Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Best Fans?

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    I'm with Philo on this one. Bloody drum and whistle, drum and whistle, drum and whistle. It reminds me of the Raves they used to have at the campsite on the last night of Feile only without the drugs.
    Try something different for a change will ye lads?
    Our mime act will be finished rehearsals in a few weeks time so maybe that might impress you?

Of course we could always try hanging our flags upside down..........

The moral of the story is if its getting to opposition fans its probably working okay!

Our visual display at the Gothenburg home game was excellent if any of you saw it on TV.

Quote Originally Posted by nshoop View Post

Don't worry about it

I'm with Philo...I hate drums and whistles at football matches. (apologies to Dr Nightdub but he knows how I feel)

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

I don't mind drums but whistles are very annoying to the fans and the referee and players
    No Comment.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsPartisan View Post
    I'm with Philo on this one. Bloody drum and whistle, drum and whistle, drum and whistle.
    Try something different for a change will ye lads?
    Maybe it's a bohs thing - at the Bohs Derry game I was down around Block A and there was a lad behind us with his hands to his ears the whole game (no, no radio either) tutting as loudly as he could every so often.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

There isn't really a contest. You have Cork City and Derry City and the rest are miles behind. Fact.

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Fact.
    Stop talking Bohemian!

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    There isn't really a contest. You have Cork City and Derry City and the rest are miles behind. Fact.
    That's just your opinion.

For CONSISTENT support it's Rovers. Very easy to come in numbers when you're doing well but try having no ground for 19 years and still having a good hardcore. Even having been relegated by our previous board our crowds have stayed the same. Not may other clubs would have the same support having been relegated to the graveyard.

For digging deep to take over your club again it's Rovers. Cant see too many other fans do that to be honest.

Derry fans are good yeah but they have a whole city to themselves and have been to games where there was no Derry support in the past.

Can see this thread going to dozens of pages

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    For CONSISTENT support it's Rovers.
    So you expect the same amount of Rovers fans that were in Tolka on Friday to show up at your next home game against Limerick?

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    So you expect the same amount of Rovers fans that were in Tolka on Friday to show up at your next home game against Limerick?
    The boez games were always going to bring out bigger crowds on both sides. What I meant was a consistent hardcore year in year out with no success on or off the field.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    no, but it will be the same drop off as it would have been in the prem.

4,500 v filth and then 1,500 v whoever not from dublin. thats remained constant.

according to the attendance thread our crowds are higher than half the premier. and look at the crowd spike when we play away....

Quote Originally Posted by BohsBohsBohs View Post
    Everything NY said is FACT.....and I never stick up for him.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie View Post
    no, but it will be the same drop off as it would have been in the prem.

4,500 v filth and then 1,500 v whoever not from dublin. thats remained constant.

according to the attendance thread our crowds are higher than half the premier. and look at the crowd spike when we play away....
    PREMIER DIVISION
    Bohs - 1521 (1976; 2340)
    Bray - 1118 (1550; 818 FD)
    Cork - 2956 (3644; 4033)
    Derry - 2399 (2698; 1672)
    Drogheda - 1711 (1682; 1554)
    Dublin City - 488 (175 FD; 592)
    Longford - 742 (1004; 1131)
    Pat's - 1416 (1599; 1882)
    Shels - 1414 (1949; 2158)
    Sligo - 1700 (1794 FD; 781 FD)
    UCD - 533 (653; 306 FD)
    Waterford - 831 (1513; 1753)

FIRST DIVISION....

....Rovers - 1084 (1539 PD; 1349 PD)
    If being higher than 3 out of 12 is half the premier - fair play. Personally I'd disagree. Even yer last two seasons in the Premier, you were barely 6th on the list!!! And before you claim how great your attendance is for 1st division football...look at Sligos last year - nearly 1800 FFS.

Derry have the best fans in the country.Cork have the best bandwagon supporters easily.
    Rovers aren't half as goos as they think they are but still good.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Derry by far. Unlike other so called big club's fans who moan about coming to UCD, barely make a peep and blame it on anything from the ground to our lack of fans, Derry come and make noise the whole game and don't moan. They're easily the best bunch of fans by a mile who come by Belfield.
    Thats exactly what I would have said if I had thought of a statement to make. Derry, defo.
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

The best fans in Irish football are the ones who turn out week in week out even though their club mightn't have won a game all season. It's very easy to support a club which top of the league. But supporting your club very week no matter how **** they are that's the best supporters

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8 View Post
    . It's very easy to support a club which top of the league.
    I wouldn't think Derry fans are fairweather supporters & they're certainly not sing when you're winning fans eithers. Out of all of us that turn out for games, even when they're sh1te, I still think the Derry fans are the best though credit has to go to a number of the UCD fans when we were 5-0 down to Shels; "We're gonna win 6-5, we're gonna win 6-5".
    "I always likened him to a Rolls Royce. You just used him once a week & he'd be flawless"
    Townsend on McGrath

Quote Originally Posted by Colie View Post
    I wouldn't think Derry fans are fairweather supporters & they're certainly not sing when you're winning fans eithers. Out of all of us that turn out for games, even when they're sh1te, I still think the Derry fans are the best though credit has to go to a number of the UCD fans when we were 5-0 down to Shels; "We're gonna win 6-5, we're gonna win 6-5".
    That was hilarious alright!

Derry fans, the best by miles.
    God

Derry were struggling for crowds a couple of years ago .For loyalty and variety of songs etc I would say most Harps fans like myself would say Shamrock Rovers.
    Sligo used to have a large passionate support but this years figures are disapointing.

Derry easily although I do agree with what someone said earlier about them being repetitive. I much prefer the abusing chants/banter. Shels TBH have decent away support but Tolka is like a library. I agree with what Conor H said about us having bandwagon fans, last season we would fill at least two 52 seater buses to away games, we now rarely fill anything other than a mini bus and rarely get over 200 at away matches.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast