Page 40 of 54 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2006/07

Quote Originally Posted by therise View Post
    Excellent result for Grattan. Great to see a cork aul side at this stage. Grattan will fancy themselves home or away especially after knocking out Pike and Clonmel
    I say they won't fear anyone at this stage and rightly so.
    Anyone know what the Pike team was.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    I say they won't fear anyone at this stage and rightly so.
    Anyone know what the Pike team was.
    hickey,mitchell,enright,mc,carry,hanrahan,boyle,fi nucane,hartnett,grady,mc,carthy,sniffer boyle man of the match but misseed pen in shootout gratten r poor if it was on in the pike would lose 4r5nil ref was **** gratten player handled on line when at 2all ref played on well done to gratten on the day but they had a lot of help from the ref

why could you not have just left it at well done to gratten instead of making excuses, if you are beaten i can't understand why people cant just say nothing and take it on the chin

Quote Originally Posted by inexile View Post
    if you are beaten i can't understand why people cant just say nothing and take it on the chin
    Well if the ref did screw Pike then it is very hard to just let it go.
    Its the worst fealling to be screwed in a game and anyone involved in a game
    wether it be ref or linesman or anyone for that matter that delibritly make these decision should be ashamed, biggest game of the season and the whole build up to it is something that these people don't seem to care about.Its cheating no matter what way you look at it. Its sad to say but it happens every week and will keep happening.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Quote Originally Posted by therise View Post
    Excellent result for Grattan. Great to see a cork aul side at this stage. Grattan will fancy themselves home or away especially after knocking out Pike and Clonmel
    They beat peake villa, clonmel are stil in it

Quote Originally Posted by allab View Post
    They beat peake villa, clonmel are stil in it
    Clonmel Town are still in yes, I'm sure he's refering to Clonmel Celtic who Grattan beat 3-2 aet in Tipp.

Thumbs down Quit the moaning please!!

wether it be ref or linesman or anyone for that matter that delibritly make these decision should be ashamed, biggest game of the season and the whole build up to it is something that these people don't seem to care about.Its cheating no matter what way you look at it. Its sad to say but it happens every week and will keep happening.

To be honest lads was at the game and the ref was not the best but to say he screwed Pike is a joke. In fairness he made some bizzare decisions but he was very fair to both sides on the day.

Its fair enough to be upset if you were clearly robbed by a home official, but at this stage of the competition are the ref's not from a neutral league!

To be fair the sending off seemed a bit harsh alright I don't think it was a deliberate elbow myself its just that he's hands were raised when jumping for the header as is the norm. Pike's penality was a debatable issue too like, from where i was standing it looked more like ball to hand than a deliberate hand ball!
    The players hand was down by his side when it hit him and he didn't appear to move his hand to block the ball in any way.

Fair play to both teams on the day the game was highly entertaining to say the least.

grattan utd V pike

to be very honest a part of me this mornin was expectin a few nice messages regardin the game,alas it dosent seem that way,why when a team is beaten dose some one always say that they were robbed by the ref that is a very poor statement to make ,defeat is never easy to take,but to takeit with humility shows a great team,pike are they did not argue with the ref afterwards they tried there best and on the day it was not good enough should be left at that.............................................. ......,the referee yesterday was poor,very poor,grattan were about as happy as pike were to have him ref the game,there wasnt a bad tackle in the game yet how many were bookd,a man sent off,he gave a peno 4 pike,could have given one for gattan in the first 20 mins when our outside right went 2 nod the ball on and was polaxed by the pike left back,who was poor,but he didnt and you just get on with it,them the joys,when grattan went to play clon celtic they were supposed to bet easy pickins for celtic, grattan came from a goal down to win the game 3/2 after xtra time and showed great spirit,next peake were to come to cork for another walk in the park,grattan disposed of them 2 2/1,then pike munsters finest and 2nd favs to win outright by some bookies came and went and still the gratts are standin and still there are those who say they will lose the next round,we might well but if we do you wont have any grattan members or supporters blowin wind out their backsides like spoilt kids whingin causethey did not win,,,,,,,,,grattans whole game is about hard work,they close down very quick,dont allow any space and attack on the break,they are VERY GOOD at it,to say pike would have won 5 nil if at home is childish whimperin,pike were physcially bigger but i think they were surpried by how well grattan came at them,i thought it was a crackin tie,pike have a great team,i thought they were the best team grattan have played in the 15 years i have been envolved as aplayer or commitee member,top lads as well,pikes supporters deserve a special thanks as well they were fantasic on the day a credit to there club,as regards who gratan get in the quaters,do ye honestly tink we care,to lose in the quaters for a club of our size,with players so inexpeirenced would still be a fantastic result for all our hard work this year and home or away the gratts will give no one an easy victory,3 times we have bin written off and 3 times we have done the job,,,,humble pie is never easy but there are some of you out there that should have kitchen full of it but still you wont admit even wen its oozin out yer arse that ye were beaten by a team who wantd it more,grattan are without the dark horses of the fai junior and it would be nice for some of ye out there to admit they are,to the people who have wishd us luck thanks you very much,to the the shower who keep puttin us down ,kiss my fuzzy white ass,,,,COME ON THE GRATTS

Only two things wrong with that last post hooperlooper. Firstly you referred to Pike Rovers as 'Munster's finest' even though Clonmel Town have contested the last 3 Munster Junior Cup finals and are the current holders. Secondly, is your last post the longest single sentence ever?

heard there was a lot of aggro on pike's bus home

Pike out of FAI.

[QUOTE=hooperlooper;616545]to be very honest a part of me this mornin

Hooperlooper I wish ye the best of luck in the next round, and well done for beating one of favourites. It's very hard to beat this Pike team but ye showed ye have balls. Well done again and bext of luck of one of those Pike fans that was there on the day.

Result

NewcastleWest 0-0 Villa. Villa win 2-0 after extra time.

Newcastle West left the game behind them with a series of missed chances, they just could'nt find the net Villa's first goal in extra time was a freak goal where a miss hit shot scrambled through 3 players and goalie. Newcastle pushed on for an equaliser and where caught on the break.

Carrick Utd bet Portmarnock 2-1. Thomas Fitzgerald getting both goals after Portmarnock had taken an early lead. Portmarnock scored after about 3 or 4 minutes however Carrick then equalised within a minute or so with Fizzy following up on a free kick and then adding a second from the penalty spot after Wayne Fitzgerald was taken down. Portmarnock then had a man sent off for a second yellow card. To their credit Portmarnock applied a good bit of pressure in the second half but Carrick held on for the win. Overall a very entertaining game.

Quote Originally Posted by scoobysham View Post
    heard there was a lot of aggro on pike's bus home
    you heard wrong

Killester beat Clonmel Town 2-0 aet.

Great win for Carrick. Beat a good Portmarnock side. First half was about as good a half of football as I have seen this year. Clonmel Town, Pike, and Portmarnock out at last 16 stage. A Killester v Carrick final would be momentous if they can avoid each other until May.

HooperLooper, i dont think i have read any posts that have been more ignorant than yours....please reference any posts or facts that clonmel or peake actually said that playing grattan was a walk in the park???!! people on this site have said fair play to grattan for making the last 8 but all you do is reply with stupid posts claiming how everyone thinks that grattan are a cake walk.....get over yourself! there is such thing as a gracious winner you know

Grattans refs

Was the ref Stevens? He turned down a stone wall hand ball in the box for peake villa down there

The 'us against the world' mantra is the oldest one in the game. Den Perry you are worse than Mr. Hooper if you rise to his rubbish. If I were to post something like 'they'll be gone by the next round' he would jump on it and continue with his postings. Lets just see who Grattan get and wait until they play next before engaging in any more pointless name calling.

Just a quick note to say congratulations to Carrick on beating us today down in their quality set-up in Kilnamuck. A decent club who try to play skilful football and a good gang of lads on and off the pitch as well. Great experience for our young Porto squad to get this far in this re-building season and hopefully will be put to good effect in the years ahead.

My money is still firmly on Killester although the smile on Graydons face if they win it would probably make me even sicker than I feel tonight

Page 40 of 54 FirstFirst ... 30383940414250 ... LastLast