Thread: Ucd 3-1 Lfc

Ucd 3-1 Lfc

Tommy B in goals, looked good for a draw if we had a keeper according to gael, think he said Paul F was on the bench, dont know who took over the team as manager for today. more news from those who where there to follow........maybe

Yer chairman, Drew, was manager tonight according to Aertel. Fair play to ye, UCD only managed to score 3 goals despite ye with a midfielder in goals.

Absolutely mugged so we was. To go up to United Park and beat the holders only to be knocked out in the next round by the fuppin FAI

Very encouraging performance tonight lads. Played with an attack minded 3-4-1-2 formation and kept the ball on the ground lots. Had Ucd in real trouble at times and would have been value for a a draw.

The signs (at long last) are good

Now with O'Connor gone, did Jay start?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Very encouraging performance tonight lads. Played with an attack minded 3-4-1-2 formation and kept the ball on the ground lots. Had Ucd in real trouble at times and would have been value for a a draw.
    I'd agree that you were the best team for the first 35 minutes but after that we cruised through the game, never got out of 3rd gear.

Now with O'Connor gone, did Jay start?
    He was cup tied by all acounts

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I'd agree that you were the best team for the first 35 minutes but after that we cruised through the game, never got out of 3rd gear.
    Would agree with you to a certain extent but I thought even at two down we were genuinely capable of causing you problems. Actually missed Tommy Barrett a lot in the centre of midfield tonight because Johnny Lestor was a passenger for long periods

He was cup tied by all acounts
    Ah yeah, just saw that on Bebo there.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    Tommy B in goals, looked good for a draw if we had a keeper according to gael
    Can't really argue with that. Shoudl have got the second; opinion was divided as to whether the third was a superb strike or a saveable shot.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Can't really argue with that. Shoudl have got the second; opinion was divided as to whether the third was a superb strike or a saveable shot.
    Third was right into top corner. I can't think of a word that would describe what the "keeper" did for it but I doubt any keeper in the league would have stopped it.

57 Posts
    Tommy B was a big loss in midfield and he is clearly not a keeper. his psitioning etc was all wrong. Not his fault of course and full credit to him for going in goal.

I thought we played very well and were worth at least a draw. We were the better team and the lead was well deserved. Goals obviously change games so hard to know what would have happened if we had a proper keeper. Anyway I was proud of everyone in a Limerick jersey yesterday.

I thought we were worth at least a draw myself, maybe could have got the win with Mooney or Healy in goals. Of the three goals the second was by far and away the most shocking, it reminded of a few goals scored down the local park when the teenagers would throw whatever random 10 year old was passing in goals and just take shots at him

I thought Rose was the best player on the park for us though, always running and trying to create something against a not so solid UCD backline, although the same could be said of Heff