Thread: We can get a win in Germany

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites View Post
    Beautifulrock - We gave a great account of ourselves in World Cup 2006 and then we did very well to Beat the Dutch.

Irish Fans must first earn the right to be optimistic! nothing i have seen in recent months gives me any grounds for optimism.. wait and see when the German Prediction thread starts, most people who contribute to this forum will be predicting a draw or better.. Just like the french prediction thread last year.. Some Irish Fans are blinded by the Halycon days.. Wake up we're average with a rookie manager.
    I'd have to agree. When I think of all the games since World Cup 2002 that I have gone to or watched hoping for a decent Irish performance and was disappointed after allmost all of them - some of the performances have been absolute Sh..e
    and I have no illusions about them qualifying from this group.

The only thing they have going for them in Stuttgart is that expectations are very low and we know from experience that's when the perform best.

I'm going to Stuttgart and will enjoy myself no matter what. I just hope we give them a decent game.

When we play great teams and are expected to get a hiding that is when we pull out all the stops. This team will has some world class players who are on form at the moment and with everyone else including the supporters giving a 110% i think we may sneak a win. Ballack will not be 100% fit and this could be cruicial in the outcome of this game.CMON IRELAND. Lets hope the dream becomes a reality!

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites View Post
    Beautifulrock - We gave a great account of ourselves in World Cup 2006 and then we did very well to Beat the Dutch.

Irish Fans must first earn the right to be optimistic! nothing i have seen in recent months gives me any grounds for optimism.. wait and see when the German Prediction thread starts, most people who contribute to this forum will be predicting a draw or better.. Just like the french prediction thread last year.. Some Irish Fans are blinded by the Halycon days.. Wake up we're average with a rookie manager.
    Jaysus why don't we all give up now that we need to earn the right to be optimistic. Why don't we just resolve all games on paper/form? Of course you are right that we have a rookie manager, average players, bad results and people calling for the managers head. Isn't that what was being said about Germany before the World Cup yet the players rose to the occasion and came third. Why can't we?

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Oliver Cromwell is only the 2nd most hated man in Irish history after Mr. Raul Henry Nazare. We know what happened that night.
    Bit harsh!!

I'm all for optimism regarding the Germany game (although I don't have any myself) but can we stop raking up coals from 25 years ago. It doesnt really breed optimism in any way and regardless of how bad the referee's mistakes were, we don't need to be going over it again.

We are not the first team to feel (justifiably) hard done by on a number of occasions, and wont be the last.
    Last edited by osarusan; 28/08/2006 at 4:28 PM. Reason: tone down my rhetoric.

Well I for one enjoy reading about the history of the away games from supporters who were at the games. It is a folk history of what happened using primary sources which I am all for. Fair play lads for a good read.
    In Trap we trust

Well all I'll say is...

The last time we played Germany in Germany [Hanover 94], ehh, we won.
    And if you need reminding about who won the last time we played in Stuttgart...

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Well I for one enjoy reading about the history of the away games from supporters who were at the games. It is a folk history of what happened using primary sources which I am all for. Fair play lads for a good read.
    Maybe there should be a section for classic games or something????