Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Team for Germany

229 Posts

Team for Germany

I know this has been mentioned in a few different threads. Thought it might be worth keeping them in one place. Here's mine............

GK GIVEN
    LB HARTE
    CB DUNNE
    CB O'BRIEN
    RB FINNAN
    LM DUFF
    CM S REID
    CM KILBANE
    RM McGEADY
    CF KEANE
    CF DOYLE

- This might be too attack minded for away to Germany, so possibly could replace McGeady with Finnan and slot Carr at RB

- Doyle just shades it ahead of Morrison/Elliott for me but I'd expect see either of these replace Doyle at some point in the game.

- KK is required in CM purely for his energy, pace, ability to tackle and win his fair share in the air. I have him there to breakdown Germany's play & win back posession, nothing more.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Junior View Post
    I know this has been mentioned in a few different threads. Thought it might be worth keeping them in one place. Here's mine............

GK GIVEN
    LB HARTE
    CB DUNNE
    CB O'BRIEN
    RB FINNAN
    LM DUFF
    CM S REID
    CM KILBANE
    RM McGEADY
    CF KEANE
    CF DOYLE

- This might be too attack minded for away to Germany, so possibly could replace McGeady with Finnan and slot Carr at RB

- Doyle just shades it ahead of Morrison/Elliott for me but I'd expect see either of these replace Doyle at some point in the game.

- KK is required in CM purely for his energy, pace, ability to tackle and win his fair share in the air. I have him there to breakdown Germany's play & win back posession, nothing more.
    This is almost exactly the team I suggested in the thread for the recation to the Holland game. Except I picked O'Shea at LB instead Harte but neiter is the stand-out cadidate for that position and both their strengths and weaknessess have been already discussed on here. So, it makes no major difference to me whichever one of them starts.

My comments on Kilbane were also similar to yours. We need to steady the ship, protect the defence and stop Germany from playing. So just put Kilbane in there to be a big akward nuisance. Reid shouldn't get too far forward either but take a few pot shots from 20+ meters and maybe the wingers can create something for the 2 forwards to feed off.

I would be happy with that

Another thing - through all the doom and gloom it's nice to see mcgeady start to shine a bit - he can be a very good player for us

GK GIVEN
    LB HARTE
    CB DUNNE
    CB O'BRIEN
    RB FINNAN
    LM DUFF
    CM S REID
    CM KILBANE
    RM McGEADY
    CF KEANE
    CF DOYLE
    Exactly the team I picked despite not rating a lot of them. I only chose Harte because of his free kicks, an empty space would as well defensively as any of our left backs.

I heard this morning that Harte was out of the game (how true this is I don't know though). If this is the case I'd go for Finnan at left full with Carr on the other side. Otherwise I'd go along with that line up. I have a feeling though that O'Shea will start at either CB or CM depending on Dunne's availability.

Team for Germany

Sky Sports news at lunchtime said Duff, Given & Carr to line out for Newcastle this weekend. They also added there is a serious doubt whether Robbie Keane will be fit for Spurs, if he dosn't play, Spurs will not release him for International duty. Keanes absence in Stuttgart would be a serious blow. Stephen Reid is also doubtful due to knock he picked up on weds.

Quote Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
    I heard this morning that Harte was out of the game (how true this is I don't know though). If this is the case I'd go for Finnan at left full with Carr on the other side. Otherwise I'd go along with that line up. I have a feeling though that O'Shea will start at either CB or CM depending on Dunne's availability.
    Dunne is back training and expected to start this weekend for City.
    Kilbane I suppose is the best option to partner Reid in Germany and harass Ballack for the 90 minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by Norman View Post
    Sky serious doubt whether Robbie Keane will be fit for Spurs, if he dosn't play, Spurs will not release him for International duty
    I don't think it's as simple as that, I'm sure Ireland's medical team would want to assess him themselves and it's 2 weeks away anyway.

Yeah sure there are 3 premiership games to go before the clubs release players so he has a week to get fit. I think RObbie will be fit unless he has a set back as he is back training today.
    In Trap we trust

20 Posts
    The spurs games is one of the games on TV tomorrow. Wanted to see Robbie

With Kilbane and Reid in the middle though you are throwing away any effort at creativity other than long balls to the forwards. We currently have small forwards, the long ball just won't work.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post
    The spurs games is one of the games on TV tomorrow. Wanted to see Robbie

With Kilbane and Reid in the middle though you are throwing away any effort at creativity other than long balls to the forwards. We currently have small forwards, the long ball just won't work.
    The creativity comes from McGeady & Duff. Reid & Kilbane win it, play it simple and leave it to the trickery of the wide men. If we have to go long then Morrison can win his fair share, not seen enough of Doyle to know if he could be effective like that.

And to be honest what creative midfielders do we have, that are being displaced - I can't think of any, Miller perhaps? If thats it, I'd be happier with KK & SR.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son View Post

Fair enough and normally I would also be disappointed if we went into a game with the main aim of just stopping the other team playing, without expecting to create much ourselves. It almost sounds like an Andorra plan
    However, from what I saw in the Dutch game that is our best chance. We had no defence, no midfield, no supply to the forwards through the middle or from the wings. All these problems cannot be fixed in 2 or 3 training sessions. No doubth the return of a few key players will improve us but I just can't see us playing as a complete unit all of a sudden. If we are to make any major improvements it will come over a few games when the team gets to play together and the new lads get a few more caps. I'm not saying we should just sit back and defend for the whole game, that would be suicide. I just mean that the the two CM players should be there to break up the German play in the middle of the park and to protect the defence when needed and Reid should be encouraged to take the odd long-range shot. When possible get the ball ot to the wings and let McGeady and Duff create chances for the front two and maybe we might get a goal I admit these sort of tactics can result in us sitting too deep and put us under constant pressure. If so then Stan has to be willing to put someone else on early for Kilbane, the question is who Also, If we are somehow on top or the Germans are playing bad we can bring on someone a bit more creative to exploit that.

