doesn't seem the quickest of players.

I thought he played well last night anyway.

i like that team plasticpitch suggests. harte would give us something to look forward to with corners and set pieces in general. having a natural left sided player of the ball at left full would help - he is not the quickest, and is prone to the oddmistake, but his delivery and passing are usually sound. if you had duffer in fornt of him harte would get him enough of the ball to his feet.

O' Brien is usually sh1t but was v good last night - if he deserves to be dropped it certanly shouldnt be because of the German game.

IMO Harte is total cack - no pace atall - might be worth a start v San Marino ut thats all

O' Brien is usually sh1t but was v good last night - if he deserves to be dropped it certanly shouldnt be because of the German game.

IMO Harte is total cack - no pace atall - might be worth a start v San Marino ut thats all

2,712 Posts
    Would you revise that opinion after his performance on saturday?

I thought he had a great game. Dunne and he communicated well throughout and complemented each other very well. Dunne's the no nonsense commanding figure and O'Brien more the continental style. Yet again O'Brien looked good in an international despite never looking good at club level in my opinion.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast