Thread: Fenlon Out!

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish Fan View Post
    Although it will probley take a few more years since hes only after noticing David Crawley is muck after 3 years!
    Crawley wanted to come back home during the transfer window there and he was told by Fenlon that he was staying put!
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

We have adequate cover at left full so I don't know why Pat won't let him go. Can't see him staying past the end of the season. Dave is a really comitted lad but he's just lacking any sort of pace or awareness. Useful against the poor teams with his crossing and free kick ability but barring that he's definitely not good enough for Shels

Don't know what all the "spent a fortune" stuff is about. Most of the squad were acquired for free - which shows how astute he is.

So he wins 12 games on the trot and then has three winless games. This apparently shows he can't handle pressure. Like the only managers who can handle pressure are the ones that win every game?
    No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
    In 1977

The only player he ever got Ollie to pay a fee for was Jayo - and I think we can all agree that was money very well spent! Personally, I think Nutsy's great. Sometimes baffling with his subs, but he has a plan, and let him work with it. Its his first managerial job, and he's doing an incredible job, tbh.
    God

The problem is not the fees, its the wages. With the players $h€l€ have, and the wage bill they have you'd expect them to be running away with the league every year. You'd have expected them to have won at least one Setanta Cup.
    Before you ask, given the chance, I'm not too sure I'd like Nutsy as our next manager. I'd give him a chance but he'd be down the list of managers I'd like to see at Bohs.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

1,103 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EnDai View Post
    The only player he ever got Ollie to pay a fee for was Jayo - .
    Untrue. Sean Dillon was sold for €40,000, not that Ollie's gotten round to paying all of it yet of course

Alan Calwley?

The Cawley thing was done sneakily by Ollie, deducted prize money which I think we got back eventually. And afaik we didn't pay a penny for Dillo. Wasn't he out of contract?

1,103 Posts
    He was under 23 so we got a transfer fee. €40,000.00. It would have been decided by a tribunal like with Cawley if ye hadn't coughed up what we wanted. Ye still owe us a few grand of it.

Cheque's in the post!
    God

1,103 Posts
    "I'll have it tomorrow I swear.."

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    The Cawley thing was done sneakily by Ollie, deducted prize money which I think we got back eventually.
    Are you saying that Shels effectively got Cawley for free?

Effectively yes. Though of course I'm only going on hearsay here. The money from The Cawley deal was taken out of that season's prize money. supposedly, Ollie managed to not pay that money or get it refunded after the "media circus" had died down. That was what the rumour was. I'm not basing this on facts I know or anything so make of it what you will

64 Posts
    Interesting to see what sort of side Shels will have next season. From talking to a few players it seems inevitable that most want away because of the fear of non payment. If I was a Shels fan I'd be very happy that they're still giving 100% every week,being very professional, knowing they'll be moving on at the end of the season
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

I see Nutsy is in The Irish Times, pointedly refusing to rule himself out of the Bohs job: "I'm not getting dragged into it; I've nothing to say on it at all."
    If he wants not to get dragged into it, shouldn't he simply kiss the Shels crest and say he's not interested?

Why would he kiss the Shels crest Diddley? He's not even a Shels fan ffs. Harwich Town fan last time I checked

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    Why would he kiss the Shels crest Diddley? He's not even a Shels fan ffs. Harwich Town fan last time I checked
    Nutsy's a Rovers fan, born and bred. Pays into all our games - unlike managers of other clubs. Was on the Connacht St side the other night. That said, he's already played for the gypos so managing them probably wouldn't be too much of a leap for him.

AFAIK he's not a happy camper at Shels so I wouldn't be surprised to see him at Dalymount.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

I know he's a Rovers fan. And I'm sure he'd dedicate himself to any club willing to pay him the right money. I don't think there are any Shels fans under any allusions that Pat will stay at Shels forever

Nutsy says he's a hoop and tells of how he went to Milltown, which he did, but he has a funny way of showing his love for rovers. For example, at the friendly at the start of the season, he could be clearly heard telling his players to put the boot in on the rovers players as he ran up and down the touchline shouting abuse at rovers players and the officials accompanied by *****r number two, eamon collins. He's also been sent off against us a good few times. I know that Nutsy is a firey character and I actually think that he knows a lot about the game of football, but since he left us he has shown nothing but contempt for the hoops, bar the odd pop into the shels bar to robbie gaffney and co. Wouldn't mind us having him as manager though.
    No Comment.

So will Fenlon (rovers fan) be moving to Bohs to put the final nail in the coffin just all those former rovers players at Dalymount?