We can then work on being more creative and develop our own playing style against the weaker teams and not have Kilbane anywhere near CMF. Also I think it is very important that we get a few early goals against the weaker teams becase this will be a good chance to blood some of the younger lads during the qualifiers. I'm not sure howmany friendlies we will have and if they will come too late.
    Hopefully aginst San Marino we will be 2/3-0 up at half time and then we can bring on McCarthy or whoever. Maybe by the middle of the campaign we will have a decent side and will have a chance of qualifying.

A lot of if's and maybe's!!
    Last edited by Irish_Praha; 18/08/2006 at 3:30 PM.

75 Posts
    centarl midfield/Centre Defence and Left Back are the three most important areas and A Dunne/O'Brien & Kilbane /Reid Combination would strengthen the team and leave a strong spine.As for left back id have Harte and if hes not fit i wouldnt switch Finnan but maybe put O'Shea in there. Finnan is the best right back in England miles ahead of Carr who like O'Shea has gone back at an alarming Rate.

As for the doom mongers cop on its only 2 games we have lost and y'days Star was an absolute Disgrace I doubt Dunphy even watched the game.

GK GIVEN
    LB HARTE
    CB DUNNE
    CB O'BRIEN
    RB FINNAN
    LM DUFF
    CM S REID
    CM KILBANE
    RM McGEADY
    CF KEANE
    CF DOYLE

That's pretty much the team I would go for, maybe with Kav in CM instead of KK!!

Quote Originally Posted by SeanieBoy View Post
    That's pretty much the team I would go for, maybe with Kav in CM instead of KK!!
    You'd be wasting your time putting "Kav" anywhere on that pitch, he's not a good player and on top of that he's past it. So not only is he completely ineffective he's slow too.
    I think Kilbane is an awfull player too so we're not blessed by any means. However if Kilbane was kicked up the arse enough before the match he might actually rise to the occasion. He has, in the past, shocked us when we were all sure he'd fall apart.
    As far as I'm concerned try anyone, any youth player with a bit of talent over Kavanagh, Kilbane, Morrison, Harte and O'Shea. Five players that are so poor they are an asset to our opponents. I see no merit whatsoever in their inclusion to the squad.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Given

Finnan
    Harte
    O Brien
    Dunne

McGeady
    Duff
    S Reid
    A Reid

Keane
    Morrison

[QUOTE=Junior;518091]I know this has been mentioned in a few different threads. Thought it might be worth keeping them in one place. Here's mine............

GK GIVEN
    LB HARTE
    CB DUNNE
    CB O'BRIEN
    RB FINNAN
    LM DUFF
    CM S REID
    CM KILBANE
    RM McGEADY
    CF KEANE
    CF DOYLE

- KK is required in CM purely for his energy, pace, ability to tackle and win his fair share in the air. I have him there to breakdown Germany's play & win back posession, nothing more.[/Q

The same except 0'SHEA at CB instead of O'BRIEN,he is not a bad player and has too come good in the green sometime??
    And maybe ANDY REID at RM for expierence....

200 Posts
    I'd go:-

GK GIVEN
    LB HARTE
    CB DUNNE
    CB O'BRIEN
    RB FINNAN
    LM DUFF
    CM S REID
    CM KILBANE
    RM McGEADY
    CF KEANE
    CF MORRISON

Keane is the big worry in terms of injury, if he is out I go with Doyle and Morrison upfront. I'd pick Harte simply because I think his set plays would give us a huge chance of scoring and I dont think we have too much else that is better in terms of defense.

I'd play Clinton ahead of Doyle, just because he had a good record of scoring important goals for us (eg v the Swiss away last time) and I think he might be a bit sharper having played 6 or so game for Palace by then.

Harte has been ruled out according to elevenaside.

We seen in the world cup that the best way to score against Germany is with pacy forwards so I wouldn't start Morrison. If Keane is unavailable I'd start Elliott with Doyle but I don't see that happening.

Ian Harte

I can not believe how many people are picking Ian Harte for the starting eleven. Just go back over the last five years postings to and see what a problem he has been for us at left back.

He is not a good defender and the Germans would eat him for breakfast.
    Their fast aggressive attacks will expose him completely.

Much better to have Kilbane or even O Shea.

GK GIVEN
    LB KILBANE
    CB DUNNE
    CB O'BRIEN
    RB FINNAN
    LM DUFF
    CM S REID (IF he is available/ if not O Shea)
    CM A REID
    RM McGEADY
    CF KEANE
    CF DOYLE

With Keane, Duff, Dunne and Given back the team will be a different kettle of fish to the one that took the field (I was going to say played - but decided that was inappropriate) against Holland.

Anyway you look at it we will be verrrrrrrrrrry lucky to get out of Stuttgart with a point.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast